Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sadie T. Tillis Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 576 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 22, 2010

My girls are doing very well here! The only problem we have had is the bus! Teachers are great! Office staff is wonderful! Would recommend to other parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

Sadie T. Tillis is a wonderful school! My kids are thriving in their school environment. The principal, teachers and staff are great. I truly believe that the administration and teachers genuinely care about the kids. Another plus is that the school is not overcrowded like many schools in the Jacksonville area. My kids love Sadie T. Tillis! Thank you Sadie T. Tillis for being a top-notch school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

My son's have had a wonderful experience from very thoughtful and insightful teachers. This school is not overcrowded and is staffed by a loving principal that has really taken control of the school staff and has made a considerable impact on the way this school is running. I have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

I really like this school. The teachers, office staff, guidance couselor are all great. Having my child attend here has been a blessing. My son has attended here for three years and within those years has shown tremendous growth. I always ask God to hand pick my son teachers and I have never been let down. Thanks to you Sadie T. Tillis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

I believe this school has some work to do. The communication between the school and parent is lacking. That's my biggest pet peeve. I need to know what's going on inside the school, so that I, as a parent, can accomodate my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

I love Sadie T. Tillis Elementary School! Wonderful teachers and principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

I have a son in K and one in 1st and my children LOVE Sadie Tillis and so do I. We just moved here from out of state and think that this school really encourages positive behavior and there is daily parent.teacher communication. My son earned student of the month the first month of school and is so excited to go to school everyday. My kindergartener has a difficult time sitting still and keeping his hands to himself and I can keep track of his behavior with daily notes from teacher rating his daily performance. I highly reccomend Sadie Tillis for the Principal, teachers and staff are always willing to go the extra mile to help the parents with any questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

It is the third week of school and they are still not registered with the website they tell you to make payments to for school lunch, but you can't send cash....parent communication stinks and the office seems to be unable to answer any questions. Would it be too difficult to print out a calendar of the school year and send it home...very unimpressed with this school and the district. I feel guilty for taking my children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

I agree, the atmosphere has changed this school year. Very poor parent involvement, but that's no fault of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

My children have attended this school for years. My daughter is in the 4th grade and has been there since Kindergarten, this is the worst year I have every been involved in or should I say lack of involvement. The teachers are not happy and I do not hear the laughter like I have in years past. The front office really doesn't like the parents to be around at all and forget even being there to eat lunch with your children. My children haven't had art or music for about 8 weeks due to being out and programs during the day at school. The media center is the biggest waste of space in the entire building because we have a librarian there two days a week. It really has been a bad experience this year. I'm sure things will not get any better next year with the principal still there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

My daughter attended Sadie T. Tillis since kindergarten and is now going into third grade. I personally like that the school is not over crowded,that way each child receives more individual attention from the teachers. The school is clean and the inviroment is very comfortable. The kids are encouraged also to do there best. Quite often,you will see the Principal greeting the kids as well as welcoming the parents. The Principal really gets involved. She has done so much for the school to make learning convenient and comfortable for the parents and the students. She is also a great listener! I just wish there were more parents involved to give support to her, because the parents voice is also important. She gives so much. I really appreciate her being there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

My child is attending her last year here, I have been some what pleased with they way she has been taught, but a few of the teachers need ot really take the time to talk to the parents and include the parents is their teaching,I know when my child goes on in life so far there will be only 2 teachers at Sadie that will stay in heart for life I just wush more teachers were like these 2 teachers!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2003

I love the small neighborhood school where all the teachers know all the students. I just wish more parents would take time out to volunteer at the school even if its only 1 day a year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2003

This school has excellent parent communication. They have a smaller class size than the other larger schools in the area therefore, the teachers get to know the students better. The teachers took the time to know my child and provide all necessary means to make sure that my child would succeed.


Posted June 16, 2003

I agree with the first post. No conference til to late to help. First Grade classes are extremely too large for children to receive the best education. The fourth grade teachers are well educated and very helpful with individual childs needs. Classes are average size. Concentration on FCATs is high, which is upsetting cause it put lots of stress on them at this age to succeed.


Posted June 10, 2003

Just an overall disappointment for the last 2 years(2001-2003). No teacher-parent interaction until absolutely necessary.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
30%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
19%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 62%
White 14%
Hispanic 13%
Two or more races 8%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%65%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIANNE LEE
Fax number
  • (904) 573-1169

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6084 Morse Avenue
Jacksonville, FL 32244
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 573-1090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sacred Heart
Jacksonville, FL


Atcom Christian School
Jacksonville, FL



Atcom Christian School
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT