Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

440 students|Duval
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fishweir Elementary School 3

Posted November 27, 2013
- a community member
fishweir is a good school when i was there 2005 - 2010 . it started turning kinda bad when mrs. lee came as our principal .

Fishweir Elementary School 2

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
I am disappointed with Fishweir. I liked the school several years ago, but I'm not currently happy. I feel like my child is getting only an "okay" education and her current teacher is at times crass and offensive. More than a few teachers are unhappy working under the current administration and many parents think poorly of the principal. It's unfortunate because Fishweir could be a great school.


Fishweir Elementary School 3

Posted December 12, 2012
- a parent
Like most schools there is good and bad here. Meet your teachers and find the good ones. The school got an A this year. Some things are improving, but there is reason for concern. I can tell you several teachers here are among the best in the county. Unfortunately I have seen some of the worst here too. Get involved and make your child's school experience the best it can be.

Fishweir Elementary School 1

Posted January 19, 2012
- a teacher
I am here to tell you that all these reviews are way too old. This school is an abomination. That is all you need to know. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD HERE. I am a teacher and I am appalled at the on-goings of this school and even more saddened that dcps clusters haven't done a thing about it. It is all about the money.

Fishweir Elementary School 3

Posted August 29, 2009
- a parent
This is a good school where most of the children seem quite happy. I have had two children attend this school, and we encountered a different problem for each of them. First, as this is an arts magnet school, it is sad that my child became totally turned off in an art area, a passion my child had since toddlerhood and the reason we chose to pursue the magnet program (not an easy process). We learned that it was wrong to assume that the arts area teachers would provide a better foundation and inspiration than at a non-magnet school. My other child, a straight-A student, is continuously anxious about the FCAT, and we would prefer that the test be less of a focus at school. The administration is very supportive and friendly -- if you have no complaints.


Fishweir Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2009
- a parent
My child attended Fishweir for K-5. It is truly what an Elementary school should be. It is a small, caring environment where your child will receive exposure to all arts areas, Dance, Music, Drama, Band, Chorus, and Visual Arts. The teachers are very good, with high expectations still while being very welcoming and compassionate. Most know all of the students by name. The principal is very accomodating and has an open door policy. Parental involvment is big and very welcome by teachers and adminsitration. Overall a great home for your child away from your own.

Fishweir Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2009
- a parent
Is a small but friendly school. There is a lot of parental envolvement and the teachers and staff are always willing to assist you in anything you need.

Fishweir Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2007
- a parent
My child attends this school and I have found it to be a great place for him to grow and learn. The standards are at least as high as the area private schools, yet it is enhanced by the arts. The combination make my child excited to get up and go to school each morning. I have found the staff to be caring and welcoming. Any child should be able to thrive at this school.


Fishweir Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
Fishweir is an old fashioned school with high standards and an excellent teaching staff. It is worth moving into the district just for your children to go to this school. This is the way schools were meant to be and one of the few truly great public schools left.

Fishweir Elementary School 1

Posted September 25, 2007
- a parent
I cannot believe the level of incompetency in an alleged 'A' school. I am lucky that I was able to take my child out of this school to a private school. I was warned by parents who sent their children here years before that there was a problem but I had no idea how bad this school could be. Part of the problem is the 'teaching for the FCAT' which is part of every public school problem But this is not all that is abysmal; the quality of instruction and compassion is sub par. I have no solution other than request that you send your child elsewhere to a school with accountability and compassion; in other words, Private School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fishweir Elementary School
3977 Herschel Street, Jacksonville, FL  32205
(904) 381-3910
Last modified Fishweir Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fishweir Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top