Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beacon Cove Intermediate School

Public | 3-5 | 921 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

Wow, so sad to read the reviews as our family has had the most fantastic experience with BCI. We have several children, & have been there for 6 continuous years & have found the teachers to be extremely generous with their time, giving to each of the students' individual needs, & find them very open minded about a wide range of issues from severe autisum to food allergies. Our family has seen nothing but compassion come from the teachers. We also feel the gifted program is not from the 1950's rather the classes seem to be from the future. These kids have done things in class where they think outside the box with a variety of lessons ranging from insulators & conductors, civil engineering, creating friction, solutions to chemical changes in varying states of matter. BCI produces kids who are capable of solving world problems, they run for office in the classroom, do speeches, & discuss ways the Earth can be saved in the future by using ideas from these very children! Some would say they were RARELY in their seats as they are creating, inventing, & thinking in groups around the classroom, science stations, or building futureistic inventions. For our family BCI gets an A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

Teachers are terrible! I have seen teachers screaming in a child's face as I was walking down the hallway. Teachers will recognize, praise and reward their favorites, and the rest of the students are ignored. Awards are given out fairly often, yet my son went there three years and never received one. He is an A student who follows the rules, but is ignored for some reason. Beacon Cove has made him feel he is not a worthy individual. I have two older children who were the teacher's "favorites" going through BCI, now I know why people complain about this school so much. My son is an ese student and has to attend speech class. I imagine this is why the teachers mistreat him so much. The immaturity level of these teachers is hard to believe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

We pulled our child out of this school after only a month and are happy we did. I can only speak of the gifted program, which is like a prison of fearful children sitting silently in desks all day long, cranking out worksheet after worksheet and following a militant set of rules enforced by fear tactics. There is absolutely no creativity, innovation, or modern methodologies happening here (we moved from an excellent school system in CT); it feels as if you have travelled back in time to the 1950s. The focus is FCAT prep, every day, year long. My daughter is a smart, social, and responsible child and her teachers here were literally crushing her spirit and love of learning. We moved to Benjamin School and she is thriving again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

I was not only happy about the location and cleanliness of this school but the staff and programs offered. Not only do they have the best after school care program EVER, the school's respect for each pupil, parent and teacher leaves much to be admired. I am so glad my son went there for 2 years and was not disappointed at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

I am truly unhappy with this school. My child is an 'A' 'B' student and also has ADD, tourette's and Tic disorder. While in the meetings, they sing praises, my child is constantly getting 'check marks' for bad behaviors, yet it's never brought to my attention. The teachers are all about the gossip and who's who and the principal has not been helpful whatsoever and in fact is very dismissive. I feel that the administration takes the word of one parent or child and runs with it instead of addressing it with the person involved. I cannot WAIT until the school year is over and we can leave that school once and for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

I have been fortunate enough to volunteer as a docent at the Flagler Museum in Palm Beach for 10 years now. This morning I took one of the 4th grade classes at Beacon Cove on a tour and was unusually impressed by not only their level of preparation and enthusiasm, but by their exemplary conduct , behavior and conversation. I found these children to be easily on a social/academic "par" with students at the very prestigious Benjamin School. I now must coerce my daughter into moving to Jupiter so that my grandsons might attend this extraordinary school.


Posted January 25, 2013

One should take the comments by a few disgruntled parents with a box of salt. One parent couldn't find one thing to praise and you should always be wary of that kind of comment. My son is now in fourth grade there and we have found it to be an extraordinary public school and certainly on par with most of the privates in the area. Terrific gifted program, caring teachers and administrators. The one drawback might be the After Care program. My son loved the After Care at Lighthouse Elementary, but was extremely unhappy with Beacon Cove, so we were forced to withdraw him. I have heard this from several parents. This should certainly be addressed. Otherwise, we have nothing but positive things to say about this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

I love this school! I am currently a gifted student in 5th grade and everything went well. My math and social studies scores got a lot better and the teachers are strict but great! Mr. Viera is the best teacher there.


Posted September 3, 2011

Completly unsatisfactory. Bad food, rude teachers, pay for overpriced extra curricular activities, long pick up and drop off waits,constant solicitation of money, no activities at recess, students asked to draw or talk while teacher "catches up on work", academics taught to FCAT(very basic), students punished for simple mistakes and common behaviour. All and all a toxic environment and one to commonly found in todays public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2011

Beacon Cove is a great school. The gifted program is phenomenal and all the teacher are great. The school is the best place to go for 3rd 4th and 5th grade, I can tell you that from personal experience.


Posted November 9, 2010

I am extreamly disappointed with my child's expierence at Beacon Cove. He went throught testing and is determined to in BOTH reading and math comprhension skills sit on a 6.8th grade level. He is very sensitive and his feeling are hurt very easily. He gets along with other adults better than he does his peers. He has some social issues and ADHD. I also see other children behaving the same way and even one student told my child in the lunchroom that he was going to punch him in the face. I teach him to tell his teacher when this happens and he did. He said his teacher replied to him "I didn't see it, there's nothing I can do about it". One of his classmates knows the Family Guy characters names. Not A rated as far as I am concerned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Everything works...terrific teachers, strong leadership, high academic standards and students who love to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

Best school around! After coming from a very advanced private school, I fit right in at BCI and the adjustment was simple. All of the teachers are amazing and school is fun. So many extra curricular activites! Super gifted program. Mrs. Hukill is the best there is, she knows every single student's name and is very positive and helpful. Send your child there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

BCI is THE top public school in the area (if not all of Florida.) I overheard other parents calling it the 'private public' school and that really about sums it up. From the uniforms to the high standards and challenging curriculum...this school is all that I hoped for as an educator/ parent. The quality of education seems to even surpass local private schools. The principal Mrs. Hukill is why this school is so good. Dedicated, nurturing, and strong...She cares, she is always there and her leadership abilities are remarkable. The teachers are superb and motivated to teach & inspire. The clubs and activities offered are many. Also, parental involvement high (awesome PTO.) Overall GREAT SCHOOL!I am very pleased and consider it a privilege to have my child attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2007

I highly recommend this school, the principal is well aware of all that goes on , and she doesn't tolerate any nonsense. The school really prepares the students for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

This school is amazing! I feel it all stems from the top. The principal is by far the best. She accepts what she expects, and that is excellence! My daughter was amazed Ms.Hukill knew her name within a few days of her being in school. Ms.Hukill is always smiling, always greeting the children in mornings and afternoons. I could see my daughter walk taller when she headed to class after Ms.Hukill just expressed to her how beautiful she looked on that particular day. My child was at her former school for 4 years and the principal never smiled, had no idea who she was, and was constantly stern with the children. The teachers at Beacon are phenomenal, and are always willing to help. They encourage and inspire, and I am thrilled to now be sending my second child through Beacon Cove!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

I attended Beacon Cove for 3rd grade, 4th and 5th grade, and I loved it. I met tons of friends, learned everything I needed to know for middle school, and truly made memories! The academics are fantastic, the extra curricular activities are amazing and the teachers are always willing to provide help. I believe although Physical Education is applied once a week, I belive it should be 2 or 3 times a week. Sometimes kids aren't able to get the adequate amount of exercise necessary to maintain a healthy body at home. I think students should have the privilege of getting exercise and an education all at the same place. I loved Beacon Cove and I know that any new-coming students will love it too! I would definitely recommend Mrs. Simmons!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 3, 2007

This is an incredible school. The principal makes certain that this is a very well run machine. The teacher/parent contact is tremendous and with EdLine there is no confusion where your child's grades stand. AAA+++ K. Williams
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2006

My son is in a gifted third grade class for 2005-2006 and it is wonderful! The teachers are top notch, the curriculum is challenging, and the extras are art, music, P.E., science/math lab, computer lab, and media. Since most of the kids in his class perform above grade level, the teachers don't have to stress the FCAT and can be more creative and add interesting material. There are few discipline problems in the class. There are many involved parents and the teachers have more than enough help. The principal is an excellent leader, supports the teachers, and is very accessible to parents and students. The school is safe and located in a nice neighborhood. After trying another local elementary school and a charter school, this school is by far the best in the area, in my opinion!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

Great school! My daughter went there all three years and absolutely loved all of her teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

296 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

297 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

308 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

318 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

318 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

318 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

337 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 75%
Hispanic 13%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 4%
Black 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%73%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LESLIE BOLTE
Fax number
  • (561) 366-6450

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

150 Schoolhouse Road
Jupiter, FL 33458
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 366-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sunshine Tree School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL




Marsh Pointe Elementary School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Batt Private School
Juno Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT