Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

439 students|Duval
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ruth N. Upson Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Again...... We are new to the school and still developing our opinions. Jury is still out. So far so good though.

Ruth N. Upson Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Again...... We are new to the school and still developing our opinions. Jury is still out. So far so good though. But it is done in a reasonable amount of time.


Ruth N. Upson Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Again...... We are new to the school and still developing our opinions. Jury is still out. So far so good though.

Ruth N. Upson Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Again...... We are new to the school and still developing our opinions. Jury is still out. So far so good though and we like what we see as to this.

Ruth N. Upson Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Again...... We are new to the school and still developing our opinions. Jury is still out. So far so good though.


Ruth N. Upson Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
We are New to the school, so we're Still developing an opinion. So far so good.

Ruth N. Upson Elementary School 4

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
It's our first year at RNU but so far it's been a positive experience. We have awesome K teachers, and the resource teachers we've met seem to genuinely love the kids and their jobs. My only concern is the wide gap in the Childrens abilities being met for the individual needs of each child. 18-20 students pr teacher doesn't leave much time for specific attention to a students level of comprehension. But the communication between teacher/parents is better than expected.

Ruth N. Upson Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing! Beyond amazing! Today was my son's first day of middle school (the middle school that the principal Dr Stahlman helped me get him into) however my daughter is still there following in her brothers footsteps as a safey patrol. The staff of the entire school are ALL so gracious and caring. They're like family! NEVER doubt this school! A+


Ruth N. Upson Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Good School needs more parent involvment. Could have a strong PTA with a solid parent membership. Only set back is too much change but Teachers care about their students.

Ruth N. Upson Elementary School 2

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
The environment in the office at Ruth N Upson has completely changed. Mrs Hancock was never as rude and snotty as the women are in the office now. This year has ruined my opinion of this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ruth N. Upson Elementary School
1090 Dancy Street, Jacksonville, FL  32205
(904) 381-7485
Last modified Ruth N. Upson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ruth N. Upson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top