Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public district
Key Biscayne, FL
Students enrolled: 1,430
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Key Biscayne K-8 Center 1

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
1.Overcrowded 2. Most teacher not interested in helping students succeed 3. Discipline through grades 4. No empathy 5. No sports

Key Biscayne K-8 Center
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
They are overwhelmed and most are going through the motions. Very little empathy and not overly concerned on helping kids succeed


Key Biscayne K-8 Center
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
Not a very nurturing environment. School is so overcrowded that teachers discipline through grades in order to maintain some control.

Key Biscayne K-8 Center 1

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
Key Biscayne is a great place to live if you have children, but the school is overcrowded, teachers from elementary ESOL program( children that are learning to speak english) are very rude, yell a lot and the principal will do nothing about it. I would never recommend this school! Can't wait for the school to finish to get my children out of there.
4 people found this helpful

Key Biscayne K-8 Center 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
My experience with the school was with the ALL DAY Gifted Program (All day CATS), the program uses the non bilingual score to allow access to the program. It is the best kept secret. Classes are small, teachers are really trained to teach the gifted. (children who learn fast without repetition.). Teachers encouraged the children to work in teams and spend more time in creative activities, experiments, etc.. The quality of the teachers in this specific program is outstanding. This program is geared towards children who can learn independently, quickly and well. When evaluated, the children in the program perform at three or four grades above their level. Hard to find something equivalent unless one goes to a private school, and even then..... However, if your child is not 130 or above, he/she will not be able to keep up or remain in the program, the amount of independent reading could be overwhelming for some. A child can be at the top of the class in a regular classroom with two hours of gifted and be totally frustrated in this highly competitive environment. The group forms an incredible bond. Parents and incredibly caring and cooperative. Principle and PTA are amazing.


Key Biscayne K-8 Center 4

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
Good school but cannot be compared with schools in Broward or Pinecrest. Private evaluations for CATS are always reviewed by school counselors and are not the only criteria for a child to be placed in CATS! Some teachers at this school are great and some are not so good regardless of CATS. In my opinion the best teachers of this school are not teaching gifted. The principal is amazing.
2 people found this helpful

Key Biscayne K-8 Center 2

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
Dirty, teachers who don't want to be there, lack of hands on teaching, overcrowded with children who do not even live in region, overcrowded CATs classes filled with unqualified children who's parents have paid private testing to get them in. This school maintains a top rating due to parents paying for private tutors rather then the teachers. Saying that there are a few brilliant teachers at the school who work hard with little support.
6 people found this helpful

Key Biscayne K-8 Center 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
I LOVE THIS SCHOOL VERY MUCH AND I GREATLY RECOMMEND IT. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A PUBLIC SCHOOL TO SEND YOUR CHILD, THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE BEST ONE.
1 person found this helpful


Key Biscayne K-8 Center 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
I am a new mom to this school but my family is already loving it. The school principal and teachers show to be deeply involved in the school happenings, there's great communication to keep parents updated with school information, I love the community involvement in the school, the interest of parents in the school's performance, progress and improvements.
1 person found this helpful

Key Biscayne K-8 Center 5

Posted May 11, 2013
- a community member
I think it is essential that prospective residents & parents realize there is an effort by a local parent, Manny Cambo, to convert this school to a Charter School. This is why you see so many negative reviews below. You can read about his position in the Herald if you Google "Manny Cambo". I find it extremely unethical to see a local resident jeopardizing home values to promote a personal agenda.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Key Biscayne K-8 Center
150 West McIntyre Street, Key Biscayne, FL  33149
(305) 361-5418
Last modified Key Biscayne K-8 Center is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Key Biscayne K-8 Center Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top