Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ramona Boulevard Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 393 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2013

Ramona is awesome i have been going there since kindergarten now i am in 5th grade and i have never made a c or below in my life we have an awesome principle Ms.Russ and if you are thinking about going do not hesitate :)


Posted October 21, 2013

I understand that Ramona Elementary has experienced it share of transformations over the years. However, Fall of 2012 the school received a new principal that's child centered and able to build relationships with parents, students, and teachers. Students are responsible for their behavior and teachers have high expectations for all students. Everyone that enters the doors of Ramona are greeted with a smile. The school is working hard to increase their academic performance and everyone believes that after this year Ramona Elementary will no longer be amongst the lowest performing schools. I wish them all the best!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 1, 2013

Ramona has a very positive learning culture for students. There are many incentive programs for students to give their best effort, and make the most of the learning opportunities presented to them. I believe that the 2012-2013 school year has been one of the best in the history of the school. The achievement data demonstrates that teachers are meeting the needs of the students. Time will show that this is one of the best inner city schools in all of Jacksonville! Way to go Eagles!


Posted September 25, 2012

The worst school my child has ever been to!!!! If I could give this school negative 5 stars, I would! I wish I would have pulled my child out the first week he was there instead of waiting and hoping things would get better. He shouldn't have had to fall so far behind and he shouldn't have had to endure an entire year of bullying, threats and careless staff. THINGS WILL NOT GET BETTER!!!! THERE ARE OTHER OPTIONS!!!! You don't have to keep your child in this school! Look up or ask the school about - Opportunity Scholarship Program - Your child can transfer to a higher rated school in the area for free. - This school has major problems with bullying and the staff not doing anything about it. There are so many behavioral problems with the children at this school, it is impossible for a child to focus on any kind of learning. - Major problems with books being stolen too. The teachers know the students are stealing things and don't do anything about it. - Teachers take as many days off as they can and subs don't want to come substitute at this school. There is a VERY good reason this school is rated a 1 out of 10 on here. It really IS that bad!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

I am a substitute teacher who has worked at Ramona several times. Do not walk away from this school...RUN! This school is tied with Gregory Drive as one of the worst I've ever worked at. The students are allowed to run wild and there is no accountability for their behaviors. Even the safety patrols act poorly when they're supposed to be setting examples or everyone else. I've encountered several devoted teachers but with the classroom behavior as it is, I'm not sure how effective they are. Please find another school to send your children. Ramona will corrupt them.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 22, 2012

i went here for all but 1 of my elementry school years. Most of the teachers are really good with a few acceptions i did not like the principal while i was there Mrs.Brady i dont know if she is still there or not. They have art P.E. and music . The teachers really care about the students and will always do what they can to help you out.


Posted February 26, 2011

My daughter went to Kindergarten here. She loved her teacher Mrs. Houston and her friends. Theteachers and staff at the office were always friendly. They made me feel that my daughters education is important to them. The homework was simple but enough to teach her what she needed to know. I wish there were more homes for rent around that area so that I didnt have to move away and put her in a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

My wife and I have 3 extremley smart kids at this school. However, only one is reaching his level of academic achievement. Safety is nonexistent. Class rooms are over populated. By far, this is a terrible educational experience for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

My son has gone to this school for 5 yrs. now and now my daughter goes there. My wife and myself have no problems with this school myself went there from k thru 5 and loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2005

My childs been in this school for 2 years now. The classes are huge soom classes with 2 teachers, not alot of one on one interaction, But it does have art, music, and a PE coach, with great extracurricular teachers that love thier jobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
28%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
26%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "F".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 66%
White 19%
Hispanic 9%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%65%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LASHAWN S RUSS
Fax number
  • (904) 693-7582

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5540 Ramona Boulevard
Jacksonville, FL 32205
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 693-7576

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Beverly Institute
Jacksonville, FL


The Beverly Institute
Jacksonville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT