Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arlington Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 295 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

My kids loves this school. My oldest son doesn't want to go to a another school next year. I love the staff and the teachers are so amazing!!! Yes, I give this school five stars!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

I like arlington elementary I love the principal. My son had a class with two teachers and 30 for kids and it seems to work out well for him at the end of the school year. He'll be attending 2nd grade this year and I hope everything goes well at that school. I really think there is no parent involvement at arlington elementary we went to my sons Open House last year and maybe a handful of parents came out and this mind you is a class of 34 kids. Besides that I think the school is very nice its small only 250 kids for K through 5th grade. And it's convenient because it's right next to my younger sons daycare. I also feel safe with my son there, they really do watch the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

The leadership at this school is appalling. There is no discipline at this school whatsoever. Children who exhibit violent behavior just get a talking to and are sent back to be with the other kids. After several attempts to get a conference with the principal, never did I receive a return phone call. Several teachers have either transferred or put in for a transfer, and you have to wonder why?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

This is a great school for this area of Jacksonville. Look at the other schools around this area and you will see much worse ratings. The principal here is awesome, it is her first year, and she is great at motivating the students and teachers to achieve their best. The downsides...very little parent involvement, not a nice playground, old building = little technology and up to date materials.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 16, 2009

My 6 yr old daughter is repeating kindergarden this year. Through no fault of the school mind you. I do, however, feel there is very little parent participation, which equates to low PTA involvement, low field trips, low revenue generated from fundraisers. The faculty mean well, but they aren't getting the support that they need at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

I don't think that watching TV all day is beneficial for any child. They don't encourage children to read AT ALL. I've been in alot of elementary schools and this is by far the worst. If you've never known anything better, you wouldn't realize how horrible this school is.


Posted July 25, 2006

My son was registered to go to A.E. for kindergarten(2004-2005). However we never received his new teacher info and class list in the mail. We went to the school an it was 'sent' out, but we never received it. We put him in Arlington Kindergarten next store, he did not attend A.E. until this past year(2005-2006), when we had no choice. I could not afford private school again. His teachers Miss DeFalco was very good and I had no problems with her. He did see a reading recovery teacher , Ms. Long, who worked very well with him. I did however encounter 'lots' of issues with the lunch room staff. My son sat on the lunch room floor eatting his lunch, while in time out. He was in time out for talking during lunch. He was not given a lunch when he forgot his money. Not Happy Am I. Sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2004

The teachers are pretty nice. Need to have more homework for the children. They need at least an hour of homework each day. Homeworks are too easy for all these children. They needs more challenging. Should have more tutoring programs for the behind students. Students should have more extra activities. I was happy at first but things got worse later on. Should improve the lunch system, should have more awards for the students that are doing very well. The principal should be tougher with the students, they should have 2 extra sets of text books for student, one set they leave at school, one set they leave at home to do their homework, the school should have more computers for the students to use, should have more extra classes such as music, computer, and other extra activities. Overall is ok, but they should make it more so the students can learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2004

I think that Arlington is a good school that will challenge your child. Also, they will do everything to keep your child safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

31 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

31 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

31 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

34 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 69%
White 21%
Hispanic 7%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%65%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. PAULA F SMITH
Associations
  • COBIS
Fax number
  • (904) 745-4946

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1201 University Boulevard North
Jacksonville, FL 32211
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 745-4900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Christ The King Catholic
Jacksonville, FL


Harvest Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Crossroads Arlington
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT