Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Riverside Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 297 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2014

My daughter and I are both new to WRES and couldn't be more optimistic about the year. Last year she attended Timuquan, due to district and not "getting into" the magnet lottery in time to get her into Stockton. While she excelled in her subjects and was never an issue, I count by blessings because she had not 1 but 4 different teachers in her Kindergarten year. Way to set the standard, right?! I also had constant concerns about the end of the day dismissal policy. Never once was my ID checked to assure my child left with whom she was suppose too. I know 1st hand from family who have been at WRES that these are issues I can lay at rest. Just enrolling my child was a healthy and friendly experience. We are so excited to be a part of WRES this year and every year after until 5th grade graduation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2014

My daughter just finished her first year in the new Dual Language program and we have been really impressed at how the program is run. Everyone at the school is friendly and helpful. We are thrilled that this program is offered right in our neighborhood. Glad we got in when we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2014

The school should be renamed Worst Riverside. It is more like a shelter than an educational institution. Your heart will break everyday you send your child to school. Your chikd will tell you stories about other children and their lives at s hook and home that will shock you. Sure you can argue that this is real-life and that children need to know about others who are in constant danger or even impoverished. WRES will do everything it can to furnish your chikd with food and medical care, even clothing. The teachers are devoted, but can seldom meet academic goals because of their social work and nursing. This is a neighborhood school without its neighborhood. Affluent Avondale and Riverside has abandoned WRES because of its policies to keep ESOL students ad Starz students, whom are bused in adding more than half of the school's population. If you are a parent in need, or have a child who does not speak English, or has failed more than one school year, this is the place for you. He or she will be embraced and protected. They will be socially promoted out of 5th grade towards their GEDs or military. There is nothing aspirational about this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 14, 2014

Our first three weeks at this school were tough to due overcrowding but since then, it has been excellent. The principal is truly loved by the students and parents. The new dual language program is providing an extra challenge and the bonus of two teachers for kids in that program. The staff is involved and family like. We are very happy with our choice and wish more Riverside families would come back to WRES. It's now a magnet program and great things are happening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

WRES has been a great experience for my child. Having experienced kindergarten at a large, suburban A school where neither of us felt comfortable the size and population of WRES has been a welcome change. The teachers and students represent a true slice of life with all races and socioeconomic backgrounds present. I feel my child has made life long friends, as have I, and that the teachers genuinely know and love my child. I'm sad that we only have a year and a half left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2013

I personally like the school. What people fail to realize by looking at the schools grade is the demographic. We have ALOT of families that have the financial means to send their children to the plethora of private schools in the area. At this point we are left with shipping other kids into our area that barely speak the language. This grade isn't fair representation of what our school is. To the parents that had a bad experience with a teacher, you can get a bad egg in any carton. It's a question of what you are looking for in a school. Our school, our neighbor hood ,is close knit and I feel like they are doing a great job. Is there room for improvement? Yes, but that goes for any learning institution. As far as curriculum is concerned, that's all district based. What our kids get taught is what the other schools teach also.of we want a change we all need to stand up and be heard. Write letters show up for meetings. Be accountable for what and how our young people are being taught. I put it to anyone that reads my post. Do your research on our school before you make a choice.ask questions, look at the general population. We need our local families to come home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

My daughter has been at WRES since 1st grade, now she's in 5th grade. It's not just a school, it's a family. We, teachers and parents, work together to help our children succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

I want to preface this comment by saying that what I experienced is my experience and not a slam on every single teacher at this school. This was the worst experience I could have ever imagined in a public school. My child came from an A rated public school, but because of the parents reviews on this site, I decided to give it a shot. Truly the biggest injustice that I've ever given my son. This school was nearly an entire grade level behind his old school at the beginning. The teacher he was placed with was clearly unhappy with herself or personal life etc. and brought it to school with her every day. She was incredibly rude, to the children, to the parents, and I even had a member of the office staff whisper to me one day that this particular teacher even scared them a bit. It was a learning experience to say the least. My child will now be going to a private school because that is the only other option at the moment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

West Riverside Elementary School has been a long established school in which many generations in Jacksonville, FL proudly attended. As in many of our schools, unfortuantely this generation has to go through many things that I, nor my 86 year old mother had to be exposed to. I truly feel, in keeping up with news, etc. that West Riverside Elementary School is one that is trying very hard to get back to the 'olden' days of being a school of distinction, along with proper morals, thus promoting emphasis on quality, beginning education for our elementary students improving on a better future in being promoted to higher grade levels.


Posted May 6, 2010

I have two children at WRES, and next year, will have a third. It is a wonderful neighborhood school, and it's a shame that many parents only look at the grade and don't give it a chance. It's a small school with caring, devoted teachers and staff. The students are extremely diverse each class looks like a sesame street episode. There are only about 300 children, so all of the teachers know all of the kids. It's a great learning environment. If you live in the neighborhood, go tour it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2009

Our daughter is an alumn. Best elementary school, best PTA, best teachers and paraprofessionals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

I have a 6 year old that is now in the 1st grade at WRES and also was in Kindergarten there last year. I can't say enough good things about this school! It's like a little family and certainly one of the best kept secrets in Jacksonville:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

WRES - Home Of The West Side Gators.. My son has attended this school for the last 2 years..He will be attending there again this year as a 2nd grader. I admit it, I am a very 'Picky Parent'. I love this School..The History, the staff, the faculty and the students are all outstanding. This past year we were blessed with a new principal that is gifted with the ability to posses both accountability ( for all who walk through the doors) as well as understanding. He is able to balance both. The Office staff is probably the best I have ever encountered. I have been to many schools where the act almost 'bothered' if you show interest in your child's educational environment. Not at WRES, you will be encouraged by staff and faculity to be as involved as you can possibly be. Please check this school out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

This is the greatest public school in jacksonville in my opinion. I have attended 4 elementary schools here. All 3 of my children attended this school all through their elementary school years. My youngest is still enrolled & my second child will be going to middle school this new school year. This school is clean fun & the staff is outstanding @ going that extra mile for your you & your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

I have two children in this school, ages 6 & 8. I just love it, the kids love it, they are both thriving, making friends, building bonds!!! I just cant say enought good things about WRES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2006

I have two children (grades 2 and K) at West Riverside Elementary, and am extremely happy. The principal is great, the teachers are caring and dedicated, the student body is as diverse as sesame street, and the PTA is extremely active. The school is an unofficial magnet for ESE and ESOL students, which tends to weigh down its grade. But the grade (a B in 2006) doesn't matter as much as the experience my children are having, the friends they are meeting, and the things they are learning. Bottom line . . . if you are an involved parent and you live in West Riverside's district, you will be happy with the school. Tour it and you'll understand why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

This is a small school with dedicated staff. Don't let the grade fool you. The staff has difficult challenges with language and culture along with the transient nature of the neighborhood. Many students are non-english speaking. It seems like more than the ~20% reported. But the administration seems to make every effort to accomodate and educate all children. My child is new to the school and both my wife and I look forward to helping the school staff make this an enjoyable time. Based on my child's excitement, the school is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2004

The school, teachers and the principal are wonderful. They care about their students and it's apparent in the way they run the school and interact with students as well as parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 41%
Black 25%
Hispanic 24%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 77%65%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2801 Herschel St
Jacksonville, FL 32205
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 381-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT