Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kirby-Smith Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 952 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2007

My son is in his second year at Kirby-Smith, and I have been very impressed with the school during his time there. The principal's enthusiasm and leadership seem to be an inspiration to all her teachers and staff, and I found all my son's teachers to be dedicated and wanting to be the best that they can be. I volunteered regularly so I had an inside look at the school and I found it to have a positive atmosphere and never saw anything negative. Their electives are amazing - my son has taken Video Game Design, Art and Robotics, and been in the Computer and Guitar Clubs after school. I would not hesitate to recommend KSMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

I am speaking only on behalf of the advanced classes of this school I never attended any standard classes. I can easily say this was the best school I've ever attended. It was one of the more nerdy schools Iv'e been to but that's a good thing nerds like to learn. the classes where great and most teacher followed the you can lead horse to water but you make them drink philosophy not saying there lazy or anything they'll try and help there students but they'll alway's be more into the kids they can see are activily trying.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 11, 2007

I love the Teachers and the Students are so well behaved. you should let your children go to that wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2007

We are very pleased with the experience our daughter has had at Kirby. Middle school is the hardest time for many children but we are very pleased with everything at Kirby Smith. Our daughter started in the 7th grade when we we highly unsatisfied with the school she attended in 6th grade. She finishing 8th grade and has been accepted into the IB program at Paxon next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2007

My daughter attends here in 6th gr. I wish I could say that I am happy here. The building is old, carpet terrible. Field trips are expensive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

Middle School-The stories we were told, most of them frightening, were all laid to reast once my son began 6th grade at KSMS. The 6th grade team of teachers were awesome! They all used schoolnotes as a way of keeping the communication lines open. My son learned everything plus more that a 6th grader should be learning. He's now back for 7th grade and everything he learned in 6th is coming together nicely. Doing very well in 7th. We love the school overall. The teachers and staff all step out into the hallway between classes, and I believe their presence helps to keep students orderly. Like all middle schools, the students have their disagreements, but the discipline policy is enforeced appropriately. I highly recommend this school. Parent involvement is as good as any other middle school. The principal is a great leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

Super hi-tech electives! Advanced and gifted teachers are really good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

there is no doubt that middle school is probably THE most difficult time of a child's life. Having experienced 2 different middles schools - 1 inner city magnet, 1 at the beach, with 3 children has been eye opening. The years my son went to KSmith as a gifted student were bad years for him scholastically. The teachers and students were a FAR cry from what he was used to, and I made several trips down there. Teachers that threw lipsticks and erasers at the students - 'to get their attention', others called them names, others locked themselves in their 'rooms' and let the kids 'teach' themselves, students that had no discipline, a militaristic principal that focused on appearance, not performance... I was not impressed. When my son went on to Paxon magnet, it didn't get any better. I'm so sick of Duval county Public Schools - I'm homeschooling now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2004

I thought we were blessed when my son was accepted into the Magnet Program at Kirby-Smith. Much to our surprise, it was no different than any other of the below average middle schools in Duval County. There is a very rough crowd there and my son was harrassed constantly. The education there is poor because the teachers are too busy trying to control the kids, which proves useless, instead of teaching. I did not witness a level of concern for the safety and well being of the kids. I did not feel it was a good environment for any child to be in, so I removed my son and home schooled him the remainder of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

326 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

324 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

318 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

314 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

278 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

278 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

256 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
64%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 57%
White 31%
Hispanic 5%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%65%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JUNE L MARSHALL
Fax number
  • (904) 630-6605

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2034 Hubbard Street
Jacksonville, FL 32206
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 630-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

School For The Future
Jacksonville, FL


School For The Future
Jacksonville, FL



Zarephath Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Wisdom Learning Academy
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT