Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spring Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 449 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, September 27, 2014

The worst school EVER! Teachers don't care about kids, principal is a joke, assistant principal Ms. Hicks is absolutely rude in fact no words can describe her, She should not be in that position.Please if you love your kids don't send them to this school. Is really, really bad!!! I cant even give a corner of a star rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2014

I am a teacher at this school. The staff is phenomenal and very knowledgeable. They work long hours without pay, pour over data to determine areas of concern and offer FREE after school help. You couldn't ask for a better, dedicated staff. This school is an IB Magnet school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2014

I give this school no stars. The principle and vice principle are not on the same page. The office staff are rude and you have bout 1 out of five teachers that care. I would not recommend this school unless they change the head of the staff. They quick to write kids on referrals they don't try to help your child they just label them and throw them out to dry. If your an active parent they don't care they claim they are working with you and actual they don't. Its sad that Duval schools suck and that Duval make kids suffer when they are placed on a 504 plans or IEP plans. They have to suffer for an entire year before they qualify for the McKay Scholarship in order to get the proper help and attention they need. Once they have your kids label they are quick to just kick them out. You call the cluster of the school they are no help. You try to talk to the Superintendent the secretary want you to go back to the cluster she does not want to send your complaint over to the Superintendent. And they wonder why people are pulling their kids out of public and going to other counties or private and charter schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

Teachers are good, dedicated, and responsible. My oldest son is in 8th grade and he went to Spring Park for elementary. My youngest son is in 5th grade now and has been at this school since Kindergarten. The teachers are inspiring to children, creative in their work, and willing to go beyond...I am very thankful...Thanks for all you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

My children are in different grades (1st, 4th, and 5th). They are all doing very well at this school. My children in 4th grade and 5th grade have teachers that are very responsive to me. I would like my child's 1st grade teacher to work on that a little bit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

Super approach to children who have experienced a negative school experience. Teachers are awesome. They give their personal time to help children succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

Principal, although polite, has no backbone and teachers run the school. It is a small school, which is nice, but there are a few bad apples. If your child is in the IB program then you are good to go, but ese or gen end you get the bottom of the barrel for teachers. My child's teacher can't spell, use proper grammar, and is rude. How embarrassing to send home notes/correspondence to parents with spelling and grammar mistakes. I have asked for a phone call or an email and get nothing. Schools are only as good as its teachers. You may get a good one, but likely will get one that could care less and has the attitude that he/she can do whatever they want and still get paid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

Both of my daughters go to Spring Park. We drive from just outside Jacksonville Beach so they can attend their IB Magnet Program. It is a smaller, neighborhood school, so everyone knows everyone. Adults know all the kids' names, even when they aren't even in their class. The IB Magnet program will also give them more of a variety of options for school programs when they move on to Middle & High school. My daughter always comes home & is excited to tell me about experiments and things they are working on in science. Her teacher also had an after school math group once a week on HER OWN TIME. Those are the kind of teachers I want my kids to have :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

We were thrilled to find out about Spring Park since we were looking for a magnet school with an IB focus. The IB curriculum is internationally recognized and this school filters into IB middle and high schools in the county. Although it's a good 30-40 minute drive for us, it is well worth it. We are not attracted to the cookie cutter private schools that so many are driven to. The exposure to the diversity in students has been an educational experience in itself. The office team, teachers and resources provided make for such a "home away from home" experience. We are thankful to have found this school through an article on the front page of the paper!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

Do NOT send your kids here. I went to this school for fourth grade and it was horrible. Teachers do not care about anything. Kids get bullied and they ignore it, when it gets to the worst point (physical) BOTH kids get in trouble even if they don't hit back. The teachers leave the kids alone all the time so most of the fights they don't see. This school is the worst thing you can do for your children so do not send them here unless you want them to fail in life.


Posted May 23, 2013

My Daughter is in fifth grade at Spring Park, She began attending this school one month later than first day. NONE of the staff or teachers have given me any insight to curriculum or expectations for the children. Her grades decline and the school calls home to blame me.... This school should recieve NO STARS from us. Thank God she wont be attending Spring Park next year....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

I'm a parent of 4 and my 7 and 6 year old kids go to this school and I find it a great and safe school. Staff and teachers are great they are very helpful to kids who needs help and take their time in letting them understand the lesson easier
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

I have a 1st grader and I love this school. There is alot of involvement by the principal and that is something that you rarely find anymore. They also seem to know almost every kid by name and I feel comfortable with my son at this school and could not aske for better, especially with experiences that i have had with several other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2005

Its not too bad of a school, they had very nice staff. a good extended day in the school, they were helpful. I like schools that have principals out greeting parents and students instead of hiding behind there desks and this principal(mrs short) is out on the corner curb either in the starting of the morning or at the end of the day to see the kids leaving. shes sweet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I have two kids that go to Spring Park, they are now in 3rd & 5th grade. They have been going to this school for 3 - 4 years, they left for one year and are now back at Spring Park. I believe Spring Park is a great school. The teachers that my kids have had are wonderful and very friendly, with the exception of 1 or 2, they have kept me informed on how my kids are doing, sending home weekly reports. My kids also like this school and are glad to be back. I appreciate how friendly the staff in the front office is, they seem to know a lot of children by name, which means a lot to me, because it shows they care. I give this school two thumbs up.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
23%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 48%
White 23%
Hispanic 20%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%65%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. PAMELA BRADLEY-PIERCE
Fax number
  • (904) 346-5646

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2250 Spring Park Road
Jacksonville, FL 32207
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 346-5640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Father's Harbor Academy
Jacksonville, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT