Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Garden City Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 520 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2011

I did not have a problem with the principle. But i did have a problem with the teachers. My kindergarten's teacher had a problem with my daughter because my daughter is head strong. And my 2nd grader's teacher was nice & all but i didn't think my daughter was pushed enough & thought she should have learned more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

I am a parent and I absolutely hate this school. My child has went here since K. I am just getting him the help he needs through Nemours. Mrs. Sapp, the principal is unwilling to listen to parents concrens about the teachers and will not take suggestions from parents. I TRUELY can not wait until she retires or quits. PLEASE whatever you do don't send your kids to GARDEN CITY ELEMENTARY at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

I think this is a Marvelous school. Both of my kids have went to this school, and they both enjoyed it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

I agree with other parents who say if you want your child to pass, do not send them to this school. The teachers are so concerned about the FCAT, that is the focus the whole school year. It's true that they focus on the kid they know will pass, hoping this will bump up their schools FCAT scores. Obviously it does not work, the FCAT scores are horrid. Also there is a lot of racial issues. If your kid goes to this school, be prepared to spend 3 hours a night with homework & homeschooling. Most of the teachers are rude. They insult the kids. I have heard it myself in the halls when visiting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

If you want your child to pass, I would not recommend you to send him/her to this school. The teachers are not concerned with the children that may need a little more help or attention. They focus all their time on the child they know will pass. I had 2 children in this school and pulled both out when my concerns were becoming reality when my first grader failed twice and no one could help me understand what was going especially when I'm doing what I have to as a parent & teacher @ home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

Unless you are prepared to spend all of your evenings and weekends home schooling your child to help him/her make the grade, I do not recommend this school. The teachers are not taking the time to assess the individual students needs and work with them towards improvement. My child's teacher has a negative attitude and does not provide encouragement to her students, leaving my child to believe she just does not like them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

I have found GCE's principal mrs. sapp. to be very loving and caring for all the children... However, I believe that the standards for academics should be raised higher... The children should have home work starting in Kindergarten (besides reading a book/day) of at least 4-5 sheets/week. With Science and Math Concepts... The children at 5-6 years old should be expected to read at a higher level, and if not, should begin to be tutored(No Child Left Behind) I do believe that our children can and should be expected to do a great deal more academically. The teachers and staff need to praise our children and not belittle them. Need a greater amount of parent involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

Mrs. Wierda, the 2000-2005 principal, created a learning organization at Garden City Elementary School. the school's physical structure was updated leaving a (much needed) clean contemporary look. It's bright and cheerful climate is encouraging to the students and they are by far proud of their school. The students participate in a vast number of district and state programs. The partnership Mrs. Wierda has developed with Blue Cross/Blue Shield and Joe Zelenka from the Jaguars, has put into place a program to educate the 'whole' child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2005

Garden city is an exallent school. Now that the new principle has started its great. I higly recommend your child go to this great magnet school in Duval County.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 78% 23%
White 12% 42%
Hispanic 7% 29%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 83%65%61%
Master's degree 17%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2814 Dunn Ave
Jacksonville, FL 32218
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 924-3130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Victory Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Youth Development Center
Jacksonville, FL




Bible Baptist Academy
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT