Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oceanway School

Public | 6-8 | 1258 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 9, 2008

i am currently attending oceanway middle school and i love it. the staff and education is great and i love the environment
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2008

this is a good school but it has no electives like dance or art so kids cant express themseleves or other languages like french or japanese so they need more things for kids to do to get them inspired
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2008

I attended Oceanway Middle 6-8 grade also. Mrs. BP and Mrs. Emery did a great job wit us. I now attend First Coast High School and I know everything they are teaching me because of those two. They also had relationships with us to where we could talk to them about anything going on in our personal lives. I would reccomend them to any 8th graders.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2008

As a former student of Oceanway or as we called it O-Dub, I thought it was a great school. I attended 6-8th grade there and I had some of the most fun and great learning experiences. The teacher's are always trying there hardest to challenge us academicly. I got invovled in athletics and helped lead the 8th grade basketball team of '07-'08 to district champs. I moved out of Jacksonville but planned on going to Paxon, Frank H. Peterson, or University Christian. Oceanway gave me everything I needed to suceed there. Shout out to Ms.Emery, Ms.Hunken, Ms.BP, Ms.Sellers, Coach Albritton, Ms.Gavin, Mr.Llamdo, and Mr.P, oh and not to forget old man Coach Jamison!haha -Elijah G.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2008

We just spent a half day at the school with our daughter, oh my goodness. What are we raising these days? Not one bit of respect for the teachers, yelling, out of there seats. More parents should have to experience this. Not all of the children are disrespectful, just most. Cell phones, i-pods ect. None of this should be allowed in the doors of the school. Parents after being subjected to this, its time to parent your children. This behavior starts at home and continues outside. My eyes have been open for a long, it's not the teachers it's unmanageable kids. How can we expect our good kids to learn when a teacher can't teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2007

yoo many fights but semi-good learning skill
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2007

My son has has attended Oceanway for 2 years and we haven't had any problems. He is in band and the band director is great. I think it is a really good school. The teachers there are interested in the overall wellbeing of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

This is my child's first year at Oceanway. The teachers on the Sigma team do a great job in communicating to me on my childs progress. They really care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

My daughter is in the sixth grade. She loves the school, all of her teachers and the Drama Club. The problem I have with the school is that it is so crowded. The classrooms are way over national averages....with all the building in the area this will just get much worse. When a school is too crowded it will affect the students in many negative ways. It is hard to maintain the safety of your students and maintain discipline when there child/teacher ratio is out of balance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

I went to Oceanway the first year it opened and I am currently a Junior at FCHS but I just wanted to say that Oceanway is an excellent school! I was in 8th when it opened so I had Mrs. Anderson as an administrator and she was like a 2nd parent to me, I really miss her, Mrs.Graham, and all my old teachers that really took the time to explain to me everything. Math is my worst subject but Mrs.Emery took the time to explain it to me and step by step [and] show me exactly how it worked.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 13, 2007

Horrible racial problems. Teachers having problems with the whole classroom, which points to the teachers, not the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

Oceanway's teachers are always trying to find a way to explain something to us even if they have to 20 different times!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2007

Oceanway middle school is a wonderful school. My child improved greatly while she attended that school. She made many great friends and loved the teachers. They are very supportive. She is now attending paxon high school but, she misses oceanway middle deeply! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

I am a student that went to Oceanway Middle the first year it opened. Let me tell ya, Oceanway is a great school. I have never accomplished alot in school until I got to Oceanway middle. Their work can be a little challenging sometimes. But it's worth trying to learn it and really understand what the teachers are trying to teach us. The teacher's are great at what they do. The Principal is awsome. Basically, everybody that works at Oceanway Middle are awsome. I want to thank all the teachers that taught me at Oceanway. If it wasn't for all of you, I wouldn't be successful in school right now. Thank you all, and God Bless you all at Oceanway!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

411 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

402 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

401 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
60%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Black 24% 23%
Hispanic 6% 29%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%65%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Terrence Connor
Fax number
  • (904) 714-4685

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

143 Oceanway Ave
Jacksonville, FL 32218
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 714-4680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Faith Academy
Jacksonville, FL




Bethel Holiness Academy
Jacksonville, FL



Youth Development Center
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT