Advertisement
Advertisement

University Christian School

Private | K-12 | 650 students

We are best known for Balanced approach to education.

 
 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $65,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

60 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 18, 2007

A great christian school. My daughter has gone to UC from 2nd grade to 10th grade (this year) A National Honor Student, and good Christian values and instruction, what more could a parent ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

My child has been at UC since the age of 4. This school use to have so much to offer and now I am questioning the academic process of this school. I am looking at removing my child as I do not believe the teachers challenge the children enough. Sports has totally went down hill and that is due to the athletic director not Coach Nivens as he is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

My kids have been at U/C since Pre-K. The faculty and staff are accessible and care about my children. The academics have improved the last few years. Athletics had slipped but I do see progress with the hiring of Coach Mullins for Baseball and Coach Nevins for Football. Most people are not comfortable with change and will react negatively in the beginning. Also, U/C has cracked down on discipline. Not every teacher is excellent but I can only name a handful of excellent teachers I had and I went to very good private schools. Most of the teachers are qualified and caring and encourage our children academically and spiritually. I could send my kids to any private school and I chose U/C and would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

University Christian continues to amaze me by all of the 'God Moments' God has truly blessed the leaders of UC and we are so proud of the commitment that each person that has worked there has given. Strong leadership will move this school in the direction of academic leadership and great Christian foundations that every parent and student will be proud of. I am a proud parent of a graduate of UC and have two more coming up the chain. I can not think of anywhere else I would want my kids learning about God and the investments he has made in them to deliver His word. Thank you UC for that and thank you God for providing for our family to continue giving the best Christian education in Jacksonville! This school is Heaven sent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

Unfortunately we will not re-enroll our kids next year. The school has been a profound disappointment. Some of the teachers are superb, but ask about the pyramid discipline system before you consider enrolling your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

University Christina is a joke. I am a student and have been attending for six years and it has been the worst educational experience in my life. All of the years I have been attending I have learned very little and most of the teachers are horrible. UC has found a new superintendent Duane Sherman. He has made some good changes but has made more bad then good. The first couple weeks of school through the 2006-2007 school year he started changing rules in the school while the school has already started. But overall if I was a parent I would not send my kids there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2007

It is true that UC is making many academic changes, but the school has a long way to go. Much of the work the students complete in class is what I call 'busy work.' There is not much quality 'instructional time.' There are many great students that attend UC, however, there are many students that do not need to be attending the school but continue to be there. I hope UC improves, but I am not keeping my two children there to see if it does. The tuition at UC is at a low cost and this is one reason I feel that 'you get what you pay for.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

University Christian School is on the cusp of being the best Christian school in Jacksonville. UC has some dedicated, loving teachers who care about the students they serve. UC is on the right path and are making the correct decisions in the hiring of qualified, certified, professional Christian educators. The fine arts and athletics are vastly improving and changing to reflect true Christian values and pursuing excellence. The school has taken huge strides forward and we are extremely excited about the changes. Mr. Sherman deserves a lot of credit for making some tough decisions, leading with a clear vision and is developing true Christian education at UC. UC's best days are in the very near future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

This is the best school in the duvall county area and all those parents who diss this school can take their child some where else. We were sorry to see pruitt go but the new coach is going to turn the program round. And as for the new superintendent , he is doing a great job . And for the teachers they are trying thier best to do their and if your children dont behave. I suggest you give them an attitude adjustment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

Thank you University for caring about our students. University has made and will continue to make good, difficult decisions. Mr. Duane Sherman is a godly and wise superintendent. He has dismissed employees that needed to go and has replaced them with faculty that have integrity and character. You can entrust your student with the staff and faculty of University. They truly care and love the students. Mr. Sherman will continue to make University the best school in Jacksonville. University isn't a reform school, neither is the place where education comes in second place behind sports. We love UC!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 3, 2007

As a parent, I've been terribly disappointed in this school. My child will be attending a different Christian school next year. I feel the environment, overall, is hypocritical in what they teach our children versus what they allow to take place in the school. My child's teacher has been tremendous and will be the only thing we miss next year. Personally, this teacher has been intelligent and kind - her Christian character has made up for the lack of integrity of some others. She is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

This is the worst school and the biggest waste of $600 a month thank goodness its the end of the school year. I'm pulling my son out!This school has lazy teachers. I would not recommend this school to anyone! They are unorganized the Principle and teachers don't care they are in it for the $$$$
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

University Christian school is a joke they have a new superintendent for the 2007-2007 school year Duane Scherman that has changed everything from the way it use to be many students and parents are unhappy. They fired the football coach which was doing a great job thank you Coach Pruitt for two great football seasons. University Christian is going down hill! My children will not be attending UC next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

University has made some remarkable changes in the 2006 - 2007 school year. They have added Advanced Placement classes and plan to add more for the next school year. New teachers have been added as well as a new superintendent. University has its best days ahead of them. With the addition of new godly leadership the spiritual climate of the school has changed drastically improved. The fine arts department is doing great things. Although University has been known for it Athletics in the past, this is not the primary vision for this school. Within the past few years leadership at University has changed, the president of the school has taken an active role to improve UCS. As a parent of an elementary, middle and high school student I would recommend our school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2006

UC has a lot of heart. The teachers are nurturing and conscientious in their academics. The admission standards have slackened the past few years, allowing students in that do not tow the mark academically, making it more difficult for the teachers to keep the discipline standards they would like in the classroom. High marks for Biblical focus. Hopefully the new administration can heighten the standards for admission and retain the excellent faculty they now have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2006

The academic program is very dissappointing, the teachers do not put any effort into teaching our children and the classes are limited they only have the bare minimum, parent involvment is ok but i would not recommend UC to anybody who is looking forward to enrolling their child.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 21, 2006

This used to be a fabulous school. The joke is that when the 2004 class graduated, they took the school with them. That is what is seems happened as the school went downhill after 2004. It was as though you were in a totally different environment. We had to pull our child out in their senior year and it was one of the best decisions we ever made. The academics were pitiful. UC has new leadership for 2006/07 year and I hope it can bounce back to the greatness that it once had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

excellent program, staff, and curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

The academic programs are good, but the teacher participation is not the best I have ever seen. There are some programs that are typically available in public schools that are not available at UC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

I love University Christian they are so involved with the students and Parents. Safety is first and they make sure that all kids are treated equally and there safety is just as important if they were there own and they make you feel that way... Everyone knows you and keeps the best way they can...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 44%
Black 28% 29%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Hispanic 3% 24%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Duval County Public Schools
Private Christian schools which end at the 8th grade
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of North Florida
Liberty University
Florida State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Voted a Top School in Jacksonville, FL (2010)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Heath Nivens
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (904) 737-3359

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
  • Waldorf
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • University Christian has served the Jacksonville area for over four decades. Our staff members focus on developing the total child and are fully certified, with many possessing a Masters Degree. We offer championship caliber atheltic teams and an award winning fine arts program.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Duval County Public Schools
Private Christian schools which end at the 8th grade

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of north Florida
Liberty University
Florida State University
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5520 University Blvd W
Jacksonville, FL 32216
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 737-6330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Broach School- Southside
Jacksonville, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT