Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mast Academy

Public | 9-12 | 839 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

94 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

We provide reading coaches and tutoring activities. Teachers take professional development to tackle these sort of issues and many are ESOL accredited. Also, a good proportion of our teachers have passed the FELE accreditation and are approved administrators, hence they are knowledgeable about accommodations and opportunities for teachers. We also work closely and an on weekly basis with the counselors,
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 21, 2013

I'm a student here, and the environment is incredible, the teachers and staff are dedicated. Teachers and students are a lot closer than in normal schools offering a more personal learning experience which makes it easier for any student to do good in school. I'm enjoying my time in this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2013

My daughter just transferred from a private school and the academic standards are very high. When you walk around the school you get a sense of high energy and love of school from its students. The curriculum is tilted towards the science, my daughter has 3 science classes this year. So far, she likes it... so I like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

I had the worst expirience with the principal and staff at MAST. My child was suffering and being bullied daily at this school. We complained to the school and nothing was done. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

I detest this school. The entire educational system is horrible. I never learned anything in this school. Unfortunately, I am not struggling in college. I definitely regret the decisions my parents made, they ruined my high school experience. I would not recommend this school at all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 31, 2012

I definitely detest this school. The teachers are absolutely horrible. To be quite honest, I learned nothing throughout high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2011

I love this school and would recommend it to any hardworking student. Also remember GO MAKOS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2011

Why are so m any of the reviews written in October 2009? They seemed all written by the same person. Even the use of caps and quick one-two line reviews. Who wrote them?


Posted September 9, 2010

Great school. Unfortunately not for the adjacent communities such as Key Biscayne or Brickell. Ver few people know MAST, although located in Key Biscayne, is not the public high school for Key Biscayne residents. For whatever reason, Key Biscayne residents are still asked to attend Coral Gables Senior High School, a mediocre - "C-" rated school" located 11 miles away from their community..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

It fully prepared me to enter college. I am in my first semester at UCF and I find that most of my classes are with uppper classmen. The teachers and staff at MAST Academy are fully committed to the students and want nothing more than for them to succeed. This dedication and devotion to excellence is why I'm proud to say I attended MAST.


Posted October 29, 2009

it is by far the best high school in the country. the teachers and staff are just amazing people. the atmosphere is fun and easy to learn in. MAST is number one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2009

MAST Academy is a great high school that prepares students to get ready for college from their first day in school. We have three kids, our oldest graduated last year from Mast and doing really good in college. The other two are attending the same school and we only can say really good things about the faculty, the staff and the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Small, safe school. Motivated faculty, staff and student body. Great, scenic location. Lots of technology! Swimming and kayaking for PE? Lunch on the patio by the bay. MAST Blast, lock-in, walking field trips! No uniforms. Really cool teachers. Smart and talented students. Tons of scholarship $$ for graduates. Yeah, it's worth the sacrifice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I am a mentor to several students and I am impressed with the quality of the students who I have worked with from MAST
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Callenges student's minds to a higher level of understanding
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

MAST is a wonderful, different highschool with more to offer than the state budget allows. A little extra money could go a long way
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2009

An amazing school, with many unique qualities. Physical Education offers a wide variety of sports while the classes offered are also a very large selection. Clubs offered range from National Honors Society all the way to salsa club. Great teachers, intelligent students, and just over all an amazing school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2009

This school promotes a great standard of education. Some of my peers have graudated from this school and have excelled in their respective fields of study due to the initial educational foundation set by this school.


Posted October 21, 2009

I love Mast Academy because of the care and concern about every student getting a better education and that every child could go to college if it is what they want with working hard and setting goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

MAST is a jewel. The model should be followed across the nation. Unique classes, small school size and 100% graduation rates are just some of the 'yeah I'm tooting my own horn!' toots. MAST rocks in a district that struggles in many areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

258 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

199 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

199 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

143 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 65%
White 24%
Black 7%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 100%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%58%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 7%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JANE M GARRAUX
Fax number
  • (305) 361-0996

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Water polo
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Water polo
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3979 Rickenbacker Causeway
Key Biscayne, FL 33149
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 365-6278

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT