Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lighthouse Christian Academy

Private | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jay

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $79,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 14 ratings
2011:
Based on 13 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2013

Reading all the positive reviews I am a bit shocked .. I attended the school when I was 15/16. I am now 28 . My review is a bit late but never less still accurate when I attended the school. I would NEVER send my daughter to a school like this! I felt abandoned my my family. I felt like the school breaks your spirit and conforms you to what they want you to be. When you do so with or say something they don't like they made you wear a pink shirt and put you on separation. no talking to anyone . How do they expect you to better yourself if you can't talk about the changes you want to make I your life. You have little communication with family and are so alone! Over all please didn't make your children feel like this don't let someone ruin your relationship with your children ..get your children the right help .this is. Not the place to do it. May God be with all the girls who are they attending the school and I pray they don't feel as alone as I did and as a lot of the girls who did. I pray they get the help they need ...


Posted October 19, 2012

After attending Lighthouse Christian Academy, our daughter was broken and she truly is serving God.She is a delight to be around and is much appreciated in our home. She is now a church member and in college with good grades, holds down a job and is conducting a Bible study in our home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

I knew that something major needed to be done or my daughter would be in trouble. Our solution was the Lighthouse Christian School. Bumpy road so far but I think that things will turn around with the guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

Life isn't one big party that my daughter takes for granted anymore. I am glad about that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

There are some quite personal and painful stories at this school but hopefully in the end I will be able to look back and know it must be endured to make me the person I will be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

I went from feeling like I was at a total loss to feeling light and free. Great teaching instruction by this institution.


Posted April 3, 2012

My daughter was accepted here and I have found that her heart has opened up to the light and change is taking place each moment of each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

There were many times, at home, that I was at a total loss. I would look at my life,and it made no sense. The only thing that made a little bit of sense was to keep going down the wrong path,doing the wrong things,because of the temporary feeling of satisfaction it gave me. But deep down, I knew that the way I was living was wrong,and there had to be something better. I started hanging out with the wrong crowd my freshman year in high school, and I got caught up doing some bad things. There were many,many times that God tried to get my attention,but by that point I had totally given up on him and didn't care anymore. The morning of December 3,2012 , I left home, on the way to Florida. I knew nothing about where I was going or what the place was like, I just felt relieved because I was leaving everything behind. My coming to the Lighthouse of Northwest Florida was God's devine intervention in my life. From that point forward, He worked in my life in a marvelous way. Like Psalm 51says, he really did create me a clean clean heart,and changed my life for the better.


Posted March 2, 2012

They folks here were there for me when I needed them. When I finally got saved it was the best day of my life and it's all thanks to them.


Posted February 28, 2012

You guys truly have a gift in reaching people and delivering the Lord's message. Even though things did not turn out as many of us wanted them too, I continue to pray and I pray for the many girls who are going through similar situations. I will never give up and I pray that soon she finds her way!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

We knew she couldn't come home to the family as it was and we definitely wanted to see her succeed. So while she was at the Lighthouse Christian Academy, we began to get our lives back on track with the Lord. Upon her return she readily and eagerly joined in the cause of becoming an intricate part of a God centered family!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

Without a doubt out daughter and family are in a far greater condition today for having known you!!! The results were much more than we could have hoped for or imaged and we are eternally grateful!!!


Posted January 30, 2012

I just wanted to say thanks for all the things you do. Its amazing what God has done for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

This review is long overdue and a delight to write it about Lighthouse Academy! I just have to say thank you for giving me my life back. At a time when my world as I knew it was in pieces they shined the light in my life and allowed me to let god in!! I am forever grateful!


Posted January 10, 2012

Absolutely grateful to Lighthouse academy for having my children quit possibly the best thing that has happened to our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2011

The most defining and important gift our daughter received was the consistent devotion to praise, worship, and scriptural teachings. She may have complained, as all teenagers do at times, however, the Holy Spirit was poured out on her and resonated deep into her soul through the chapels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2011

Thank you Lighthouse Christian Academy for all you have done for the Carney family, and all that you continue to do for the countless other families. We will be forever grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

I know I wrote everyone a card/letter but I want to say that I love you and I'm going to miss you very much. You mean a lot to me. Thanks for all you've done for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

Just one year ago our lives were very different. We were very desperate parents praying so hard for God's deliverance. He heard our prayers and has answered and done exceedingly, abundantly above all that we asked or thought possible. Because of your obedience to the call of God on each of your lives, we now have so much hope for our daughter. "Thank you" could never be enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

I wanted to say thanks for everything. Thanks for helping my son get his relationship back with his dad. God has been doing amazing work through you guys.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Black 24% 23%
Hispanic 24% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Palmer
Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACE

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13050 Highway 89
Jay, FL 32565
Phone: (850) 675-4097

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Central School
Milton, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT