Advertisement
Advertisement

University Christian School

Private | K-12 | 650 students

We are best known for Balanced approach to education.

 
 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $65,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

60 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 9, 2013

Words will never be able to describe the gift that UCS has given my son. The teachers, coaches and administration not only care for their students success academically but for the success of their social wellbeing. We will leave with a more confident, caring, healthy, and intelligent young man all because UCS refused to never give up on him! What a testament to their mission of truth, tradition and transformation. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

This is the best school I have ever gone to in my entire life. I'm new here, but the first day I walked in, I could feel the love. They welcomed me with open arms and taught me all about Christ. I'm a better person because of UC and its teachers.


Posted November 5, 2013

My school maked me feel welcome when I came here last year ,I also love working with iPads .


Posted November 5, 2013

My school is great at making you feel welcome, they have an amazing 8th grade class!!!!!!


Posted November 5, 2013

My school is awesome because we have a great student council and the guidance counselor rocks. The iPads are a really cool advancement to our school. They are a great learning source. Their teachers are friendly and care about each students need.


Posted November 5, 2013

I'm a seventh grader and I have been here since first grade. I've learned a lot about Christ and I chose to follow Him here.


Posted November 5, 2013

This school is a great place for both school and sport lovers. It also has great staff and teachers, eager to help the student. We also use technology to our advantage as we use iPads to read, write, and just have fun. The school offers from pre-k to 12th grade with a variety of events and exciting fundraisers. University also offers a variety of sports such as football, soccer, cheer, baseball, and more along with excellent coaches.


Posted April 23, 2013

I just wanted to add to this page that University Christian has proven to be the leading school in technology and the iPads have made a huge difference in the way learning is done! We are thankful for this and excited to see the advancement this will have on the kids education! Way to go UC!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2012

I second the dismal rating because of the (non) public response this allegedly CHRISTIAN school had to one of its students publishing political rants about his fellow citizens. Ignorant rants have repercussions in real life - but not at this "Christian" school? Ask why.


Posted September 4, 2012

I am currently a student at University Christian School, and have attended for four years. University Christian provides a solid foundation and saving knowledge of Jesus Christ and a family setting. If you, as a student, are willing to develope a strong relationship with faculty, instead of dodging the rules, your experience at UC would be so much better. Unless you've experienced University Christians School for your self I ask that you not speak out negatively upon our school. There's been much succes within and will continue to be, as long as we're up and running.


Posted September 4, 2012

I've been going to this school since k-5 and I love it. I could never think of going to another school and having the same experiences I do there as I have here. The love and compassion shown by the administration and faculty makes it the best school ever!


Posted September 4, 2012

Hello I am a student at university christian school i am a 9th grader and ive been going to university christian school since kindergarten and ive loved everyday of it. i know everyone that goes here and i love all of the teachers. espcially now that im a high schooler and were all using the ipads its alot different but i like it everything is becoming electronic and its fun i definitely reccomend this school to anyone who wants their child to get a good christian education


Posted September 4, 2012

I've been a student at University Christian for four years and, I must say, I love it! As soon as I started at UC, I felt like I belonged. The staff here is always willing to serve, and us students have picked that up along the way as well. I am amazed at the level of concern that University Christian has put in my understanding of the bible and my faith. I love my school!


Posted September 4, 2012

I have been at UC for 3 years now and I love it! I grew up in a public school system and moved here my sophomore year and experienced more growth and community than I have in my entire life. The students are friendly and genuine, the teachers are loving and caring, and the faculty and other staff reflect the love of Christ in every aspect of their life. Not only are the academics excellent here, but also University Christian truly is showing kids the love of Christ through worship, academics, sports, and all other school activities. UC is also very mission oriented, having multiple service opportunities and mission opportunities theoughout the year. This school is worth your time and money and will show you what a true Christian education is all about.


Posted September 4, 2012

I have been at University Christian School for four years. I have loved every moment of my time here. The staff is so caring and passionate about not only your school work, but your spiritual life as well. That is something that makes this school so special.


Posted September 4, 2012

I have been at University Christian a total of nine years. I absolutely love the family atmosphere. I love the fact that in every class there is a Biblical lesson that is being taught. Our teachers really care about you, and they show it. The teachers are very understanding and are willing to work with you. The number one goal at University Christian is that every student will come to have a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ. You can sense that. We have chapel every Thursday. Chapel is amazing. We have a worship team and a speaker that brings a well delivered worship service. Many times you will see students on their knees, worshipping and surrendering to God. During these chapels you can definitely sense the Holy Spirit working. This is why I love this school so much, because the Christ-centered environment you are around with great mentors and spiritually sensitive students.


Posted September 4, 2012

I am a senior at UC and I was a new student last year. One of the truely remarkable things about UC that distinguishes it from any other private school I've been to is the family environment among the students and staff. From my very first day everyone made me feel as though I already belonged in the UC family. The techers are excellent and it's obvious that they care about the students, not just academically, but also personally and spiritually.The administration is also very helpful and supprtive in getting UC students to their next levels of education. I am currently applyingfor the US Air Force Academy, and because UC is much smaller than a regular public school, the administration has been readily available to help me with the numerous forms and documents. If parents want their kids to make great friends and receive a solid Christian education, I would definately encourage them to send their kids to UC!


Posted August 29, 2012

It is funny that a parent would write that UC students primarily go to FSCJ, Not that I am knocking this college, but that is an UNTRUE statement. I recently inquired about the percentages and was given a completely different answer than that. Knowing many of the students that graduated in the class of 2012, I found that at least half of them were going to a state university such as UNF (primarily), UF, UCF, and FSU. There were a few of them continuing their education at FSCJ to obtain their AA, but what I find most incredible that everyone that I spoke with did not feel that not continuing their education was an option! They felt prepared and ready for the next chapter in their life and were excited. I think if we want to compare apples to apples here, UC has VERY high percentages of continued education over public schools. Their test scores were published and they are above the national average... I wish people would gain facts instead of gossip before posting things. I went to the source and asked a lot of questions and was given accurate information from the CollegeBoard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

As I read the reviews, I see that most have gone through the same things I did. My oldest began UC in k5 and graduated from UC. During that time, I loved this school. BUT, he was my perfect student. When it came to my other children, I found a complete lack of compassion for the students by the administration, a dictatorial and uncaring superintendent and seniors barely attaining combined SAT scores of 1000. In fact, the majority of graduates were not attending college at all or were only accepted by fscj. I could see no difference between uc and a lower tier public school, so my kids no longer attend there. I still have a special place in my heart for the school and many of its faculty, staff and students, but my kids deserve much better and are getting it elsewhere. As one parent said, uc is not college prep or Christian, so what's the point?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

This school is not the place to send your children if you want them to get a good Christian education. Even though this school says it is a Christian school it does not support its claim. Horrible education and the faculty are not doing there job right. I go here and I am not satisfied with my education.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 44%
Black 28% 29%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Hispanic 3% 24%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Duval County Public Schools
Private Christian schools which end at the 8th grade
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of North Florida
Liberty University
Florida State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Voted a Top School in Jacksonville, FL (2010)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Heath Nivens
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (904) 737-3359

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
  • Waldorf
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • University Christian has served the Jacksonville area for over four decades. Our staff members focus on developing the total child and are fully certified, with many possessing a Masters Degree. We offer championship caliber atheltic teams and an award winning fine arts program.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Duval County Public Schools
Private Christian schools which end at the 8th grade

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of north Florida
Liberty University
Florida State University
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5520 University Blvd W
Jacksonville, FL 32216
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 737-6330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Broach School- Southside
Jacksonville, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT