Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hendricks Avenue Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 697 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2014

I used to go here from 1st to 2nd grade and this school was amazing. When I first moved to Florida I came from the Phillipines and didn't know very much English and I remember them taking extra effort to help me. There was no bullying from what I remember. Everyone was just so nice. By the way I'm in highschool now & this school really did leave a mark on me.


Posted April 1, 2013

The school provides several opportunities for my son to have a holistic growth and development. The academics and extra-curricular activities are well balanced and the teachers & staff are extra helpful. Parents like me are engaged in many programs and activities to support our kids growth as well as our community. This year is my son's last year in this school and he'll bring many wonderful memories with him. Kudos to all the teachers and staff of HAE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2012

The Teachers and staff are unbelivable! I love this school!!!The principal rocks and is very interactive with the kids and adults!


Posted June 10, 2011

Really top-flight. Wonderful teachers in charming physical plant built in the early 40s and spotlessly maintained. Prinipal--RB Rhoades--is very progressive and loved by the children. Our child transferred to Hendricks from San Jose Episcopal Day School in Jacksonville last year. We found that the students at Hendricks were much better prepared than those at San Jose in math, reading and writing, and enjoyed much better enrichment opportunities. Why pay $9000 a year for a sub-standard private school education when you can send your child to a top-flight public school at no cost? Teachers email you at least twice a week and are always available to discuss your child's progress. I wish I could give this school a 6 out of 5. It certainly deserves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Great school, great atmosfera.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

I have heard nothing but good things about this school as with the previous comments. However, I am finding a few things disconcerting with my child in first grade. Neighboring schools with children in the same grade have, for instance, weekly math homework, weekly reading assignments which the teacher will assess the child's comprehension of the work at the weeks' end. My child has absolutely nothing brought home aside from a list of seven spelling words and Sunshine Math. Where is all daily work?? The concept of S. Math is progressive difficulty. But if I have no standard of where my child is with math concepts with no homework then how do I explain math equations that have progressive difficulty?? So I have no measure of where my child might be struggling or where I can help. I'm concerned that this school is keeping up with the progress of neighboring schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

I'm 44 years old, went to this school and choose to have my two children there rather than private schoool. Many of the parents at Hendricks could afford private but are smart enough to take advantage of this public gem. Some commenters have taken shots about focus on religion (not true, but not a bad thing in a deteriorating society) and uncaring staff (not true). Regarding comments about 'no talking' in the cafeteria; I have lunch with my children and can tell you a period of silence is imposed if the chatter gets too loud - nothing extreme.... my wife and I volunteer and there's a reason the school has had 100% PTA membership since something like the mid-70's. The teachers are the best - they routinely come to their students' sporting events! While the principal might exhibit some 'unapproachable' tendencies as some have posted, she gets the job done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

We have loved this school and would not be happy with any others in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

The negative reviewer must be confusing this with another school. Everyone who is involved with Hendricks Ave Elem, absolutely loves this school. Their are many people who attend the school from out of the school boundary because they want their kids to go there. It is quite an excellent school and the kids are taught very well by caring staff and there is much support from parents both financially and in person. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2008

I have 2 sons in Hendricks. Our family enjoys the yearly 'Reading With the Stars' night as well as the carnival and ice cream social. We are proud that our children attend a school with high standards for BOTH academics and behavior. The FCAT is a huge focus and I agree that that could be brought down a notch, I also feel that more emphasis should be put on math to balance out the overall education. Every school has things they could improve upon. Unfortunately, state funding is making our arts and physical education classes suffer. For the most part, my sons have had good, kind, nurturing teachers. One son has had a medically challenged child in his class for years. This school is not a below standard, stifling, useless school as suggested in another review. Let's not forget that this school has been an ACADEMIC ENRICHMENT MAGNET for several years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

Hendricks has a fantastic educational environment. My child attended another local elementary school and Hendricks is by far superior in all respects. No complaints about anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

Hendricks is staffed by teachers who for the most part are uncaring and dismissive of their students. They have also been known to be discriminatory to children with medical issues. The principal leaves her work to the vice principal. They have no positive programs in place for children's quarterly successes and place far too much emphasis on the FCAT which leaves the children for the majority of the year, uneducated in the remaning subjects at hand. This causes children who leave the school to be ahead of the game in FCAT aspects but behind in others. There is not enough physical activities planned nor is there a grade level music program. The art programs leave much to be desired. I moved my daughter out of this below standard school to a much better one in a different state and wow! what a difference!!! Stifling, rigid and useless is what Hendricks is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

I have four children and over the years, they have attended a mix of both private and public schools. While my two oldest are graduates of the magnet programs here in Duval County (both from Stanton IB), I recently removed my younger children from Hendrick's after only one year. I found the learning environment to be stifling, boring and flat out rigid. The principal and teachers constantly punish and reward, for silly things like 'silence' in the halls and at lunch and '25 Books Read', without any thought as to quality or if a 'silent' school is really a worthwhile goal at all. My children chaffed constantly over the abundance of rules and frankly, as a parent, I was constantly harangued to donate both time and money to overtly religious events. I agree with an earlier assessment: the education and environment at this school are both dull and uninspired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

My son started at Hendricks last year as a 1st grader, I absolutly love this school. I have read all of the reviews left, and several of them stated that for the new and younger aged parents it was harder to get involved unless you were on the PTA board, I can say that that is untrue, I'm a younger and newer parent and I am called to volunteer for many things, and have helped be in charge of part of the planning for an event, you just have to call someone to request to volunteer if you are not called by them, they are very generous and love to include ones who call them directly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

I have two sons that attend this school. Overall I am pleased with this school academically. Teachers are approachable as well as the principle. I have only two complaints. One, though physical activity is a must at this age, there is way too much emphasis on it and not enough towards the arts. I would love to see more artwork coming home as well as music activities without added costs. While most schools have big performances once a year that includes all grade levels, this one does not. The other complaint would have to be with the PTA. If you are not a veteran you are not included. From experience: I feel the older moms tend to shun the younger moms as well as if you are not financially adequate they do not give you the same respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

What a fabulous, dedicated group of teachers and administrators-- and involved parents and PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

My son has attended this school for 4 years. I am very pleased with the teacher competence. The principal is very unapproachable and I am very disappointed that she does not support the uniform standards that he last principal worked so hard for. The music teacher is great, as is the coach, although communication for extracurricular activities in these areas needs to improved. Safety - they are a bit over the top. My biggest complaint - kids are not allowed to talk in the lunch room.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

I have loved the teachers my son has had. The coach has done a wonderful job adding extracurricular activities. There is a cultural arts week each year. One country is chosen and focused on for that one week. I think they could do more with this. It really bothers me that the student directory has the PTA Prayer and that the PTA objectives contain spiritual education. Lastly, the principal is extremely unapproachable. I was made to feel it was my fault when an after school activity was cancelled and my son was left crying and waiting for me. I'd checked the day before and was told the activity would take place. The principal was condescending and not a bit apologetic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

My child has attend Hendrick Avenue Elementary School for 3 years. I am thrilled with the quality of education he is receiving. The principal and staff are approachable and friendly. The level of parent and community involvement are an asset to the school. My job has had me working with the school system for over 10 years and I wouldn't consider having my child attend any other school- public or private.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

My daughter attends Hendricks and I am impressed daily at the superior quality of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

122 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 78%
Black 10%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Hispanic 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%65%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3400 Hendricks Avenue
Jacksonville, FL 32207
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 346-5610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Academie De Montessori
Jacksonville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT