Advertisement
Advertisement

Cornerstone Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 250 students

We are best known for Science Magnet Program.

 
 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $91,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2014

Cornerstone Christian School has no structure, the teachers are not certified, all they car about is getting money. They but a lot of work on the teachers to the point that they can't do there job effectively. I would recommend not to send your child to this school, if you do your child will be left behind in education. This is suppose to be a Christian School and it is a total mess. Administration hides behind the Christian name. I can honestly say it's hard to believe it's a Christian School. Let this be a WARNING, don't send your children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

Great School! My son is doing fantastic in 2nd grade. We are so happy we found Cornerstone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

Cornerstone recently had their annual site visit from the Department of Education. The representatives stated that This was one of the best schools they ve visited so far this school year. All of their teachers are eligible to teach in the State of Florida. Their staff member s degrees range from Bachelor Degrees to Masters. CCS is fully accredited in the State of Florida.


Posted November 14, 2012

I am very surprised to hear anything negative about this school. This school has the most loving and dedicated teachers you could ever imagine. The kids cry to go home with the teachers. The Principal and teachers take the kids to dinner, to church, to Jaguar games. In addition, to the excellent education. The students and parents are treated like family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

This school is HORRIBLE, the principle and administrator do not return calls to parents, communication is only when they want MORE money. Employees with children here run a-muck, many teachers are not even certified to teach, no degree of any kind. The current primciple suffers from Napolian complex. I have always been involved with my child school, this school could care less. Its all about the money....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

I feel this school is growing in a positive way to better serve our children in their academic developmental foundation. My daughter is in the 7th grade, and i really like this new male teacher he calls me about my daughter day, her progress in his class and about her behavior in his class or on the school campus. He keep me informed so i don't have any surprises. Thank you. However Cornerstone Christian School need to spend the money to have their meals cater for the nutritional nourishment for the children that attends Cornerstone. Since they do not have a fully equipped kitchen to prepare daily hot meals. The lunch they serve cost $3.00 a day which in this economy is very expensive for family members without a job. But overall I'm satisfied with the relationship I have with the staff they treat you like family. May God continue to bless Cornerstone Christian School with EXCELLENCE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

I was quite surprised to find out this school hires teachers (not all, but several) that have no teaching degree. I requested info on the 6th and 7th grade teachers and was advised the 7th grade teacher has no degree at all, except for a teaching certificate. This information was very upsetting for me and after several calls not being returned from the administrator, I have decided to look elsewhere for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2010

This is our first year at CCS and so far it has been wonderful. My children enjoy going to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2010

I love this school. I feel like they are a part of my family. I feel safe leaving my daughter each morning. Academics are terrific! Teachers are wonderful! I am pleased! This will be our 3rd year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

This school was know better than public school. The majority of the administration was terrible. Calls was now returned. Things were not as they promised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

I called to get info about this school and the staff was wonderful. I emaild the teacher before my child started and she was very helpful in answering all of my questions and even gave me her number to contact her. All of the staff made it a very easy transition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

My calls are always returned in a prompt and reasonable time. I must add the problem is always researched and properly answered when the call is returned. My child too is in 6th grade. Have you made an appointment to solve your problem or are you just a critic?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

This school does not offer what it promises and does not have the staff nor it appears the teachers are capable or willing to devote the time to the students. My daughter is now in the 6th grade and I am desperately searching for another school where at least I can my calls returned and letters answered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

Amazing and devoted teachers. Meaningful field trips and the Girls Scout too. My daughters look forward for a new day to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

My son is a student in the 4 year old class. There isn't any structure and the pre k classes run wild.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 29%
White 43% 44%
Two or more races 6% N/A
Hispanic 3% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Liberty University
FSCJ
UNF
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Visual impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Donna L. Stables
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (904) 730-5502

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Special ed
  • Special eduction
  • Technology
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Liberty University
FSCJ
UNF
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4000 Spring Park Rd.
Jacksonville, FL 32207
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 730-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Englewood High School
Jacksonville, FL


Father's Harbor Academy
Jacksonville, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT