Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

845 students|Duval
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
70 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 98 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


River City Science Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted July 09, 2016
- a student
This is for all the staff members. Thank you for all you've done to RCSA. As an old student of RCSA, I wanted to thank you guys for all you've done for me. I have learned so much and I will never forget you guys in the future. Thank you, and I'll always be a RCSA Rocket in my heart (:

River City Science Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 09, 2016
- a student
THESE TEACHERS ARE WONDERFUL! They put good info in your head that you know you will be using in the future. They make sure you understand and they won't stop until you get it.


River City Science Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 09, 2016
- a student
It's not too much, not too little. They don't overstress you. Teachers know how you might feel about it but they don't make it too hard for you.

River City Science Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 09, 2016
- a student
They want to have a great future, they don't want to see you fail. If you're failing in their class, teachers will be glad to help you earn extra credit and other things.

River City Science Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 09, 2016
- a student
The staff respects you, even if you feel like they don't. These people are wonderful.


River City Science Academy
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 09, 2016
- a student
There's not a lot of bullying/fights, however, some students will be a bit harsh sometimes while others will be accepting to you. As long as you have people you can count on then you will be fine.

River City Science Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 09, 2016
- a student
Teachers do not leave you out at all, they care if you're not here and make sure that you're all caught up. Mr. Oz is also very kind and honest, as he's been a great principal to RCSA. These people are wonderful and you'll be having the time of your life.

River City Science Academy 5

Posted July 09, 2016
- a student
This school was just wonderful. For my years here at RCSA, I have truly became a better student and person. These teachers have a passion for getting you to where you want to go, and there's so much you could do! To Science Olympiad, Student Council, Science Fair, and History Fair as well! RCSA gives students a chance to do great things as they accept anyone no matter who you are. The STEM things are endless, it's not just science! The possibilities of your future is wonderful, and you will have the greatest time of your life.


River City Science Academy 5

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
The teachers here really care and they use multiple techniques to help the students learn. They also put more responsibility on the students to complete work, know the class expectations, and follow-up on missed assignments. They have a wonderful notification process so parents can stay informed about grades and missing assignments. I have read the comments about the foreign teachers. Yes my child has noticed some issues with foreign teachers with some language barriers but has learned by this interaction. My child is learning about different cultures which I think is a great lesson. I have found this school, the admin and the staff, to be very open to dialogue if there are issues. I would highly recommend this school and am very happy we found them!

River City Science Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Mehner is an excellent English teacher at this school. He keeps parents informed using the Class Dojo app and responds quickly to messages.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

River City Science Academy
7565 Beach Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL  32216
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 98 reviews. (904) 855-8010
Last modified River City Science Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top