Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jay High School

Public | 7-12 | 441 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2011

Jay High School is probably one of the best schools I ever went to. Some of the things I disliked though, were that the coaches that were also teachers didn't really spend time on helping the students as much on academics as much as sports. The best thing about this school is probably the amazing band program. The band director is amazing and she actually makes school fun and tries to help the kids not just with thier musical studies, but with thier academics as well. Also, the students there are very caring and hate to see thier friends go. Other than a few rough spots, Jay High School is a pretty good school.


Posted August 9, 2009

Best school any of my children have ever gone to. I have had to travel all over the U.S. I have found that Jay High cared more, helped its students, was informative to parents. If I could do it all over again I would make sure all of my children grew up in Jay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

The band director is a very lovely woman she is nice.She does not bully the students she actually has fun with the kids and stands up for them and helps them out in every way possible. She never promises the kids anything. my daughter is in band and she loves it so much. And the reason why they only march in local parades is because she does not want to over work the kids! I think Jay is a wonderful school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

What a wonderful school. My daughter attends here and is in the high school band. She loves it, we love it and we love all of her teachers too and this small town. What a great place to live and raise a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

Safe school, very parental influenced. Everyone knows everyone. Curriculum probably not taught as well as bigger schools. Lots of individual attention though.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 8, 2005

Not a lot of diversity but a very safe school. Everyone knows everyone, teachers and office staff are great.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 15, 2005

I graduated from Jay High School in 2000 continued on to Florida State University. I was surprised to learn that I had not received the education that most of my peers had received. Most of my teachers at Jay were coaches, and most of the focus was on sports. I was very disappointed that I had a lot of catching up to do after I received my high school diploma. However, the faculty (personality wise) really is great.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 13, 2004

'The band director at our school is one of the greatest teachers there. She has NEVER promised to start a jazz ensemble or an indoor percussion. She has suggested that she wanted to start one but our band has never had the time or money to do that. It's parents like the one above that need to stop there complaining and help us raise money so she can actually promise us those extra activities and wouldn't have to be called a liar by some parent that has a liar for a child/children. Next time you start acussing her of things that aren't true why don't you get all of the facts about it first. And instead of complaining about what your precious child has told you try becoming a band booster and getting to know about everything before he/she has a chance to lie again.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2004

Overall the teachers are very knowledgable, approachable and helpful. There are a couple of teachers that do not need to be in the profession. One in particular that likes to single out a student for the purpose of humiliating and bullying them. She seems to find someone to pick on in every class. The band director is known for making promises and not keeping them, i.e. starting an inside percussion line, starting a jazz ensemble and taking class trips. She also never allows them to march in anything but the small, local Christmas parade when the students would like to try bigger parades in other areas. My child complains that they rarely play their instruments in the 4th period class because the band director is too busy socializing. I have heard these same complaints from students who have graduated. The history teachers are absolutely wonderful, making it a living subject. The english teachers also. I do not like the fact that the elementary kids ride the same buses as the high school kids. They get quite an education on the buses as you can imagine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Both Jay H.S. and Elem. are wonderful schools. I couldn't ask for a better place for my children to learn. Everyone (Teachers/Parents) works together to improve our children. But, most of all, the Teachers are very involved!! Thanks so much Teachers/Administration of Jay Schools. BG
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2003

I think yall have the greatest school that I have ever been to. All the teachers are very sweet and they take time to teach kids things. I'm very glad that I'm a member of this wonderful school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
76%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 97%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 3%N/A2%
Graduation rate 84%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%65%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3741 School Street
Jay, FL 32565
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 675-4507

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Central School
Milton, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT