Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Independence Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1322 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, April 13, 2014

I am a current 7th grader at IMS, the school does have a bit of cons and some pros. After the new principle came in last year everything has changed there are more rules and consequences. The education is good except some teachers get mad if you don't understand the lesson (Math teachers mostly). The school has great academies (Pre-Business, Pre-Law, Pre-Medical, and Pre-Teacher). The is not that good but not horrible. And some teachers are great and some are not that......great. I have had some problems with some kids in my years and still with me today but not that bad. The bullying is not perfect either. But overall the school is pretty good (Way better than JMS your other selection).


Posted January 30, 2014

I am a current 6th grader at IMS. On my first day, the students and staff were very nice and understanding and it was easy to fit in. The lunch here is actually very good, and I prefer it. There are a lot of fights and a lot of bullies, but if you are a parent, don't even bother going to the Administration as they do not care.


Posted December 27, 2013

My daughter has attended IMS the last 2 and a half years. When she started IMS in 6th grade, I was scared for her...such a large campus, so many students, and so many children that emit such a sense of entitlement. I joined the PTO and volunteered as often as I could so that I was able to see how the school was run. The school has completely changed in a short period of time (we had a Principal leave and a new one come in at the end of 2012/2013 school year)...the school feels safer, the staff at the school seems to care much more than those at our local elementary schools (Beacon and LHES), and the teachers are all wonderful. (Don't get me wrong, there was a personality conflicts with a teacher, but that's bound to happen.) We have a wonderful PTO Board, a terrific group of parents that are members of the PTO and very involved in school and the SAC Committee, as well as a phenomenal Principal, A/P, and Guidance Counselor team. I have been very happy with the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2013

In 6th grade, I did not like IMS at all, but looking back as a 9th grader, my last two years there were fantastic. The transition was a little difficult to get used to but after a while, I fit right in. There is a moderate amount of bullying, and the administration really is not helpful in that area at all, but if you know who to avoid, you will be fine. Most of the teachers there are fantastic. The cafeteria food isn't gourmet or anything, but it expectable for a public school. The academics are great, and each of the academies there are wonderful, (especially Pre-law and Pre-Teacher). Overall I had a very positive experience at Independence. Looking back now, I miss it so much, and almost wish I was still going there. Take it from a student, this school is great. Most of these other reviews are from people who had bad experiences (mostly parents). It actually is a pretty good school, and I felt very comfortable there. (It's also MUCH nicer than JMS, your other alternative.)


Posted September 10, 2013

I attended this school for about a week and a half last year and was bullied from the start. I walked into P.E. and an eighth grader just started cursing at me. On top of that I was placed in a math class with All the kids week had been in the "advanced" math class (I had been in gifted- but there is no gifted math) which contained me and about 29 other students who hadn't been in the gifted program (& I had a perfect score in math the previous year.) A majority of these students had attended the same elementary school as I and had bullied me there! Nobody would allow me to sit with them in lunch claiming that they "were saving those seats". My mother and I then had a meeting with the assistant for 7th grade (the sixth grade one wasn't available) who said she would"find a friend for me". She did not. Finally after constantly begging my parents I was allowed to transfer back to Catholic School. I would not recommend sending your child to This school unless the only thing that matters to them is popularity.


Posted September 6, 2013

Nice school! Only con is that the laptops are dated. Teachers are great! Good pre med and pre law programs!


Posted June 23, 2012

What a mistake!! from day one he was being bullied. Started on the school bus, then into the school itself. Contacted the School administration the First day about this via e-mail and never received a response back, the pushing - shoving continued. The only thing that happened is the liason officer came on the Bus and stated the over crowding can't be helped and they are watching everyone on the Bus. In school the kids would make fun of him because of his name. Open his back pack laugh at him when everything fell out on the floor. At lunch no one would let him sit at the lunch tables, stating it's saved and then nobody sits there. How would that make you feel. Finally I went to the School and demanded a meeting with the school counselor. The meeting went well, promises where made to have him matched up with another student, also for someone to sit with him during lunch. Wow, It happened only one time. No improvements to anything. His grades went from A's to F's. Depression set in and as parents saw him slide so bad he did not want to go to School. STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCHOOL! They have Bully problems and say they care. This is an A rated school REALLY! P.S. we moved back to Wi
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

Hello, I am a current 8th grader at independence. This school is a little too strict and kind of treats us like elementary school kids. The food here isn't as great. The education is alright but sometimes the teachers get mad when I don't understand the lesson. What is good about this school is there is hardly ever any fights. But bullying happens quite a lot. The kids here are a little bit mean. They will give you dirty looks or say something mean if they hear a rumor or two. Even though this school can improve on something. I wouldn't go to any other school but this one because I have a lot of middle school memories now.


Posted August 31, 2011

I am a seventh grade student and I came to this school in the middle of the year last year from Cincinnati Ohio. The kids at this school were not very friendly to me and cussed A LOT which is completely different than my schools in Ohio. The teachers were pretty nice but never informed me on what I needed to know about the school or their classrooms. The school also took a long long time to put me into gifted. I was gifted up in Ohio but for some reason they would not except my gifted testing down in Florida, so they told me that I would have to take it again. I was okay with this until I realized that they would not be testing me until 7th grade. Why it would take them so long, I have absolutely no idea. So my mother payed for me to get tested over the summer and I was once again identified as gifted. Now I am a gifted seventh grader and it has become a lot easier. The group of people in gifted are all together nicer in my experience than those in regular, but I have met some really nice regular students that are still my friends to this day. All in all I don't think that there is anything special about this school or that it is bad. It is just plain average.


Posted July 18, 2011

My son also had a terrible time with the bullying at IMS!!! Nothing, absolutely nothing was done by the school police or the principal. The teachers had another student walk w/him from class to class as much as possilbe. There was NO, ABSOLUTELY NO ZERO TOLERENCE for bullying @ IMS! I pulled him out in the middle of Feb. 2010 because it was so bad! So he did all of 6th and half of 7th - I cried just about every time I dropped him off. He was depressed and had social anxiety. We live in North Palm and I had to drive him because the buses were so overcrowded and the kids from Riviera Beach were so prejudice, they were always picking on the white kids!! We hated IMS! Hate dit!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

my name is Nery, my Sons name is David he is in 7th grade- the reason why I tranferred my son IMS is becuase he was bullied at Howell L Watkins middle twice. since my son started IMS I have not had any telephone calls from his teachers, student counselor or the AP to discuss my son's grade, on the contrary all telephone calls I have received is to inform me that my son had to be picked up because he was given a referrral by Mr. Alli his reading coach (not the teacher to my knowledge before giving referrals there has to be parent/teacher conference. the last day of school I received another call from the school principal i was very irrate went to the school requested to speak with the principal she did not come to talk to me said she would call me as now now I am still waiting for her call. my son will be repeating the 7th grade. I believe that if the teacher would have shown more insterest to my son he would have done excellent. the teacher that constantly gave referral her name is ms. ali, why was she the ony one to give referrals? makes me wonder if she just did not like my son
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

our 1st year at IMS. 7th grade. my child is adhd and the teachers seem to be very receptive to helping my child stay on task and following through with the IEP. i am in constant contact with them about my child. bullying has been an issue and i don't think enough is done to deter it. there needs to be a no tolerance policy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

Independence Middle School is a great school! The teachers are nice and the principal cares. The teachers help you do your best. There is bullying but, this year the principal is stopping it. She is spreading awareness all over the school to help. I reccomend this school to all students if you want a safe and educational school!


Posted April 8, 2010

IMS is ok i came in the middle of the year in 6th grade and took band it hass such a good band teacher even though i hope it stays that way because mr sonntag is leaving this year and i hope we have a good teacher also the dress code is soo riduculis it is crazy there are no good and cute collared shirts for girls unless ur willing to pay 40 for one at the mall the teachers are 2 out of 5 the adcanced classes are barely any different than the regular classes there is alot of cussing in that skool to but overall it is ok
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2010

Being a 6th grader at IMS, I was coming into middle school with my head held high.The first day of school, I had my schedule changed to PE. I am NOT an athletic person at all and my mother igned the applicable opt-out-of-gym form and yet I still got gym. The first day I was put in all regular when I was supposed to be in FULL GIFTED!!! Another thing that was kind of annoying is the dress code. I mean collars. I have some adorable tops and they ARE school appropriate and they have sleeves but NO i cant wear the because they dont have a collar attached to them. But the upside is all of my teachers are WONDERFUL!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2009

this school is really good. the teaches are nice and the eighth graders are not mean and there is hardly any fighting going on.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2009

love this school clean and nice and the teachers and students are all great
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2009

I go 2 IMS (Independence Middle School),7th grade, and i think that IMS is one of the best schools ive been to! The teachers there care about the students and how well they do no matter what! I would reccomend IMS to any student! GO IMS EAGLES!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2009

Not all of the teachers take into account if a student has a special need such as ADHD and assist them accordingly; it's a huge school and the kids are basically 'on their own to sink or swim'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

When my son was getting ready to enter the 6th grade I was not sure about IMS. I had heard mixed reviews, but the majority of the negative feedback was related to the then-principal. In the end we elected to have our son attend IMS and I can say 6th grade was a real adjustment, not due to the school, just due to the change from elementary. Now that we have a new principal with an amazing reputation the school has improved remarkably and this year my 7th grader is thriving. The rest of the administration is great, we really like our A.P. and have been lucky with most of the teachers. We did have one teacher we weren't very happy with early in the year, but we nipped it in the bud by speaking to the administration and the problem was resolved. This is a top-notch school. Highly recommend!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

425 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

424 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

458 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

402 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

397 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
89%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 15% 29%
Black 5% 23%
Asian 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%73%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Lori Bonino
Fax number
  • (561) 799-7505

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
Girls sports
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4001 Greenway Dr
Jupiter, FL 33458
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 799-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Jupiter Academy
Jupiter, FL


Watson B. Duncan Middle School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT