Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Henry F. Kite Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 308 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2010

This school is a International Baculaurette Primary Years elementary school. The motto for this school is' Global Leaders and Learners' which means the school's focus is on developing students who are internationally minded but who also have an academic foundation built on rigor, relevance and positive relationships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

This is a great school my kids come home every day with a postive additude
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

Wondeful school under strong leadership!!! I've observed positive behavior from caring/concerned teachers and motivated students. Students have many cultural fieldtrip opportunities. Parental involvement exists, but more should participate (especially get involved into PTA). The PTA (the few who make it up) supports the teachers very well. Overall, Kite is an upcoming top elementary school on the Northside. Watch out Southside. As parents, we should continue to support and Be proud!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

Overall H.F.K. is a good school. My son has always made the honor roll. He is in 5th grade this year and isn't as excited as he should be because he says the principal takes away a lot of their activities. Now this came from my son, not me. As a parent I am very strong on education, however we must still remember these are children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

I feel my child s teacher is working above and beyond her call of duty. She cares about my child both academically and personally. There is nothing that is going to change that our children will have to take the FCAT until someone figures out how to keep students, teachers, schools, and parents accountable for education. I thank God everyday for my child s teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2006

I think that the emphasis on FCAT is way too much. The teachers are so concerned with preparing for the FCAT that more attention is not given to the needs of the children. I think this overemphasis stressing the children out and affects their scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

I think this school concentrates too heavily on the FCAT. They have an 'oh well' attitude & an 'sink or swim' philosophy. My son is miserable at this school, and Duval County Schools refuses to allow me to place him elsewhere or approve him for any type of scholarship to a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

academic programs are good and well rounded art is well taught however extracurricular activities and parent involvement needs some work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

It's a wonderful school to send your children to. I love it. Academic programs are great. The teachers really love what they are doing, and that matters alot.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 94% 23%
White 4% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic N/A 29%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%65%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Deidra Johnson
Fax number
  • (904) 924-3473

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9430 Lem Turner Rd
Jacksonville, FL 32208
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 924-3031

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bible Baptist Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Victory Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL




Little Lindas Day Care
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT