Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 46 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


50 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oceanway School 1

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
This school is absolutely horrible. There are some teachers and administration that do care about your child, but, however, there are many teachers in this school that could honestly care less about your child. The teachers will not contact you and keep you in the loop if your child is doing poorly, their answer is well we send home progress reports in the idle of the therm. Ok granted yes they do, but, if you see a child declining in studies or work contact the parent, get the parent more involved with what they can do at home with the child to make the child's grades more efficient. I am so sorry that I have subjected my child to this hideous school, and hope no one else's child will ever have to endure what my child has. And by the way the principal Mrs. Marks is even worse, and won't even speak to you, and when she does she is very abrasive, rude, condescending, and definitely does not deserve to be the principal of this or any other school.

Oceanway School 1

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
WORST MIDDLE SCHOOL EVERRRR!!! Please, if you really love your child and want the best for them DO NOT SEND THEM TO THIS SCHOOL. This school is HORRIBLE!!! The kids do whatever they want and the teachers turn a blind eye. My daughter could hardly hear what her teachers were saying because the kids where so loud and nobody would reprimand them. The bullies have their way and they do absolutely nothing to stop them. The people that say there is no misbehaved children at this school must be talking about ANOTHER school. Trust me. This school is a total disappointment. The kids' curse like you won't believe, they'll fight right in the middle of the classroom with the teachers present because they don't care. I feel sorry for the parents and students that don't have any other choice but to go to this school. I thank God every day for allowing me to be able to transfer my daughter to an AWESOME school. She is happy and making straight A's just like she did before going to Oceanway. If you really want a secure environment for your child and want him to succeed, you need to take them out of this school. If you could care less then Oceanway is the school for you.


Oceanway School 5

Posted November 15, 2012
- a parent
People seriously do not know oceanway! It is a very good school! There are many programs you can do! It's also clean! It is very organized! It has become much stricter thn the last few years! The kids do not run the school tht is bs! What school has kids running the school like really! It is not easy but you can make straight As you just have to make yourself do it! I noe there are fights but they beget there punishment of suspension! It is a great school wit great teachers

Oceanway School 1

Posted August 20, 2012
- a parent
My daughter transferred into Oceanway from a very competitive magnet program up in Virginia where she was a straight A student. Her band teacher and Spanish teacher were good, but because they only offered 1/2 year Spanish at that grade, she ended up essentially repeating Spanish. Then the following year, the school didn't put her in Spanish even though she was one of the best students. The rest of her teachers were garbage. The guidance counsellor assured me that their advanced math class was a pre algebra class which it wasn't, so she effectively failed a grade in math. Academically it is garbage. Then the administration has a "kids will be kids" philosophy, so the children run the school, have some pretty hardcore fights, and after they are dropped off in the morning, they go across the street to the quickie mart (and vacant lot) to load up on energy drinks. Oceanway's feeder schools are generally good, so the problem is with Oceanway.

Oceanway School 4

Posted April 19, 2011
- a community member
Oceanway is NOT the BEST public middle school out there, but it is also not the worst.. There are a lot of really good teachers there, that go out of there way to make sure their students do their best. They also have a VERY good sports program. The kids who do not like Oceanway, & say that the teachers are mean, more than likely are the students that are constantly getting in trouble. If you do your work, respect & listen to your teachers, you will do FINE.


Oceanway School 1

Posted February 09, 2011
- a community member
this school has to be the worst!! it is now 7 years old and is very very messy. also it is very disgusting. also horrible teachers.the school has lockers but we are not aloud to you them. there should be no reason why we should not be able to use these lockers!! i DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL. AT ALL!

Oceanway School 5

Posted April 17, 2010
- a parent
I go to oceanway middle and am in the 7th grade.. i love it their ........ altho their is alot of drama it puts meat on your bones. on the bright side they have great sports programs and accadmic programs so if you are looking for a school for your kid to go i would sugest oceanway middle home of the x-treme were are modo is ........(where every student is a sucess

Oceanway School 2

Posted April 13, 2010
- a student
Oceanway is 'academically awesome' but 'dramatically dramafied'!!!!! The grades have way too much of interaction with the different grade levels. I have had several different problems (at least 5) with kids from all different grade levels throughout the year. Don't go to this school.....If you do here is some advice: pick the write people to talk to, don't talk about people, don't focus on boys, and don't get into a clique.


Oceanway School 5

Posted September 03, 2009
- a student
I am addicted to oceanway! I never want to leave! I love it!

Oceanway School 5

Posted August 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oceanway School
143 Oceanway Avenue, Jacksonville, FL  32218
(904) 714-4680
Last modified Oceanway School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oceanway School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top