Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

508 students|Duval
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Garden City Elementary School 2

Posted June 10, 2011
- a parent
I did not have a problem with the principle. But i did have a problem with the teachers. My kindergarten's teacher had a problem with my daughter because my daughter is head strong. And my 2nd grader's teacher was nice & all but i didn't think my daughter was pushed enough & thought she should have learned more.

Garden City Elementary School 1

Posted May 07, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent and I absolutely hate this school. My child has went here since K. I am just getting him the help he needs through Nemours. Mrs. Sapp, the principal is unwilling to listen to parents concrens about the teachers and will not take suggestions from parents. I TRUELY can not wait until she retires or quits. PLEASE whatever you do don't send your kids to GARDEN CITY ELEMENTARY at all.


Garden City Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 03, 2008
- a parent
I think this is a Marvelous school. Both of my kids have went to this school, and they both enjoyed it.

Garden City Elementary School 1

Posted July 12, 2007
- a parent
I agree with other parents who say if you want your child to pass, do not send them to this school. The teachers are so concerned about the FCAT, that is the focus the whole school year. It's true that they focus on the kid they know will pass, hoping this will bump up their schools FCAT scores. Obviously it does not work, the FCAT scores are horrid. Also there is a lot of racial issues. If your kid goes to this school, be prepared to spend 3 hours a night with homework & homeschooling. Most of the teachers are rude. They insult the kids. I have heard it myself in the halls when visiting.

Garden City Elementary School 2

Posted June 13, 2007
- a parent
If you want your child to pass, I would not recommend you to send him/her to this school. The teachers are not concerned with the children that may need a little more help or attention. They focus all their time on the child they know will pass. I had 2 children in this school and pulled both out when my concerns were becoming reality when my first grader failed twice and no one could help me understand what was going especially when I'm doing what I have to as a parent & teacher @ home.


Garden City Elementary School 1

Posted April 18, 2007
- a parent
Unless you are prepared to spend all of your evenings and weekends home schooling your child to help him/her make the grade, I do not recommend this school. The teachers are not taking the time to assess the individual students needs and work with them towards improvement. My child's teacher has a negative attitude and does not provide encouragement to her students, leaving my child to believe she just does not like them.

Garden City Elementary School 3

Posted April 13, 2006
- a parent
I have found GCE's principal mrs. sapp. to be very loving and caring for all the children... However, I believe that the standards for academics should be raised higher... The children should have home work starting in Kindergarten (besides reading a book/day) of at least 4-5 sheets/week. With Science and Math Concepts... The children at 5-6 years old should be expected to read at a higher level, and if not, should begin to be tutored(No Child Left Behind) I do believe that our children can and should be expected to do a great deal more academically. The teachers and staff need to praise our children and not belittle them. Need a greater amount of parent involvement!

Garden City Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2005
- a parent
Mrs. Wierda, the 2000-2005 principal, created a learning organization at Garden City Elementary School. the school's physical structure was updated leaving a (much needed) clean contemporary look. It's bright and cheerful climate is encouraging to the students and they are by far proud of their school. The students participate in a vast number of district and state programs. The partnership Mrs. Wierda has developed with Blue Cross/Blue Shield and Joe Zelenka from the Jaguars, has put into place a program to educate the 'whole' child.


Garden City Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2005
- a student
Garden city is an exallent school. Now that the new principle has started its great. I higly recommend your child go to this great magnet school in Duval County.

Nearby schools

Garden City Elementary School
2814 Dunn Avenue, Jacksonville, FL  32218
(904) 924-3130
Last modified Garden City Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top