Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Jacksonville, FL
Students enrolled: 519
Before care: Yes
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Richard L. Brown Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
I am a mother that struggled for years with a child that was denied exceptional student education while attending another school. He was placed in the STAR program and I must say the educational instruction that my son serviced was outstanding. Mrs. Penny and Mrs. Carter are truly gifted educators and although the children have faced many educational challenges they are a powerful force that impact the children in a positive way. The guidance counselor is a wonderful person she's a busy bee however she is working to ensure no child is left behind. My son was a success story being he can performing below grade level and in one school year he was double promoted to the 5th grade and performing on grade level. Thank you thank you to the wonderful teachers & faculty that helped my child in the time of need.

Richard L. Brown Elementary School 5

Posted July 26, 2011
- a parent
I have been very pleased with R.L.Brown Elementary. My oldest child has attended kindergarten and first grade and will return this fall for second grade and my daughter will begin kindergarten as well. The school offers Spanish, music, computer and art and the IB program is exceptional in its efforts to promote critical thinking skills instead of just rote memorization of facts kids will forget later. I overheard the Principal in the lunchroom one day trying to quiet the students and I greatly admired her approach of positive correction rather than bereating students as I have heard in other schools. My sons teachers were excellent. My son has ADHD and they showed great patience and understanding and worked with us to make sre his learning style and needs were addressed.


Richard L. Brown Elementary School 2

Posted December 16, 2010
- a parent
This school leaves a lot to be desired. This is a Magnet school, however, this is a political term for money to be disbursed or funneled to this school. Some of the staff do their best. I have had an experience where my daughter and her class was told by a faculty member "I hope you fail the FCATS." Out of frustration for the out of control behavior going on in the class. I am sure this left a lasting impression on the children.

Richard L. Brown Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2010
- a parent
This is the best school in Duval county! The IB program provides a blueprint for sucessful life long learners.

Richard L. Brown Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2008
- a parent
I have a 1st and 5th grader in the magnet program at R.L Brown. I can not say enough how much I appreciate their teachers and staff. My children enjoy going to school everyday to see what they will learn that day. They have a wonderful after school program with activities and homework study time. We travel 40 miles every morning just to allow our children to attend R.L Brown Elementary. Thank you...


Richard L. Brown Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Richard L. Brown Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Richard L. Brown Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2005
- a parent
I currently have two children attending RL Brown and another that attended through fifth grade last year. In all of the years that my children have attended the entire staff have been helpful and wonderful by keeping me in the loop with my childs educational needs. All of my kids have been either in the gifted or project edge programs and have blossomed as a result. I love this school and have recommended it to many of my friends and family.


Richard L. Brown Elementary School 4

Posted August 12, 2005
- a parent
This is a wonderful school!! They have just implemented the primary yeas IB program and my daughters love this school. They have Spanish classes , music class , art , p.e. and computer and they are all available to all the children K - 5th! My daughters will be bilingual with having 5 years of Spanish!

Richard L. Brown Elementary School 2

Posted July 25, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Richard L. Brown Elementary School
1535 Milnor Street, Jacksonville, FL  32206
(904) 630-6570
Last modified Richard L. Brown Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Richard L. Brown Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top