Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James Weldon Johnson College Prepartory Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1085 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2009

teachers only work with students once a week, punisments such as suspensions do not get applied soon enough, the band is below average, and students are very very very badly behaved (fighting every month, cussing every day, etc)
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2008

My son is attending 6th grade here & it is excellent. The teachers are really involved, which also keeps the kids really involved. I transfered my son into this Blue Ribbon Magnet school after he attended 3 days at Oceanway Middle School, needless to say JWJ is 200% better school. I also can actually track my sons progress (Every day if I wanted) through the schools use of SnapGrades.com and the communications with the teachers through e-mail, this not only helps me but also my son. JWJ is an excellent school, if I hadn't gotten my son into this program I think I would have had to pull him out of the public schools for home schooling which I am not an advocate for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

i am in sixth grade gifted at this school and i love it so much, the teachers our nice and the schedule is easy to follow. Also the work, once you catch up on it, is very easy. they dont overload you with home work like everyone says
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2008

this school was a perfect school, she found alot of friends and the teachers were great. the gifted program was excelent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2008

My son just completed the 6th grade in Academically Talented. For a public school in Jacksonville, fl, this is an excellent middle school. My son previouly attended an private school for many years and we thought we'd try a public school system. James Weldon is a challenging school with great teachers. They care how their students do. I've talked with many parents as well and they recommended this schools as well. Like all schools, parents involvement is highly encouraged for each child. If your child has the opportunity to attend JWJ, sign up as fast you can. Your child is America's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

It is a very competitive school! Perfect for children who are like this.


Posted April 27, 2008

I am really pleased with this school. It is the number one school in Duval county and the number one school in the state for science. I go here and i am lovin every bit of it. Every morning we all sing JWJ's song, 'lift every voice and sing'. the school is awesome and i am getting all A's thanks to awesome teachers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

I can say this is one of the best middle schools. I've had the pleasure of sending my child off to start climbing a challegeing academic ladder. I've enjoyed watching my child and her friends become well-rounded individuals through the artful teaching and partnering of the school staff and student relations. Thank you JWJ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

I've gone to this school for three years and picking this over Darnell was one of the best decisions of my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2008

This school is awesome! Go here if you are interested in your child going to a magnet school, this school does have extended day too.


Posted October 31, 2007

I am, I guess you can say, an alumni of JWJ. i went there from 6th-8th grade. it is a great learning environment for all kids, no matter what there interests are. the teachers are simply amazing in making what they do so fun! its like, after a while, you forget you're actually learning. Not to say that school is all fun and games here, it can get tough, but no matter what's going on in your life, the people here seeem to just make everything better, even if it's only while you're at school. but back to the subject- any kid could attend thiss school and get ahead. as long as you keep up your homework, things will just seem t fall into place!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2007

I go to this school. I love it here! Everyone is hardworking and fun. The teachers are always nice and helpful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2007

This school is amazing. i go there and they do challenge me. i know im not a parent but get it from a student's perspective. im on the 7th grade gifted team. any of you people who say it doesnt challenge them then, your child is one smart cookie and i guess your saying they are too good for JWJ. well fine, they can miss out. my sister went to JWJ 6-8th grade and she goes to stanton now. she made it. the teachers are great, the challenge is hard, and it keeps you on track. the teachers help the students develop a study habit and to do their homework. All your child has to do is do their homework and classwork, which they should already do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2007

I have two children that have attended JWJ. One child attended for his eighth grade year and my other child is currently attending the school. Our experience the first year at JWJ was mixed. The experience at the school last year was not positive. My child was not challenged, with the exception of an excellent math teacher. I had concerns I felt the administration did not address. I am currently attempting to contact the principal and have been trying to do so for months. I have left over six messages for her. I urge all parents to seriously consider this school before placing your child here. In my opinion the school lacks a greatly in communication and expectations. My child would be leaving but we want him to have the opportunity to attend a magnet high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

Focus at this school is on the gifted kids. Very good program if you have kids already in it. We had one child in gifted and one in Academically Talented (one year apart). The AT kids do not appear challenged at all. I would not recommend JWJ for AT, rather Darnell Cookman is probably a better option. Most of the teachers are very good, but there are a couple that don't seem to challenge the students. Most of them teach AT. The principal is rarely in and appears to be simply using this job as a stepping stone to something bigger. There seems to be substantial parental involvement. Bottom Line: Great for gifted, weak for AT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

My family has five children and three of us have gone through jwj. Jwj is a wonderful school. The level of instruction is high. Most of the students are there to succeed. Their parents are very involved. This combination makes the student body very successful. This is a place to learn good study skills. This is where you learn a good academic work ethic. No one is smart enough to do nothing and get by. The last is a common complaint I hear from children in neighborhood schools. If you want your child to focus on academics, this is the kind of environment and the kind of friends you want for them. Trust me. I wouldnt trade the experience for the world.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 1, 2007

Well I attended JWJ for 2 years. 6th and 7th grade. It was okay in 6th grade not the greatest. So 7th grade came around...the school is so unorganized! I was on two teams at the same time it took them a month to get that fixed! So then the teacher would not except the work from the other team and said I had to make the work up! I tried but that was alot of work. The majority of the teachers are not there for you. They don't help you. They simply expect you to already know it! If I had it to do all over again I would have went to Darnell Cookman.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 24, 2006

School has a great reputation. Some teachers are great and some do not even know who their students are. On the other hand some teachers are very involved and know exactly what is going on. In the end it is simply a public school with overworked and underpaid teachers. Some are great and some are terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

I loved this school. The majority of the teachers care if you learn something or not and are sensible. For the ones that are not, well the administration looks over us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2004

Very Nice, Class A school teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

351 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

354 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

192 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

347 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

351 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

352 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

348 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

351 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

362 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 41%
Black 36%
Asian 16%
Hispanic 5%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 46%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%65%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SHARWONDA PEEK
Fax number
  • (904) 630-6653

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3276 Norman E Thagard Boulevard
Jacksonville, FL 32254
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 693-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Joshua Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


KIPP Impact Middle School
Jacksonville, FL



Youth Development Center
Jacksonville, FL


Grand Park Career Center
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT