Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Berlin Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1079 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, April 11, 2014

my school ( new berlin) is a good school but the kids that go there are crazy.I threating a least twice already.


Posted April 3, 2014

THEY NEVER PICK UP THE PHONE AND NEVER ANSWER BACK MESSAGES, I HAVE LEFT FOR SECRETARY, ASST PRINCIPAL AND PRINCIPAL, THAT SAYS A LOT ABOUT THE SCHOOL.. I WONT ENROLL MY KID HERE, WHAT IF IT WAS AN EMERGENCY?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

It was an okay school. My teachers didnt teach that good, matter of fact what they taught us had nothing to do with anything we are learning in middle school. Im glad im gone from that school


Posted August 4, 2013

My 1st Grandchild has attended NBE for 2 years now and his younger twin siblings will be entering Kindergarten in August. They are very excited because their big brother has shared so many wonderful things with them creating much excitement for them in the learning arena. We LOVE NBE for its enthusiasm and its love, concern, and caring attitude for the students. The Teachers are true mentors and are very creative in teaching and helping the children develop traditional character traits. We are proud that NBE maintains an A status. Children who are academically exceptional have the opportunity to excel beyond their borders with creative means to enhance themselves even further. We love the fact that NBE is always neat, clean, and practices manners in the classroom. We also love that the school is NOT chaotic, but exhibits and requires quiet behavior of the students. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to express my views.


Posted June 30, 2013

We have had a great experience at NBE. Our child loved attending second grade at this school. The teacher was young, enthusiastic, kind, professional, and was always present. The classroom was in a portable but the teacher kept it clean and bright with colorful posters. We are excited to move up with the same teacher to third grade. Our experience has been that the teachers are easy to contact and respond quickly to parent emails or phone calls. I highly recommend this school at this point!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

If you are lucky enough to be in district here, no worries. This will be the end of a seven-year run at NBE for me, I am so going to miss my neat, orderly, clean school with a good run for us with great teachers. I have a junior in high school, too, occasionally you get a teacher that does not fit well with your child. NBE has been the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2011

My son attended for 3 yrs at NBE - the first two were good as his teacher was wonderful and caring. his last year (2010 - 2011)- well let's just say, i gritted my teeth and got him through. I had meeting with Principal Reese 3 times requesting feedback form his teacher in regards to behavior, things they are learning in class, etc as he requires follow up at home as well and still had no feedback from teacher that I was looking for. I tired to schedule to come in for volunteer but they always wanted me to go to another grade level and not in his classroom, made me a bit uneasy. I requested another with the teacher present and then decided not to for fear of repricutions to my son. Lack of follow though and 'direct orders' to communicate with me and nothing ever done about it. the staff overall is very good and will go out of their way to help, however the leadership falls very short.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

I have been nothing but happy with New Berlin Elementary School! After moving here from south florida I realized how far behind my child would be here, the curriculum is excellent and they strive for success. My son's teacher is more than willing to spend the time getting my husband and I informed and invloved. He calls weekly with Austin's progress and lends out his learning tools/activites to help Austin in any way possible. The building is always clean and neat and the front office staff is friendly and warm. Mr. Blakeman has worked amazingly with my son in kindergarten. Very proud of his success and his school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

i do not like this school.i went there for four years and now i have left it. the schools is very unagreeable.a lot of the teachers have no control over there students. the teachers do not treat there children fairly.they often pick favorites.my whole fourth grade year i was bullied.my teacher did nothing about it. i came home crying every day. the kids are very cliquey.no one can fit in at that school. do not send your child there.nbe needs to clean up its act.


Posted June 9, 2010

My son is finishing up his Kindergarten year at New Berlin and I have to say that his teachers Mr. Blakeman & Ms. Eshleman are AWESOME. So happy that my son's first school year exeperience went well, he truly has WONDERFUL TEACHERS that truly care for EACH of their students. They always kept us informed on how our son was doing in class and always took the time to answer all our questions. All the Staff members are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

It's an awesome atmosphere where students and parents alike are treated with respect and dignity. The students are encouraged to strive for success, they are not allowed to offer excuses and helped to be the best they can be as a contributing member of our society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

The teacher; they go above and over what needs to be done for each studentd
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

We are committed to high standards and expect every child to meet those standards. We have very dedicated teachers and parents who put their heart and soul into educating our children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 1, 2010

Becasue my son loves to learn at New Berlin Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

My family and I moved to Florida and were worried about placing our children in Duval schools. But the welcome from the teachers and guidance has been most helpful. Security at the school is top notch and classrooms neat and clean well organized. Great Job to the staff and pta parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

New Berlin is a newer school so I was a little nervous when I sent my son there but they function like they've been around for years. The principal is so approachable and seems to know all the children by name, even the new ones. Keep up the great work New Berlin staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

MY son has been at New Berlin for 4 years. I could not ask for a better school. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

This is an excellent school. My kids love attending New Berlin. The teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

I love this school and the teacher's that work there. I've got kids that go there and they love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

We have 2 straight A students attending New Berlin Elementary. It is a great school. I am a Girl Scout troop leader at the school and have met a lot of the teachers. They all seem to have a wonderful interest in their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Black 20% 23%
Hispanic 7% 29%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%65%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3613 New Berlin Rd
Jacksonville, FL 32226
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 714-4601

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Faith Academy
Jacksonville, FL





Bethel Holiness Academy
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT