Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Shore Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1221 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2013

I went to Lake Shore for my 6th grade year. It went pretty well. I had a bit of a rough start but I made it through. I started this past year in my 7th grade class and it was horrible. My mother had to remove me from this school because of the teachers, students, and the all around rudeness. It was not fun. We had a bad time here and I will not be returning. In fact, the last time I was there and the last I will ever be there, was the day I signed the withdraw paper alongside my mother.


Posted June 7, 2013

I went to Lake Shore middle school in 2012. 6th grade. It was the best school i ever went to. All the teachers were awesome, they were really helpful and nice. The best school ever that i went too. I was in the Miyas. I had straight A's in Lake Shore middle, how that happen is by the teachers. They really know how to teach us kids. Award ceremony I got a 4.0 for GPA. I really like this school, a lot and someday I will visit my teachers again. My homeroom teacher was the best. Mrs.Schwartz.


Posted December 7, 2012

I love the fights they are hilarious the first fight was with achielious and marquis he bammed him on the ground a pounded the lil punk I laughed my socks off but my point is you have to fight for your freekin life look for every corner and most of all the girls look like grown men this girl looks like a freekin wood chipper don't look at her especially in the morning their is a gang that runs the hallway they love to fight if you send your child there don't get into a problem with anyone cause they will find you and don't disrespect teachers because they get disrespectful this boy deshawn constantly has problems with mrs Swartz he once came back from 5 day suspension and got a referral cause she claimed he skipped her class I currently attend this school for 6th grade 2012-2013 I have seen it all love hate fights and gossip if you want your kid to be a sweaty pie and not turn out to be a changed quiet kid to a UFC murderous intelligent all around swell kid like me don't send your kid here I beg you but I have to say the teachers encourage you especially in avid if your kid is smart ps I won the 2012-2013 spelling bee


Posted March 23, 2012

Lake Shore is one of the best middle schools I've had the opportunity to work at as a substitute teacher. If you take a look around at the other middle schools in town, you'll know that isn't saying much but Lake Shore at least tries. As someone has already said, there is a huge disconnect between the teachers and the administration. The teachers are wonderful for the most part. Your child will learn from them. The failure is in the administration. There is a huge problem with discipline. If I send a kid out to the office because of behavior issues, they are sent right back to disrupt the class further. I've had entire classes walk out and the woman in the office just shrugged her shoulders. This should not happen. I think if the administrators got their act together, Lake Shore could be an amazing school. Until then, it's just slightly better than average (yet better than everyone else).
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 19, 2011

My son loves his teachers. Its the administrators who are not on the same page, therefore the learning atmosphere is incomplete. How can the teachers/parents/students ever implement a working plan of action if the administrators always have a diffrent idea, a diffrent voice or a diffrent agenda? Administrators should be more proactive to helping thier students achieve greatness at all costs, and not be so apt to share thier bad attitudes. They almost detered my son's awesome attitude for school by "grouping" him with other children physically "like" him instead of his grades and character. Now I have to "meet" with them all?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

This school has the potential to strive for excellence. I believe with the proper structure from Teacher, Student and Parent involvement in the school and community the school came become and A school. Maybe the district should consider a new Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

Hi there, I'm a student at Lakeshore and I have been nothing but impressed. I am in all honors classes and this is my first year hear, and they've implemented new rules and regulations to keep things running smoothly. The curriculum is generally rigorous and challenging, although some things come easy, but teachers really care! The children can be talkative and on occasion disruptive but the teachers do their best to keep the peace in the classroom. I've seen two fights this year but generally, most students- if not all are exceptionally well-mannered- are civil. I do not consider myself a popular student nor a person who follows trends and wears the latest make up or follows the latest gossip or does things that a typical, cliche 'popular' girl would do, but I am kindly treated by friends and teachers alike and have many friends here that are great influences.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

My Daughter is a 6 grader, and she loves the School and her Teachers. She pray ever nite for her School , Teachers and the Students for Sucess in learning and social awareness. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Great administrtors and teachers, innovative curriculum despite funding challenges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

Im very pleased with this school. The teachers keep me informed and are always available to me with questions or concerns. I didnt see a very good rating when i was doing my research for my children to attend here last year but am glad that we gave it a chance. We look forward to spending our 8th grade year at lakeshore this returning schoolyear
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

AWESOME SCHOOL! I'VE LOVED IT SINCE I WALKED IN!!! Sure, there are fights, but there are fights at every school. So, if your child is serious about learning, take my advice and send them to the place my dreams came true at.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2009

this school is horribl. fights happened every day. teachers did not care about the students or their education. this school made me very unhappy and i took my child right out of it.if you want your child to be cared about and treated well dont send them there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

Lake Shore isn't perfect..sure fights do break out almost everyday. But you do meet lots of amazing friends. you just have to know how to deal w/ certain situations. Honestly though Lake Shore is one of the worst schools though.( mostly because of fights and discipline issues)
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2008

horrible school, worst school years i ever had, bad students and teachers. fights at school regulary.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2008

my school isn't perfect but i love it there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2008

This is one of the worst schools I've ever seen. The teachers lower their standards to the unruly students that attend there. The intelligent children are ignored and have no resources to keep moving forward in their studies. The math department is the worst. The teachers rarely show up for conferences and getting anybody, including the pricipal, to return a phone call or do what they promise to do is impossible. If you love your student, don't send them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

I am former student of Lake Shore.I had best 3 I could have possibly had there.Yes there are very disrespectful children there but the Teachers handle it as best as they can.All the teachers I had were very nice and helpful.The Principle isn't as good as she should be but she is there when she is needed.Fights rarely break out anymore,things are under control.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2007

I love this school. I used to go here for 6th - 8th grade. I passed with wonderful grades. I have help from the wonderfullest teachers ever . If it wasnt for them I wouldnt have gotten as far as I have.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 24, 2006

I am very disappointed with this school as my son has been attending this school since 6th grade and now has gone from an 'A' student to a 'F' student and there is no programs to help me to help him to bring his grades up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

As a first time parent at Lake Shore Middle, I have been nothing but impressed. The Principal seems extremely intelligent and caring. All of my child's teachers have been wonderful and do a great job of keeping me in the loop with my childs educational needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
28%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

343 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
19%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 54% 23%
White 29% 42%
Hispanic 10% 29%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 79%65%61%
Master's degree 20%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Rhonda H Cotter
Fax number
  • (904) 381-7437

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2519 Bayview Rd
Jacksonville, FL 32210
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 381-7440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Atcom Christian School
Jacksonville, FL



Waverly Academy
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT