Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jupiter Farms Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 541 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2014

This school has been great for my son. He started in kindergarten and is now in the 3rd grade. HOWEVER, it has been nothing but a nightmare since my daughter started school there. This school is terrible for kids with special needs even if it's just ADHD. They don't want to help your children. They could care less! The principle and VP don't want to be bothered. They don't adhere to plans and drag their feet in setting up services. What's worse, they lie on reports to make your child appear to be something their not (this is verifiable). I detest this school and what it has done to my daughter! The only way to get your child the serves they need is to hire a lawyer. That's pretty sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

I give the school a 1 star on the behalf of my son who's in 3rd grade. My other son who's in 1st I personally give her 5 stars. My 3rd grader and I have been attacked by the teachers. I have never felt so uncomfortable around a group of teachers. My son has A.D.D and thy treat him as if he has a disease. He is ridiculed I front of his classmates and his teachers talk down to him. He is a very sensitive and loving boy. He doesn't understand why this is happening to him and feels like he's the only one in class who can't do anything. I have had meetings with back up from the district and they too sense some hostility with the teachers. We have even set up a way to better help him and the only one who's trying is me. They do not communicate and could care less about him. He doesn't even want to attend school anymore. I think a lot of the staff there are inadequate for the job and should be fired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

Good size , has a coomunity feeling, and there are some wonderful teachers, however , our child was bullied in front of staff and students by a teacher for 3 months, by a teacher. Our child did went from loving school to having stomach aches and not wanting to go to class. After meeting the teacher, we asked for evidence that showed our child was "lazy" and a "the worst student ever" , since all the other grades were straight As, she could not give us one reason, except for a missed test. (that she refused our child to make up for)This teacher stopped the humiliating remarks and open bullying in front of staff and other kids, but started bullying another child in the class. Hopefully other kids can express if this is going on to their parents, so they can stop it in time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2012

I wish my grade school had been this awesome! JFCES is like going to a private school in the suburbs, without the private school pricetag. The amount of parent and community involvement and support is outstanding. If they had a gifted program or offered a foreign language, they would be absolutely perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

I agree with the post below if you have a child with needing extra help from a learning disorder forget it look someplace else such a struggle to get tested etc. Teachers are worn out they need to get some fresh teachers in that realize you are working with children not adults
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

I have lived all over the country. I have children from high school to preschool. My children have attended close to 10 elementary schools. I currently have a child enrolled in this school. If your child is a normal cookie cutter individual, you will probably have a good experience. If your child has a disability, look elsewhere. I have had both and the school is substandard in accommodating disabilities. Be forewarned, your child will most likely have loads of homework. Also, be prepared to teach your child at home the concepts they didn't learn in class. Also, it is hard to reach the Principal, I compare it as requesting an audience with the King of England.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2010

THIS IS A GREAT SCHOOL...My daughter has been going to this school since she was in kindergarten and now is in the 5th grade. She has always loved attending school. The teachers have always been very caring and loving with all the students. The faculty has always been excellent with the parents. All the parents we have dealt with have always been very nice and involved in the school activities. We feel this school has been a blessing in our child's development. Special thanks to Mrs. U, Mrs. O'Neil, Mrs. Kennedy and Mrs. Vides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

This is a great school!! It's like having a private public school. Have have never had a problem that was not resolved in a reasonable and timely manner. Most of the teachers are outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

Love the Teachers! Most are really trying to do the Best job possible in a Hostile situation with the Principal, Vice Principal and Psychologist- who are all close to retirement and seem to just go through the motions with no enthusiam and no personality. This School needs new Administation-parents need to complain to the Palm Beach County School Board. Could be a lot better
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Great teachers and parents! Excellent running program for kids called 'Milers Club.' Administration seems to thwart efforts of PTO though. Principal isn't very approachable and doesn't meet with parents even when a very serious situation arises.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

Great potential! Great location! Mostly great teachers doing their best to help the children flourish despite Administrators that seem to want each day to be at a low level of status quo as they focus on retirement.Art dept could also use a shot of energy. PTO and (when permited) parental involvement outstanding. Looking forward to our next few years while thinking of the positives!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

We have some of the most amazing teachers in the areas. Mrs Kellogg in kindergarden, the entire 1st grade team are amazing. The teachers make the school what it is. They need to know how much the parents appreciate them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

I feel as if Jupiter Farms Elementary School was a gift to me and my children. We moved here from Broward 4 years ago and both my children attended the school. They were made to feel like part of a growing family. The staff is the most wonderful, giving, and caring staff around. As far as administration goes, lots of people complain but don't realize that this is ultimately a business. They have to run the business to the best of their ability. Not everything is perfect all of the time, sometimes we need to except that our children are not always number 1. Please give these ladies a break and know that they are doing the best they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

Principal and Assistant Principal are not approachable. Some teachers seem very tired. The mood of the school has gotten better over the past year. Has a way to go still
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

Overall, I find the school to be a good one. My child has been there for 3 years now. I find the administration to be unapproachable and not warm with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

This school has teachers who care very deeply about what they do. They are committed to doing a tremendous job. They are always very welcoming to parents. The administration on the other had avoids the parents like the plague. They do not return calls and at times are very negative and condescending in most interactions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2007

Some of the teachers are very good - and my kids are receiving a good education. However - there is very little patience for your child if they are not the sit down, be quiet, do as you're told type. Very hard to get in to see principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

Teacher quality is overall good although a few need to retire as their patience has almost run out. Administration is not very accommodating when problems arise. Principal also needs to retire soon as her personality seems to no longer click with the children or the parents for that matter. Very restrictive rules in place that do not promote parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2007

Wonderful teaching staff. The teachers are very dedicated and go above and beyond to prepare the students for learning and the dreaded FCAT. The administration on the other hand is extremly unfriendly, does not have time for parents in any compacity and if by chance you do acquire a meeting with the principal because an issue has arised she will tell you to transfer to another school. Overall, if you stay away from admin. the school is wonderful!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

The teachers at the school are awesome. It seems that parents want to be involved; however they are made to feel unwelcome. The principal is unfriendly as is the assistant principal. They are seem to feel that the parents and the children are a bother as opposed to the reason they are there. On the other hand, the teaching team is dedicated, innovative and cares deeply about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 82%
Hispanic 13%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%73%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17400 117th Drive North
Jupiter, FL 33478
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 741-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT