Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fishweir Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 416 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2013

fishweir is a good school when i was there 2005 - 2010 . it started turning kinda bad when mrs. lee came as our principal .


Posted May 28, 2013

I am disappointed with Fishweir. I liked the school several years ago, but I'm not currently happy. I feel like my child is getting only an "okay" education and her current teacher is at times crass and offensive. More than a few teachers are unhappy working under the current administration and many parents think poorly of the principal. It's unfortunate because Fishweir could be a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2012

Like most schools there is good and bad here. Meet your teachers and find the good ones. The school got an A this year. Some things are improving, but there is reason for concern. I can tell you several teachers here are among the best in the county. Unfortunately I have seen some of the worst here too. Get involved and make your child's school experience the best it can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

I am here to tell you that all these reviews are way too old. This school is an abomination. That is all you need to know. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD HERE. I am a teacher and I am appalled at the on-goings of this school and even more saddened that dcps clusters haven't done a thing about it. It is all about the money.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2009

This is a good school where most of the children seem quite happy. I have had two children attend this school, and we encountered a different problem for each of them. First, as this is an arts magnet school, it is sad that my child became totally turned off in an art area, a passion my child had since toddlerhood and the reason we chose to pursue the magnet program (not an easy process). We learned that it was wrong to assume that the arts area teachers would provide a better foundation and inspiration than at a non-magnet school. My other child, a straight-A student, is continuously anxious about the FCAT, and we would prefer that the test be less of a focus at school. The administration is very supportive and friendly -- if you have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2009

My child attended Fishweir for K-5. It is truly what an Elementary school should be. It is a small, caring environment where your child will receive exposure to all arts areas, Dance, Music, Drama, Band, Chorus, and Visual Arts. The teachers are very good, with high expectations still while being very welcoming and compassionate. Most know all of the students by name. The principal is very accomodating and has an open door policy. Parental involvment is big and very welcome by teachers and adminsitration. Overall a great home for your child away from your own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

Is a small but friendly school. There is a lot of parental envolvement and the teachers and staff are always willing to assist you in anything you need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

My child attends this school and I have found it to be a great place for him to grow and learn. The standards are at least as high as the area private schools, yet it is enhanced by the arts. The combination make my child excited to get up and go to school each morning. I have found the staff to be caring and welcoming. Any child should be able to thrive at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

Fishweir is an old fashioned school with high standards and an excellent teaching staff. It is worth moving into the district just for your children to go to this school. This is the way schools were meant to be and one of the few truly great public schools left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I cannot believe the level of incompetency in an alleged 'A' school. I am lucky that I was able to take my child out of this school to a private school. I was warned by parents who sent their children here years before that there was a problem but I had no idea how bad this school could be. Part of the problem is the 'teaching for the FCAT' which is part of every public school problem But this is not all that is abysmal; the quality of instruction and compassion is sub par. I have no solution other than request that you send your child elsewhere to a school with accountability and compassion; in other words, Private School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2007

Superb school, small, friendly, incredible band,art, dance,chorus, and drama opportunities. The academics are solid and the teachers and staff are very approachable. There is lots of parental involvement.I have had 4 children go through in the last 10 years. Also it is a feeder school if you are a magnet student to LaVilla middle school for the arts. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

The quality of academics at this school is amazing! my children are in drama and band and they love it! The teachers are wonderful. You could not pay for a better school and this one is free! Thank you for all you do Fishweir staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

I have had 4 children attend Fishweir, this year will be the last for my 4th. This school is a quiet gem, receiving 5 Star Status for many years running and A's on FCAT several years in a row also. The teachers are the best, so committed and the perfect blend of gentle and tough. Most of them have been there for many years and only leave to retire! There is great parent involvement (I have been on the PTA Board for 13 years), and the school is clean, safe, and happy. It is an arts magnet and the music, chorus, band and drama departments are wonderful! I can't wait til my grandkids start at Fishweir!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

Fishweir is a wonderful school great teachers and staff they really care about the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2005

Fishweir Elementary School is the Best school I have ever went to!It is true that is where I started singing and there slogen is Where Creativity Begins and Grows. Everyone is so kind and always have great shows and Talent shows! It is the Best school in Florida to me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2003

Fishweir is truly a family. The small size of the school provides the basis for a caring community of students, teachers, staff, and parents. Children's unique personalities are treasured. The magnet program on the arts emphasizes creativity on all levels. The children accept and celebrate one another's differneces and learn to work together to produce wonderful performances. Academic achievement is strongly emphasized. This is not a 'cookie cutter' test preparation center. Fishweir is a treasure!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 71%
Black 16%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 80%65%61%
Master's degree 16%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3977 Herschel Street
Jacksonville, FL 32205
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 381-3910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Chosen Vessels
Jacksonville, FL





Ortega Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT