Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oceanway School

Public | 6-8 | 1224 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

This school is absolutely horrible. There are some teachers and administration that do care about your child, but, however, there are many teachers in this school that could honestly care less about your child. The teachers will not contact you and keep you in the loop if your child is doing poorly, their answer is well we send home progress reports in the idle of the therm. Ok granted yes they do, but, if you see a child declining in studies or work contact the parent, get the parent more involved with what they can do at home with the child to make the child's grades more efficient. I am so sorry that I have subjected my child to this hideous school, and hope no one else's child will ever have to endure what my child has. And by the way the principal Mrs. Marks is even worse, and won't even speak to you, and when she does she is very abrasive, rude, condescending, and definitely does not deserve to be the principal of this or any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

WORST MIDDLE SCHOOL EVERRRR!!! Please, if you really love your child and want the best for them DO NOT SEND THEM TO THIS SCHOOL. This school is HORRIBLE!!! The kids do whatever they want and the teachers turn a blind eye. My daughter could hardly hear what her teachers were saying because the kids where so loud and nobody would reprimand them. The bullies have their way and they do absolutely nothing to stop them. The people that say there is no misbehaved children at this school must be talking about ANOTHER school. Trust me. This school is a total disappointment. The kids' curse like you won't believe, they'll fight right in the middle of the classroom with the teachers present because they don't care. I feel sorry for the parents and students that don't have any other choice but to go to this school. I thank God every day for allowing me to be able to transfer my daughter to an AWESOME school. She is happy and making straight A's just like she did before going to Oceanway. If you really want a secure environment for your child and want him to succeed, you need to take them out of this school. If you could care less then Oceanway is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

People seriously do not know oceanway! It is a very good school! There are many programs you can do! It's also clean! It is very organized! It has become much stricter thn the last few years! The kids do not run the school tht is bs! What school has kids running the school like really! It is not easy but you can make straight As you just have to make yourself do it! I noe there are fights but they beget there punishment of suspension! It is a great school wit great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

My daughter transferred into Oceanway from a very competitive magnet program up in Virginia where she was a straight A student. Her band teacher and Spanish teacher were good, but because they only offered 1/2 year Spanish at that grade, she ended up essentially repeating Spanish. Then the following year, the school didn't put her in Spanish even though she was one of the best students. The rest of her teachers were garbage. The guidance counsellor assured me that their advanced math class was a pre algebra class which it wasn't, so she effectively failed a grade in math. Academically it is garbage. Then the administration has a "kids will be kids" philosophy, so the children run the school, have some pretty hardcore fights, and after they are dropped off in the morning, they go across the street to the quickie mart (and vacant lot) to load up on energy drinks. Oceanway's feeder schools are generally good, so the problem is with Oceanway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

Oceanway is NOT the BEST public middle school out there, but it is also not the worst.. There are a lot of really good teachers there, that go out of there way to make sure their students do their best. They also have a VERY good sports program. The kids who do not like Oceanway, & say that the teachers are mean, more than likely are the students that are constantly getting in trouble. If you do your work, respect & listen to your teachers, you will do FINE.


Posted February 9, 2011

this school has to be the worst!! it is now 7 years old and is very very messy. also it is very disgusting. also horrible teachers.the school has lockers but we are not aloud to you them. there should be no reason why we should not be able to use these lockers!! i DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL. AT ALL!


Posted April 17, 2010

I go to oceanway middle and am in the 7th grade.. i love it their ........ altho their is alot of drama it puts meat on your bones. on the bright side they have great sports programs and accadmic programs so if you are looking for a school for your kid to go i would sugest oceanway middle home of the x-treme were are modo is ........(where every student is a sucess
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Oceanway is 'academically awesome' but 'dramatically dramafied'!!!!! The grades have way too much of interaction with the different grade levels. I have had several different problems (at least 5) with kids from all different grade levels throughout the year. Don't go to this school.....If you do here is some advice: pick the write people to talk to, don't talk about people, don't focus on boys, and don't get into a clique.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2009

I am addicted to oceanway! I never want to leave! I love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2009

unbelievable. i just love this school thank you. i have learned alot and thank you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2009

ill be in the 7th grade and its great! Mrs.Hodges is my favorite teacher and all of the teachers are nice so go check it out and u might learn somthing new after all our motto is 'riding the shores of success!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2009

Oceanway middle school is overall a good school but sometimes i got into fights and it wasnt pretty.They had some fun activities there to do and good electives.Some teachers didnt care about you, but one teacher in particular who was a good teacher and really cared about each and every last student was Mrs. Betty Mcclendon. She was awesome. But overall it wasnt a good or bad school, its kinda in the middle.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2009

Good and safe school. Teachers are helpful as is the admin staff. No problem with misbehaving students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

oceanway middle is the best school I have ever been. I love the teachers and other students. I can't wait 'till next school year
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2009

i attened oceanway and it is not as bad as you think. the teachers do there jobs and write the students up that are bad.also the vilonce and fights have gone down a whole lot it is not as bad as it was last year. what can you expect this is jacksonvill
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2009

I am in the 7th grade at Oceanway and i love the school. Sure the teachers can be mean but they have to to keep control. Our teachers are great and teach us so much. Oceanway also offers great things like band(which i am in) and other electives. I would recomend this school. Also, the violence has reduced from last year to this year
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2009

Horrible. Completely horrible. The students do not respect each other and do not respect the techers. Do not go to this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2008

We had just moved into the Jacksonville area and I signed my son up for school at the local public school, for 6th grade. Before he actually started school, I had registered him and made the school aware that he was arriving & that his school records would be forwarded from his last school. On his first day they were totally unprepared for his arrival & had lost all his paperwork. As soon as my son got home he informed me he was the smartest kid in the school & that he did not have homework because the school was out of books. He also said no one respected the teachers & threw paperballs & airplanes all the time. He said it was so loud most of the time he couldn't hear the teachers & the teachers didn't care. It might be a newer school but that doesn't mean it's better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

I have never had my son in such a terrible school such as this one. Everyday he is surrounded by children cursing and yelling. The teachers stand around and do nothing about it but try and ignore it. I am trying to get him into another school, a magnet school, and if that is not possible I am considering home schooling till we are able to move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

Having taught in a variety of schools and with all types of students, Oceanway Middle school is, by far, one of the best places to teach. The facility is only a few years old which is a welcomed environment from being in old buildings in need of demolition due to the small rooms, various infestations, and furniture falling apart. All in all, the students are respectful and seem to know why they come to this learning community. Most of the teachers seem enthusiastic and are commited to making sure students learn and grow academically, socially, and emotionally. As a new X-treme faculty member, I am thrilled to be a part of the team!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

389 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

389 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

405 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

404 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

417 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

410 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

414 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

411 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

401 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
60%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
91%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 63%
Black 25%
Hispanic 6%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%65%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. TONYA A MARX
Fax number
  • (904) 714-4685

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

143 Oceanway Avenue
Jacksonville, FL 32218
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 714-4680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Little Country School
Jacksonville, FL


Faith Academy
Jacksonville, FL





Highlands Middle School
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT