Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fishweir Elementary School 3

Posted November 27, 2013
- a community member
fishweir is a good school when i was there 2005 - 2010 . it started turning kinda bad when mrs. lee came as our principal .

Fishweir Elementary School 2

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
I am disappointed with Fishweir. I liked the school several years ago, but I'm not currently happy. I feel like my child is getting only an "okay" education and her current teacher is at times crass and offensive. More than a few teachers are unhappy working under the current administration and many parents think poorly of the principal. It's unfortunate because Fishweir could be a great school.


Fishweir Elementary School 3

Posted December 12, 2012
- a parent
Like most schools there is good and bad here. Meet your teachers and find the good ones. The school got an A this year. Some things are improving, but there is reason for concern. I can tell you several teachers here are among the best in the county. Unfortunately I have seen some of the worst here too. Get involved and make your child's school experience the best it can be.

Fishweir Elementary School 1

Posted January 19, 2012
- a teacher
I am here to tell you that all these reviews are way too old. This school is an abomination. That is all you need to know. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD HERE. I am a teacher and I am appalled at the on-goings of this school and even more saddened that dcps clusters haven't done a thing about it. It is all about the money.

Fishweir Elementary School 3

Posted February 01, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Fishweir Elementary School 3

Posted August 29, 2009
- a parent
This is a good school where most of the children seem quite happy. I have had two children attend this school, and we encountered a different problem for each of them. First, as this is an arts magnet school, it is sad that my child became totally turned off in an art area, a passion my child had since toddlerhood and the reason we chose to pursue the magnet program (not an easy process). We learned that it was wrong to assume that the arts area teachers would provide a better foundation and inspiration than at a non-magnet school. My other child, a straight-A student, is continuously anxious about the FCAT, and we would prefer that the test be less of a focus at school. The administration is very supportive and friendly -- if you have no complaints.

Fishweir Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2009
- a parent
My child attended Fishweir for K-5. It is truly what an Elementary school should be. It is a small, caring environment where your child will receive exposure to all arts areas, Dance, Music, Drama, Band, Chorus, and Visual Arts. The teachers are very good, with high expectations still while being very welcoming and compassionate. Most know all of the students by name. The principal is very accomodating and has an open door policy. Parental involvment is big and very welcome by teachers and adminsitration. Overall a great home for your child away from your own.

Fishweir Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2009
- a parent
Is a small but friendly school. There is a lot of parental envolvement and the teachers and staff are always willing to assist you in anything you need.


Fishweir Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Fishweir Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fishweir Elementary School
3977 Herschel Street, Jacksonville, FL  32205
(904) 381-3910
Last modified Fishweir Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fishweir Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews.