Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert E. Lee High School

Public | 9-12 | 1826 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2013

Robert e lee. This school is a joke for a high school. Feel so bad for the students going there staff needs more training and teachers more educated in what they are teaching
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

As the parent of a 3rd generation General I have to say the school has had it's ups and downs. The school has gone through a fire (mid 80's)with major reconstruction and has been going through a multi million dollar renivation the last couple of years. With a National Model Engineering Academy and a state of the art Early College program (which my son is in) Lee is making a comback. I have seen nothing but wonderful attitudes from all the teachers and contrary to one parents comment my son has plenty of homework. With the wonderful magnet programs and new facilities I would not hesitate to recommend Lee to anyone. As both a public school teacher and a parent I understand certain concerns that have been brought up, unfortunatly in today's society schools can be a rough place. With that said my son has not had one situation of bullying, being picked on , or any other negative experience at the school. Prestige may come from going to schools like Stanton and Paxon but your AA degree before you graduate high school (without having to take a single AP exam or pay a dime) can come from LEE!!! GO Generals!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

I am an Early College student at Lee and it is amazing here! The vast knowledge here is endlesss! We all go through the saying that everyone elses school is better than Lee but I totally disagree. I am among some of the most intelligent students and the greatest teachers! Overall, this school is one of the best I have been too! GOOO GENERALSSS (: Class of 2016 (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2012

I love it here at lee! The administration and teachers are awesome. Yes there are unruly children here but hey thats on their parents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2011

Most people generalize Lee by the general population students when they say that Lee should be shut down. They all tend to forget that there is a large population of magnet students who are some of the smartest and most gifted teenagers in Jacksonville. Both the Early College and Engineering magnets have rave reviews all over Florida. As an Early College student, I can attest to the fact that while the general teachers in Lee may not care about what happens to the students, every single one of the Eary College and they Engineering teachers take a special interest in every single one of their students. The Early College program is a very good opportunity for any student who has big dreams and plans on going places after they graduate. While there are fights and a plethora of other problems, the administration is taking special steps to keep students safe. There will always be bad apples, no matter what school you go to. GO GENERALS! EC Class of 2013! (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2011

Robert E. Lee is a horrible school. Teachers and staff are unable to keeps students safe. It is a daily occurrence for fights, outbursts in classrooms, and even violence. The staff as a whole are not willing to help students, class rooms are locked to keep students from bursting in. There is little to no homework or any type of work for that matter that is given to the students. It is a great school if you want your child to get easy A's but not no a good choice if you want them to be safe. This school should be shut down. The staff should be ashamed of themselves for their lack of ability to teach, protect, and encourage students. Military dependents who live on NAS JAX are zoned for this school. Whatever you do find an alternative!!!!!! If I could give a lower rating I would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers care what happens in the students lives and where there going in life
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

I have two children in Lee and the oldest in now entering the 12th grade. I have seen major improvements in the last 3 years. The new principal is successfully implementing policies that make communication and parent involvement a priority. The teachers are very helpful and seem truly interested in the children's success. If a few more parents would get behind the faculty and make their kids more respectful and better behaved, Lee could be an 'A' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

It was a great opportunity to be in the early college program at lee. All of my teachers were very helpful and caring. we were as a big family, students and teachers got along very well. Even though there were alot of works, it helped improve my knowledge of the world. I am looking forward to the next school year to start.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2009

I think Lee is a very bad school. Most of the teachers don't want to help the students that aren't getting it. There are some teachers that can't keep control of their classroom, which makes it hard for other students to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2007

Lee High has made many changes this year. We have great sports teams, great teachers and a principal that gets involved. I really like this school and see great things happening in the future. Most of the teachers really get involved and teach interesting classes. I had the opportunity to go to a private school and chose thie magnet program at this school instead and am happy with the choice. Lee High is preparing me for College and beyond!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2007

Robert E. Lee has really turned around. I've had excellent communications with most teachers; from notes home to ongoing email communications. School spirit is evident. Learning environment and courses offerred are above average. Our family is very pleased with the school. Impressed enough to send our second child there in 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

I go to lee for the early college program. I have been at lee for two years now, and this year, its more safer than last year!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2007

Although we have had bad media attention at our school lately, the school is the best I ve seed in years. There is no other high school in Duval County I would rather attend. Our principal has done so much for our school and the programs within it. Almost all of the teachers are very involved and caring for their students. There are some downfalls and problems that need fixing but the good stuff out weighs the bad. We also have one of the top engineering programs and then in the world. This is also the best one in all of Jacksonville and northeast for that matter. A lot of stuff shown on the news media lately has not been entirely true. Our school is just as safe it not more than other high schools. Our fights this year have been cut down by a third that is more than any other high school in the county. We also have two champion basketball teams and we have sent two kids to regional s for swimming. We have every a sports team that Duval county has to offer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2007

Robert E. Lee is the best and getiing better every day. The teachers genuinely care about their students and the students genuinely care about the school. Moreover the parents are joining the mix as well. I am optimistic about this because I know with those three ingredients (students, teachers and parents) lee is a recipe for success. Use email, schoolnotes websites, and cellphones. Get and stay involved. We welcome your participation.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 17, 2007

I've been a teacher at Lee for seven years. I believe the dates on these comments speak volumes. We've made tremendous strides over the past two - three years. We may not be an 'A' school, but that doesn't mean we have students, teachers, and administrator who don't care. I wouldn't trade my students, even those in my 'regular' classes, for any others in the county. They are in my room, every day, working hard to make something of themselves. They know the exepriences they have at school, no matter which one, will be a direct result of the time and energy they put into them. It breaks my heart to know others are trying to minimize the hard work they're doing. It's not fair to them, and it's not a fair picture of our school. We are a family at Lee, and I'm proud of the work we're doing.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 16, 2007

I have taught at Robert E. Lee High School for 5 years - and 11 years overall. Everyday I challenge my students to work hard and most of them do. I expect my students to behave appropriatly towards each other and myself. Most do. I contact parents and ask for their support - most offer very positive feedback. I seek help and support from my Administrators - they always come through. I look to my fellow teachers for support, ideas, and friendship - they always come through. I do not work at Utopia High School - that place does not exist. The problems at our school are no different than the problems at most other schools. I love my job and will give my students the best education I can. Our community should support the school not bash it!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 16, 2007

I have worked at Robert E. Lee for three years. The teachers are dedicated to helping the students be successful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 15, 2007

My son is new to Lee and in the Engineering Magnet; which is an excellent program. He is in all honors and AP classes; which the school offers to all. The school has a top Robotics Team; which he is a part of. Contrary to recent comments, my son feels that the school is safe, enjoys most of his classes and teachers, and is comfortable with the diversity. The school is improving and making changes that are positive. The downside is that there needs to be more parental involvement, better communication with parents and reorganization of main office procedures/staff. On the upside they offer excellent magnet programs, lots of athletics and clubs and a student population that is rich in diversity. All in all - I have seen better and I have seen worse; this school fits right in the middle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2007

Lee High has many great Magnet Programs. They have a Math, Science, Technology Magnet. They have an excellent Engineering Magnet and even have an Early College Magnet where the students attend the local community College half of each day and when they graduate high school they will also already have an Associate's Degree.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

522 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

490 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

502 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

431 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
15%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

522 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

445 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 65%
White 22%
Hispanic 7%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 143%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 24%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 3%N/A2%
Graduation rate 59%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 77%65%61%
Master's degree 22%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 13%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JAMES D LEDFORD
Fax number
  • (904) 381-3945

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 South McDuff Avenue
Jacksonville, FL 32205
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 381-3930

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Murray Hill High School
Jacksonville, FL



The Beverly Institute
Jacksonville, FL


The Beverly Institute
Jacksonville, FL


Murray Hill High School
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT