Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jerry Thomas Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 905 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

This is a good school but the parents are very low in their conduct there are guys calling their ex by every name they can find in the book in front of kids. Sometimes the road rage is awfull too police don't do nothing about it as if they are not there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

School staff needs training across the board for individual learning and emotional needs of the students. Children with needs are labeled and treated as a nuisance as are their parents who are in need of support and guidance. Leadership is weak and entitled, negative, and uninspired teachers need to be replaced with fresh blood who understand the true reason they are there is to teach rather than complain about students and parents, collect a paycheck, and have a heck of a lot of vacation time to boot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2013

Your site professes to publish negative reviews, but you have not. This does degrade your credibility. The last reviewer is correct that this school is declining under the poor current leadership. Additionally the public should know this before investing in a home in this district. The school district has elected not to do anything about this issue so the public and our children are adversely effected. I would recommend avoiding this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

Our great school is now a "B" school. This school has a long history of great students and teachers and strong parental support. Unfortunately a recent change in leadership has started a downward trend. The principal has let go good teachers in favor of her cronies and drinking buddies. What a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

My son is in Kindergarten and will be starting 1st grade in August. All I can say is that this first year at Jerry Thomas has been AMAZING!!! He has gained a tremendous amount of knowledge, and that is all Thanks to his Wonderful Teacher { Ms. Birchenough }. She understands who your child is as an individual and works with that. I'm VERY Grateful to have had her as my son's Teacher, and I will be very sad when June comes around. The school itself is Wonderful and Safe for the students. Everyone in the office is always so kind. We are very proud to be apart of the Jerry Thomas Tigers *Family*!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

Awesome % star A rated school. Love the teachers! We have been there 3 years & have loved every teacher my daughter has had. Great PTO, great Fun Fair. The ground are well maintained & I feel the way it was laid out & designed is very SAFE for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

What can I say? - I have almost 600 hours in as a volunteer this year. The Principal, Vice- Principal, and teachers have all done a tremendous job educating JT students. This is a school that really cares about making a difference in a child's life. I feel blessed to have my grand daughter, and next year, two grand daughters at this school! We need you grandparents - volunteering shows you care too!


Posted April 24, 2010

A great local school with a wonderful group of volunteers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

This school made my child a brighter student than limestone creek
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

This school is awesome. Great FCAT scores, wide variety of students, fabulous teachers, and a wonderful principal. They allow parents to be super involved & help out in the classroom. Low ratio of student to teachers. Great school. Clean, well maintained. A Rated, 5 star school, great area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

My Granddaughter love attending she school. Her teachers are making education fun for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

It's a great school! All there are very dedicated to education and making it a great school for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

Both my children attend JTE and I can't say enough about it. My oldest son has special needs and the teachers and staff have gone above and beyond to ensure that he has the education and assistance needed to become a successful and independant student. My younger son has excelled and flourished - the level of education, commitment and standards by both JTE staff and JTE families is astronimical and second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

This is a great school if you have an independent and motivated child. However if you have a child who has special needs that are not physical they do not deal well with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

this school is great for kids with out special needs my daughter had six good years here my son on the other hand is a special needs child he walks with a walker ther is not enough room in the class rooms for him to get around they just dont meet the needs of special needs students that needs to change every child has the right to a great education no mater what
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

Phenomenal school with phenomenal teachers, staff and students. Better than any private school anywhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

JTE is a fabulous school! I just placed my third child in the hands of JTE for Kindergarten. My oldest son was in JTE from K-5 and is now in middle school. I have another son at JTE in 4th grade. JTE is not a school, it's a 'family' where everyone knows you. What amazes me is that Mrs. Barwick and Mrs. Gomer (Principal and Vice Principal), know each child by there first name and remember their names year after year! My only wish is that I could volunteer more at JTE but my business won't allow that. The teachers are awesome. The teachers at JTE not only teach their students but also care for them and teach them the basic rules of life. I know that when the time comes in another 7 years or so, we'll be leaving behind a fantastic school and we will surely miss JTE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

Both my daughters have attended Jerry Thomas for the past three years. At first we were very impressed with all the school offered but were surprised when Spanish lessons were no longer offered due to the Spanish teacher leaving to have a baby. They have no gymnasium so PE lessons are very limited and very hot of course. Most of the teachers are very dedicated and the Prinicipal is very fair, she appears to know most if not all the students by first name within a very short time. They do have a good approach to preventing bullying and teaching students to respect their peers. Parking is a big problem at the school but they are undergoing construction now which hopefully will address this situation, although this construction will be ongoing for quite some time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

I am very pleased with the attention my daughter gets and when i have any concerns they are adressed in a timely manner. I love my daughters second grade teacher Mrs. Caudill she is truly wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2005

JTE is a wonderful school, where teachers are caring and knowlegable. Parents are 100% involved and the principal does a great job. We are very sad to have to leave this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Hispanic 24%
Black 7%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 163%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 29%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 83%73%61%
Master's degree 17%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 Maplewood Drive
Jupiter, FL 33458
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 741-9100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Jupiter Academy
Jupiter, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT