Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hamilton County High School

Public | 7-12 | 651 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2014

Hamilton County High School is a great place to be teaching! Working here is like being part of a big family. The teachers and administration care very much about the students and their families. The expectations for learning are high and most students are eager to learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2013

A total mess. Even with new administration. Bullying is out of control, when it is reported it is swept under the rug because the offenders are the "good old boy or girls kids" the middle school girls are the worst. This district will end up in the news for bullying. Teachers struggle with academics trying to just get the class under control. I gave it 1 star for the Ag department at least that seems to be under strong direction. We moved here thinking it was a better place for our kids but 1 year into this train wreck we will be moving to a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

I do like this school and you can get a good education but I would rather have my child at this school overall any school because it has more teachers than the average high school probably!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2009

I am a student at this school, it's an okay school but if you read the comments below, you can see how well the children are being taught. -example-The teachers here take thier time to make sure you understand what is being teached.--- yea, shouldn't that be taught, not teached? ----o another example--are princepal would show u dicpline-- are should be are, and princepal?-- I'm not trying to be harsh, I'm just trying to point out that we could do a lot better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2009

hi hamtion county high school is great u get a good education and good food and are princepal would show u dicpline thats why i love going there i wish we could start back school early because i will love too be at hamtion county high
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2009

I've just graduated from HCHS in 2009 and, I must admit, it left an impact on me. The teachers did their jobs spectacularly, the students are better than you'd expect, and it's an all-around good place to learn. I recommend Hamilton County High School heavily. --Justin T.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2009

I had children, attend this school, I graduated from this county school district, and I have had four siblings graduate from Hamilton County High School. I m a retired Lieutenant Colonel U.S.Army, graduate of Florida State University....My Sister is a 4 year national merit scholarship winner and now a retired IBM Executive....My youngest brother is a regional supervisor of a major electrical company covering three states, my younger sister is a registered nurse and head nurse of dialysis serves in the three county area, my older brother is a certified electrician working industrial electrical wiring and maintenance. My daughter is a 4 year scholarship recipient interning in dietetics and will be fully registered dietitian next year. You Can Get an Education at Hamilton County High School....IF You WORK at it and take what the teachers have to give.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

I love this school most students don't. The teachers here take thier time to make sure you understand what is being teached. For example Ms.Taylor 8th grade science always askes us students if we understand what she has just taught us and we are blessed to have her among the other students. Thank you so muc Ms.Taylor Sincerly, Leslie Sanders 8th grade student
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2009

I love this school with a passion. Yes it has some rough edges to it but what schools dont. And the new administration is a great new start for us all
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2009

I think this school is average, because I used to go to this school before I moved. They have really good teachers and the student body is great. - Katie Bassett -


Posted January 17, 2009

There is a new administration in place not only at the high school, but also in the district office. These changes have been positive for our students, parents, and community. There is still much work to be done, but we are moving forward now in a positive direction. Parents need only contact the school if they want to volunteer or if they have any concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

When we moved to Hamilton County, Florida from North Carolina. We saw the ratings on line and were scared to move. The school is a nice looking school with a great athletic department however academics left a lot to be desired. Our county in N.C. only had A plus schools. We opted to put our children in the neighboring County H.S. Is it the School Board, the lack of parental involement, are the teachers hands tied? What seems to be the problem? We have several neighbors who also send kids accross the county line. What can we do as concerned citizens do to help out the school. Sincerely, Cheryl Beaty
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I attend this school now and i can say that this school has a lot of spirit and is a good place to go to school and i will love to continue my middle school and also my high school education here at hchs.After that all i can say is.............Go trojans! love,jamee'
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2008

they set the classes up for the children with one class in one building and the next class across the campus and then when the child is late they give him TOZ. They need to keep the middle school classes in the middle school building. One teaacher wants the problems wored out in details but if the child uses more than one sheet of paper they are punished because it takes more TREES for the paper. They need to teach more history, math and that will help the child in the future instead of all the other stuff they are pushing down the children's throats.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

This school praises itself on 'quality education', yet has only 10 dedicated teachers that I can think of that actually stay. The rest leave. It can hardly support the number of students in it, and safety is a minimal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2005

This is not a good school they do not have enough teacher. This whole school is in a mess and it seems as if no one cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

This high school is in turmoil. I will grant you that there are a few dedicated individuals on staff but student services are abysmal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2003

the old school is in horrible condition, but the new school is almost complete, and with ensure safety.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
14%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
30%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "F".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
34%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
49%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
41%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Black 42%
Hispanic 11%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 161%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 24%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 3%N/A2%
Graduation rate 58%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%72%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5683 U.S. 129
Jasper, FL 32052
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 792-6540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Greenwood School
Jasper, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT