Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dixie M. Hollins High School

Public | 9-12 | 1750 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, September 18, 2014

I like this school the second best ive been to only because i had so many close livelt friends at one i went to for two years i havent been to any school for too long but this one is good exceptthe controlling teachers i dont like being controlled ive been to many strict schools with less things you are allowed but ive never felt so criticized in my life. One teacher made me cry roday ive never been so humiliated in my life heisnt very nice in general not saying a name but he seriously needs better communication skills hes not very friendly i dont feel i belong in his class i feel he personally hates me i dont think ive mwt such a rude person in my life i had a really nice teacher here he cares so much for me in my first period class it makes me happy but then i got crushed in the other guys class why did i thought people who like animals are friendlybut clearly not i thought i had very friendly teachers who loved me at the school i went to before this one. But i dont feel so much love here by the teachers but i do the students like i cant enjoy it if a teacher makes me cry.


Posted June 18, 2014

We were so pleased with our child's experience as a freshman at Dixie Hollins this past year. He was part of the Cambridge program, which offered him great, stimulating classes that are as good as any IB or AP classes, and perhaps better. His class in the Graphic Arts magnet program was amazing. He learned so much and was inspired to stay after school frequently to work on independent projects with other graphic arts students and the teacher, who gave willingly and unselfishly of his time. My high praise goes to Dr, Evans, the relatively new principal, who is doing amazing things at this high school. I believe it is a school to watch, and that the "4" rating it currently has will change soon. There's still a rough element there, but if your child is part of Cambridge and/or one of the other magnets and is a motivated student, s/he will do just great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2013

Dixie offers a variety of classes which is great. You don't need to be in Cambridge to take their courses, you can take AP, Honor, whatever. Dixie is getting better and better, we are improving and soon we'll probably be an A school :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2010

I love the wonderful teachers and the ROTC program.. Our pricipal Mr. Evans is such an enthusiastic person and so supported of all the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

This school and staff are making a huge turn-around. My kids love this high school, it has many different choices. My son wanted to drop out after attending another high school. After enrolling him at Dixie, he is on track to graduate and has a renewed interest and looks forward to school. The teachers have been great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2009

I'm a Freshman at Dixie and I love it. I think it's one of the best Pinellas County High Schools there are. Some people look down on Dixie for its low test scores and laid back environment, but they're really working hard to improve that. There are a select few teachers I believe shouldn't work here, because they try TOO hard to improve the school by buckling down 100% in their classrooms. And one teacher, my favorite teacher, who has basically no rules, is the teacher with the most respect. I think any child here would love it. It's incredibly easy to make friends, and there's a diverse group of people. Definitely send your kids here. The only con I have is lunch. All the students having the same lunch makes it very crowded, and as a result of that you have to wait for a while to get food. =/
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2009

I love dixie :) im a sophomore this year and my freshman year was amazing thanks to marching band the music program is amazing :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2009

I actually like this school. My daughter is an honor student and is very happy at Dixie. She did not want to go to her neighborhood high school because of all the fights and cliques. She feels much safer here because of the outdoor layout. She says kids are monitored by specialists in golf carts and get to where a scene might happen very quickly. Socially, there seem to be fewer problems at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

This school has an outstanding learning environment! When my parents signed me up for Dixie Hollin, I thought that I was going to hate my highschool years. Though this is what I went into my freshmen year believing, I was mistakes. Thank you Dixie staff and students for making school memories so great and new friends so easy to make!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2008

My daughter has been going to Dixie Hollins for almost 3 years. I believe it is an amazing school. Ever since she started attending this school, her grades have improved along with her responcibility. She also has had much less drama then the high school i pulled her out of. Teachers at dixie are very on top of things, and helpful in the learning environment. My next 2 children will both go to dixie. I hope your child is lucky enough to have this experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

I am pleased with my daughter's first year at Dixie. The kids do not seem as cliquey as other schools and some teachers are seasoned enough to consider good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

Many good career paths and opportunities are offered through the school. The student body is for the most part welcoming, and there are many qualified teachers. Courses are offered up to AP level, and dual enrollment is offered
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2007

The administration isn't effective in driving student success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

Could improve counseling services, no college scholarship help, plus the drop out program math and science classes do not qualify as college bound courses. It seems football players and those in trouble get the most attention and help, average kids aren't helped much, The school has all sorts of special programs, not sure how much these help students or if the classes just take up space on a 4 x 4 schedule. My next child will not go to here./
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2006

I don't know why the school has a below test scores on the FCAT. I don't care what the school looks like, what is important is the studentsThe money should have gone into the school programs and not how the school looks like. If they really want ot to be a good school then they should do the things so that it is not a D school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

Great school! They keep the school looking the best they can. Clean and well maintained. Good sports teams. They some great teachers who really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 22, 2004

Excellent JROTC program, Large spacious campus kept clean as possible with student numbers high, buildings are early 1960 style of red brick, Staff is friendly and approachable, willing to help students reach highest expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

My child has attended Dixie for the past three years. Dixie has my child in a drop out prevention program called 'GOALS', my child is college bound and motivated to be succesful. Kudos to the teaching staff, I am impressed. As you review the FCAT stats and comparison percentages take in account that state legislature has raised testing scores to pass, lowered credit standards to graduate, and asking the public to revote on the smaller class size amendment passed by voters over a year ago. To me as a Dixie parent, Dixie has out scored the state legislature, hands down. As for my child, in my eyes, watch out state legislators, a Dixie Rebel is inbound.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2003

My daughter is involved in ROTC as well as Cross Country. I would be more concerned about her social contact had she not been involved in such activities. She is doing well, but could do better with more effort on her part.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

479 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

437 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

440 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

389 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
24%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

414 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
57%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

294 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
49%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

317 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Hispanic 17%
Black 11%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 70%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%60%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 5%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Sign
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:05
School end time
  • 1:27
School Leader's name
  • MR. DANIEL J EVANS
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Fax number
  • (727) 547-7727

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Sign
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag Football
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4940 62nd Street North
Kenneth City, FL 33709
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 547-7876

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Five Oaks Christian Academy
Pinellas Park, FL


Ese Countywide
Pinellas Park, FL


Nina Harris Ese Center
Pinellas Park, FL


Northside Christian School
St. Petersburg, FL



Gulf Coast Christian School
Fort Walton Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT