Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Jupiter, FL
Students enrolled: 905
 

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

24 reviews of this school


Jerry Thomas Elementary School 1

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
Where to begin. First, this review echoes other reviews of parents that have been critical of the school. See yp.com. Even with all the standards set by the District and the State, it's shocking that my child has not had a proper agenda all year. My child has adopted a new "Aim Low" attitude by observing his "Aim Low" teacher, endorsed by the "Aim Low" administration. My child is not learning here. This entire experience is devastating to me and other parents that understand what quality education is. Here, the Prinicipals are not advocates for children. They are rather bureaucrats that de-escalate all issues to being minor and therefore not needing to be addressed at all. The administrations charter is literally to keep the institution functioning, with as little change as possible. If you were thinking about moving to Jupiter so that your child can attend this school, reconsider. You could buy a house in many other areas, with lower property cost and taxes, and use that saved money to attend a private school.

Jerry Thomas Elementary School 1

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
The last impression we had of the school was at our daughter's 5th grade graduation where we sat through the bulk of the ceremony listening to one self important teacher offer a bizarre speech about her students (or, should we say; about herself). No other teacher had apparently been given that opportunity. After being subjected to this rant, exceptional awards went to the majority of this same teacher's students. We were proud of many other, deserving; great athletes, scholars, artists, and well accomplished students who acted as good sports and cheered for their peers, no matter what. We hope this teacher had a nice time, filled with plenty of self-affirmation until next spring, where she can fill ger unwarranted ego again. The event summarizes Jerry Thomas Elementary school. The school is filled with a handful of cronies, who aren't even proficient teachers. So sorry for all the other great teachers and students!


Jerry Thomas Elementary School 3

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
This is a good school but the parents are very low in their conduct there are guys calling their ex by every name they can find in the book in front of kids. Sometimes the road rage is awfull too police don't do nothing about it as if they are not there.

Jerry Thomas Elementary School 1

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
School staff needs training across the board for individual learning and emotional needs of the students. Children with needs are labeled and treated as a nuisance as are their parents who are in need of support and guidance. Leadership is weak and entitled, negative, and uninspired teachers need to be replaced with fresh blood who understand the true reason they are there is to teach rather than complain about students and parents, collect a paycheck, and have a heck of a lot of vacation time to boot!

Jerry Thomas Elementary School 1

Posted November 17, 2013
- a parent
Your site professes to publish negative reviews, but you have not. This does degrade your credibility. The last reviewer is correct that this school is declining under the poor current leadership. Additionally the public should know this before investing in a home in this district. The school district has elected not to do anything about this issue so the public and our children are adversely effected. I would recommend avoiding this school.


Jerry Thomas Elementary School 4

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
Our great school is now a "B" school. This school has a long history of great students and teachers and strong parental support. Unfortunately a recent change in leadership has started a downward trend. The principal has let go good teachers in favor of her cronies and drinking buddies. What a shame.

Jerry Thomas Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2012
- a parent
My son is in Kindergarten and will be starting 1st grade in August. All I can say is that this first year at Jerry Thomas has been AMAZING!!! He has gained a tremendous amount of knowledge, and that is all Thanks to his Wonderful Teacher { Ms. Birchenough }. She understands who your child is as an individual and works with that. I'm VERY Grateful to have had her as my son's Teacher, and I will be very sad when June comes around. The school itself is Wonderful and Safe for the students. Everyone in the office is always so kind. We are very proud to be apart of the Jerry Thomas Tigers *Family*!!!

Jerry Thomas Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2010
- a parent
Awesome % star A rated school. Love the teachers! We have been there 3 years & have loved every teacher my daughter has had. Great PTO, great Fun Fair. The ground are well maintained & I feel the way it was laid out & designed is very SAFE for the students.


Jerry Thomas Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2010
- a community member
What can I say? - I have almost 600 hours in as a volunteer this year. The Principal, Vice- Principal, and teachers have all done a tremendous job educating JT students. This is a school that really cares about making a difference in a child's life. I feel blessed to have my grand daughter, and next year, two grand daughters at this school! We need you grandparents - volunteering shows you care too!

Jerry Thomas Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
A great local school with a wonderful group of volunteers

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jerry Thomas Elementary School
800 Maplewood Drive, Jupiter, FL  33458
(561) 741-9100
Last modified Jerry Thomas Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jerry Thomas Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top