Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Jacksonville, FL
Students enrolled: 474
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ruth N. Upson Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing! Beyond amazing! Today was my son's first day of middle school (the middle school that the principal Dr Stahlman helped me get him into) however my daughter is still there following in her brothers footsteps as a safey patrol. The staff of the entire school are ALL so gracious and caring. They're like family! NEVER doubt this school! A+

Ruth N. Upson Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Good School needs more parent involvment. Could have a strong PTA with a solid parent membership. Only set back is too much change but Teachers care about their students.


Ruth N. Upson Elementary School 2

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
The environment in the office at Ruth N Upson has completely changed. Mrs Hancock was never as rude and snotty as the women are in the office now. This year has ruined my opinion of this school.

Ruth N. Upson Elementary School 1

Posted May 23, 2011
- a parent
This is absolutely the worst school my children have ever attended! If you don't mind peoples pets being on the PTA rather than parents than send your child here. I will move if I have to just so my children wont have to attend another year at Ruth N Upson. My daughter recieved a lower grade than what she earned due to the fact that she had to use the bathroom! My son was told he couldn't use the bathroom which resulted in him going in his pants. The teachers will interupt the lesson to make students sit outside due to them not having their shirts tucked in.

Ruth N. Upson Elementary School 5

Posted July 21, 2010
- a parent
My family loves this quiet, neighborhood school. We could not ask for a better education! Our child loves going to school and amazes us with the things she learns at Ruth Upson.


Ruth N. Upson Elementary School 2

Posted February 05, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ruth N. Upson Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
This by far is the best elementary school yet. It is so great that I get a special assignment for my daughter to go there! It's an 'A' school for sure!

Ruth N. Upson Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2009
- a parent
My son is now in the third grade at Ruth Upson and the staff just gets better and better each year. His 2nd grade teacher, Ms. Randish was the teacher of the year! His 3rd grade teacher, Ms. Mc Larty should be next year! We always knew they were an 'A' school, but now they have the grade to prove it! After school activities sponsored by the Cathedral Arts Program are outstanding. They offer art, violin, dance, and drama! You really can not beat this community school! Everyone from the principal (Ms. Kring), after school staff (especially Ms. Abrahams, Ms. Hill, and Ms, Umstead)), and environmental services are top notch! Thank you all for your caring attitudes toward all students!


Ruth N. Upson Elementary School 1

Posted October 18, 2007
- a parent
I really am disappointed in the way that the principal and Lynne Rind handle the academic and disciplinarian actions at Ruth Upson elementary. They do not provide the students with the quality education that they deserve.

Ruth N. Upson Elementary School 5

Posted July 20, 2007
- a parent
Great school , MR. Young is awesome very understanding and helpful my now 6th grader says she would love to have another year with him wonderful caring teacher five stars from this family

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ruth N. Upson Elementary School
1090 Dancy Street, Jacksonville, FL  32205
(904) 381-7485
Last modified Ruth N. Upson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ruth N. Upson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top