Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Venetia Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 432 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Venetia is a great school I think needs more experienced teachers that there for the kids not a paycheck but overall mrs milner is a great teacher and my kidd went there three years in a row and we moved but my fifth grader going back on special assignment I love this teacher mrs.milner she really care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

My son has been in the FL public school system in "A" rated schools since he was 3 years old. He attended 2 different schools before coming to Venetia, and has always been the kid that all the teachers wished the other children would be like. Venetia has been nothing but problems! My son's teacher is extremely unorganized. We never know what is going on no matter how many times we've asked her to explain it. Her classroom is an absolute mess 100% of the time. My son was told he couldn't check out library books when we transferred him in, and 4 months later even after I spoke with his teacher about the situation, he was still not allowed until I took care of the problem myself with the librarian. As it turns out there was no reason why my son couldn't check library books out; it was just teacher negligence. He is given negative conduct marks for "laughing too loudly when something is funny" (he's in kindergarten), for "not completing his work" (when I check it as soon as he gets in the car from school, and it IS complete), for "being silly during lunch time" (it's LUNCH TIME, not work time!) He also comes home from school crying on a regular basis. DO NOT SEND YOUR KIDS HERE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

my child has been here since kindergarden .she is a very shy kid but the school has been great .i plan on sending my other two children as soon as they are ready.over all it is a great and safe school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Venetia is a little gem! Mrs. Rubens the principal is wonderful and the teachers are great too. I think that having new leadership in the school has made a huge impact on the overall environment. My son is in first grade in Mrs. Washingtons class and we are very pleased. He has had a great year. I feel comfortable that my child is in a safe, clean, nuturing environment. The one statement that I will make is that I noticed that the teachers seem to be overwhelmed sometimes with so much being required other than teaching the children. Overall the school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

My daughter attended this school for one year and I have found it necessary to move her to a private school due to the very unprofessional attitudes of the office staff and the uncaring teacher with whom she was placed for the year. I was not informed of any lack in my daughter's scores until the last three weeks of the school year. My attempts to discuss her progress with her teachers and the principal were blown off as not important. At least not to them. I find that the educators at Venetia are only going to contact a parent if they feel it will reflect badly on them when the parents protest that they were not informed in a timely manner. The office staff needs to be trained properly in school procedures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

I moved my children to this school because it was closer to my job, What I didnt count on was how deeply devoted the staff are. They believe in every single child there and it shows. I love the school and my children love it. Their grades got better and they tried much harder because of the motivation they were given.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2008

Both of my children have loved attending Venetia the last two years. All of the Kindergarden and special needs staff have gone out of the way to help my children excel in everyway possible. This new year, Mr. Theius has been moved to another school and will really be missed. Best wish! A proud Venetia parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

The office staff [doesn't] seem to know what is going on in the school, and they never check to see if the person picking up the child is allowed to pick up the child. The school nurse never seems to be in when you need to let her know what medications or medical problems your child has. The school does need more extracurricular activites, and ones that parents can afford. I would not recommend this school. The teachers at this school for the most part are very nice and try to help out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

For the most part the teachers seem to be involved with the kids. You do have to watch the disapline factor though. My child got in trouble for something that another student did. It was witnessed by a teacher that my daughter was not involved. The office staff needs a lesson in manners. The school doesnt seem to make the parents aware of early release days or upcoming events until it is either too late or until the day of the event. So you have to stay on your toes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2007

Venetia is a wonderful school. The teachers are dedicated. My child had the best K experience. The teachers all work together to give the children a well rounded education. I am sure the rest of the teaching staff is equal to the great K teachers. The front office isn't very friendly but I don't hold this against the school. The school is always very clean. The Art, Music and PE classes are enjoyable. I think Venetia does a fine job dealing with the ins and outs of the military parents as it is hard on families when one or both parents are sent on deployment..........the teachers understand and cut the children some slack whenever this happens. I am not military but live in the neighborhood. I am proud to say my child goes to such a fine school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2006

The staff, teachers, and principal were just wonderful. Mrs. Garrett my sons kindergarten teacher was a gift to my son. Class sizes are small and personable. I wish I could have kept my son there. Very Navy Friendly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

this school is not really what i would pick if i had a choice to go back to 5th grade.it really doesnt have extracurricular activities and the staff is really rude sometimes to each other,students, and parents.the discripline is ok,but sometimes the principle and teachers could go to far for minor mishaps happening.overall i wouldnt recomend this elementary school to anyone it needs to be improved.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 3, 2006

My daughter has been there for two years. It is a good school, except for the fact that some of the teachers and faculty do not want to deal with children who have ADHD. The teacher she has this year, Mrs. Dolan, is great. She has worked with us so much especially since my daughter was taken off the medicine for 2 months. She allows us to call her at home and also to email her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My daughter is in the fifth grade and attending Venetia Elementary for the first time this year. Due to the caring, dedicated teachers, principal, and other staff, she is really enjoying school and being challenged to learn, and to me, that means a lot. I think that the emphasis that is put on reading is wonderful. I was truly amazed and delighted to find out how well disiplined the students were. It makes learning so much easier when a principal 'runs a tight ship'. I'd also like to send a special thanks to Mr. Bill, my daughter's bus driver, for the way he watches out for our children. The only thing that my daughter doesn't like is the fact that there is no daily recess (not P.E., but 30 minutes per day to go outside and play and be a child). Thank you to each and every employee at Venetia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

I really feel that the school is awful. The principal and staff dont seem to have the 'self-esteem' of the children in mind they are always yelling at the kids. The women in the cafeteria (not the head lady) are mean. Some of the teachers are great but most of them are miserable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2005

I have a third grader at Venetia Elementary and it is his second year there. I have enjoyed his time there the teachers have taken an direct interest in the students and there progress whenever there is a problem I have never had trouble getting in contact with a teacher at this school even after hours from home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

My children love Venetia and I love the teachers there. The office staff does need to be more friendly and accepting. I feel comfortable in the school until it comes to the office staff. Music, art and P.E./coach are given and are very helpful to the children. Parent involvement is pretty high, but could benefit more. Academically children are challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

I have two daughter that have been attending since Kindergarten, they are now in 4th and 3rd grade. All of their teachers have been great, from making them feel confident and always bringing out the best in them. I would be happier if they had a better music, art and P.E. programs, it seems as they diminish every year. Parent involvement is not high, it's always the same group of parents at all activities. The majority of the students are of military families and the teachers have learned to make everyone feel welcome. The front office could use a class or two in customer service. Not very friendly and it is a bit intimidating when you are not greeted with a big hello and a smile. Other than that the school is great. Needs improvement in that they need to create new rooms and get rid of the portables.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Small school with great kids. Great teachers who really care about their classes. There are probably 80-85% military children at this school and my children and the teachers handle this change well. The availablity of music has come back in the past few years and so has art. Parent involvement I feel is pretty high. Academic programs are well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

Venetia leaves a little to be desired. The school is unecessarily strict. Often thru the day the children sit on the floor. In the morning while waiting for teachers to allow them in the classroom. After lunch while waiting for their teachers to get them from the lunch room and during these times often other students are diciplining/watching the kids who are sitting. I have seen this go on for two years and feel it is not appropriate to say the least.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

54 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Black 36%
Hispanic 7%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%65%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4300 Timuquana Road
Jacksonville, FL 32210
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 381-3990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ortega Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL



Bayview Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT