Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Julia Landon College Prepartory & Leadership Development School

Public | 6-8 | 745 students

College preparatory curriculum with a focus on leadership development

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2014

I attended Landon for all three years of middle school, and as a rising 9th grader headed into the Stanton IB program, I can say with all honesty that I'm going to miss this school so much and that I know it prepared me for my future. The staff truly care about the student body and will do anything in their power to help any student succeed. Some of the teachers I've had at Landon have genuinely had an impact on my character, not just my academics. Each grade level at Landon is a family; everyone cares for each other. Any issues a student may be having in or outside of the classroom will be discussed if the student so desires, which leads me to say that the guidance office is a pretty comforting place to be. The homework load definitely is anything but light, but if you learn anything from this school, it'll be time management. Landon is a place for kids who want to impact the world to "start small" by impacting people around them positively. As many lessons as you learn from the staff, whether it be regarding academics, athletics, or life, I promise that the staff will always want to learn from you, too.


Posted February 27, 2014

This school is absolutely amazing. Not only will it prepare you for Stanton, Paxon, or any school, it will prepare you for life. Something Landon focuses on is LEADERSHIP and I believe this makes Landon stick out from other middle schools such as James Weldon Johnson. Landon is the #1 school in Jacksonville, and that is quite an honor. Also was #2 in the whole entire state of Florida. Leadership can take you anywhere in life and build many new relationships and life skills in the future. I highly reccomend this school for any child that is ready to work hard and want a successful future. HIGHLY reccomend this school. Love it love it love it.


Posted October 10, 2013

Julia Landon is the best school. The teachers are really supporting! They have great electives but more time could b spent between classes it is a wonderful school with no inappropriate behaviors


Posted September 26, 2013

This is the BEST school in Duval County! Teachers are the best, nice facilities, good parent involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

Landon is a great school. I will miss it so much next year in high school.


Posted June 30, 2013

Point of Information: Landon became a "dedicated" (ALL students must apply to go to the school, whether they live in the neighborhood or not) magnet school at least 5 years ago. Some of the earlier comments below (2006) are when it was still a regular neighborhood middle school. Not sure what the racial mix of the school was then, what the problems were or who was the principal, but when it became a magnet, it got a new principal and probably all new teachers. The discipline and safety problems one parent commented about are not there now. I have not heard from my kids about it being "clique-y". My one daughter has been teased (a lot - by one kid) but I don't think it is a BIG problem at the school. And the principal is made aware of digital bullying/problems too. Teaching to the test is a problem EVERYWHERE because of FCATS and teachers' salaries are riding on kids' performance. The curriculum at Landon IS challenging with LOTS of homework, but that's why parents send their kids there - it's college prep - leading to IB and AICE programs. The neighborhood middle school my children would have gone to gives little to NO homework. We are VERY Happy with Landon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

Landon Middle - if you want a real education go somewhere else. This school only has a high rating because they force recycling of grades and extra credit. Any student with a C can recycle and bring it up to an A with extra credit by semester end. If you are really an A student, there is nothing for you here. All teaching is for the tests. Silent lunch. Extensive bullying and staff pets. I am so dissapointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

I am an 8th grader at Julia Landon and I must say that when I leave for high school, I will be crying my eyes out when the last day of school comes! To any parents or kids that are considering attending Landon, YOU HAVE TO GO! It is such an amazing school! The teachers are excellent and strive to improve the students' learning skills and grades every day! The environment is very homey and safe, and I feel like I can easily walk up to a teacher or student or staff member without feeling intimidated or nervous. Everyone actually knows YOU, not by your grades (even though the principal and some teachers know every Benchmark and FCAT score all the students had) but by your personality! I've made long lasting friendships not just with students but teachers and the staff too! I have learned so many different things these past few years, and because of Landon, I have become a more social, well rounded, globally aware, rigorously studious, and caring leader. I'll be honest, when I first attended Landon, I was ignorant and refused to like Landon because I missed my old school, but I immediately realized there's nothing to not like! I LOVE LANDON! :D


Posted January 18, 2013

This is the BEST school. My daughter had to leave in her eight grade year because we had to move which just pains me. I wish she could have stayed. Amazing school. They do give a lot of home work. Hours of it. Coach Harris for girls b-ball was the greatest. Mrs. Bravo is an amzing principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2012

In think that JLCP is a great school in terms of its environment, but I believe that more insight is needed to make the learning experiences more hands on rather than heavily computer based.Nevertheless, my child is blessed to be part if this school. I sincerely apprecaite the effort put forth to assist students and think that it will only get better and better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

This school will not dissapoint! Great teachers, staff, and kids. Great place to be! You will love it and I reccomend it! All teachers want your child to leave Julia Landon successful! You will be suprised how supportive the staff is. Trust me, the principal is fantastic! She knows everthing from your FCAT scores or Benchmark, she is a great principal. Once she knows your name she will never forget it. Trust me she is amazing!


Posted July 2, 2011

A note to the effective leadership and talented faculty: As a parent and substitute teacher, I applaud Landon's approach to structure and work ethic. The teachers aren't perfect, (who could manage 110 students per week perfectly?) however, they are an amazingly effective, adaptive and talented crew keeping their eye on Dr. Coker-Daniels vision and priorities. Good schools start with good structure and discipline. The block periods and structured movement eliminate many transition issues from the hallway, having 90 min. periods instead of 45 minutes. Drama at the lockers and exclusivity of cliques, so rampant in middle school, is minimized. Students have no choice but to get to work in a cooperative, encouraging environment. Friends are made within classrooms and by the end of the year, a student knows and perhaps bonds with an eclectic set of peers. I suspect Landon is creating a success story in Duval County. Along the way, students touched by faculty's mentorship, will come back and grab a hug or share a memory because they cared enough to put them through some tough stuff. Students are proud to be part of Landon's legacy to Duval County. Bring on the critics.


Posted July 1, 2011

My child goes here & She loves it.....the teachers are VERY helpful. My daughter passed with straight A's!!!! This school is truely amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

This middle school is fantastic! I believe my child had the best teachers available. They recognized potential and challenged my child to learn to the best of her ability, taught her how to research, think outside the box, etc. This place was an answer to prayer! The principal and staff are fantastic, very approachable, and easy to love!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

good class participation and verbal interaction. Teachers don't just lecture - they capture the student's attention and keep them interested/involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2010

I think this is one of the best schools that i have attended
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2009

This school is the greatest i've learned a lot going to this school.The teachers are nice and kind but also controlling.This school has a warm enviroment.There is no popular or unpopular,and I can't think of any bullies that attend this school.When I entered this school last year I was totally lost but by the the second day I had about twenty friends.[literally]Anyone can reach they're goals attending this school.The point of this school is to develop leaders right?Even though i'm a seventh grade student i'm telling the complete truth.GO LANDON LIONS! P.S.--If your wondering where to enroll your child,I strongly recommend Julia Landon.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

i go to this shool and i think that it is great!! all of the teachers are very helpful and obviously very well educated. i am also in the gifted program (not that that matters) and i know that if you come there in the sixth grade that there are no cliques so it is very easy to start over and start a new life. now, i know what you you are thinking- this person is only in the sixth grade and doesn't know what he/ she (not to give out any info.) is talking about. well, trust me- i do and after one day at this school, i knew that it was the right place to go to. thanks for reading!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2008

Since the school has become a magnet I have seen positive changes. I feel students should have time to go to there lockers and enough time to use the restrooms. so much conttrol as if the students are in elementary school will not prepare them for the real school environment. they are in middle school lets treat them like that. I am not satisfied that they have seperated the new students from the old students. this can look like it is a racial thing. Parents need to open there eyes and see what is going on . All the students should be integrated. is there a reason why they are not? There are black classes and then there are white classes. Is this how are school system is runned by staff without any questions. Prove me wrong. Hopefully next year this will not be the same agenda with our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Being a new Magnet school I think they are doing very well and I look forward to even more important over the next couple of years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

237 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

237 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

223 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

277 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

279 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

222 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

262 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 64%
Black 16%
Asian 9%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%65%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:15 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • MS. SARA E BRAVO
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (904) 346-5657

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • College preparatory
  • Differentiated instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Southside Baptist Church
  • Downtown Council of the Jax Chamber of Commerce
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Diving
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer for honor roll lunches
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

February 28, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
280
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
600

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Paxon School for Advanced Studies
Stanton College Prep
Neighborhood High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1819 Thacker Avenue
Jacksonville, FL 32207
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 346-5650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT