Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Poinciana Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 657 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2014

POORLY TRAINED STAFF, PRISONER MENTALITY IN INSTRUCTION AND DISCIPLINE, COMPLACENT WITH BULLYING. SCHOOL LUNCHES LOOK LIKE THEY WERE SAVED FROM THE DEPRESSION.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2014

This is the best school I have ever been to I moved from Oklahoma about 4. Years ago my aunt (Michelle) put me in school. I moved in 2011 to go to sugarloaf elementary but I didn't really like it there poinciana tought me my multiplication,how to write in cursive,and how to spell big words like(Encyclopedia) they tought me that when I was in 4tg grade. That is how amazing poinciana elementary school is. bobbi deppe


Posted October 10, 2013

This is a school that is just like any other school in today modern education system. it has it's pro's and con's. The teachers here are Excellent and personal with you and your children- as if you are family. The reading and math scores seemed to have dropped significantly. I am not sure that we can point fingers at the school, and teachers per say or maybe it's the parents, or our modern day technologically distracted society. Either way Schools educated our children much better when I was in school which was in the 80's-90's. The technology advances are great it's the book work that should remain original. My child is handling advanced mathematical concepts in 2nd grade, but she can't comprehend the most basic mathematical principles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2007

The quality of the teachers and the administration staff is profound. They really show they care about their students and always keep in contact with parents regarding the achievements of their children and where they can help strengthen their children's learning skills. I'm grateful my children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

The teachers need way more training in dealing with ESE kids. Ones with reading and math issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

This is my daughters last year there. I can not wait for it to be over! We have had some the worst teachers I have ever met. I am glad this year is over
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

I wish they would increase the science and social studies projects at the 2nd grade level. This seems to be a weak area in the curriculum. My child had very little homework in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2005

Very good school, however some security issues are a concern. Principle is not experienced enough yet to handle the daily routines of the schools. Teachers are pleasant, but there is a strong system of the buddy system in the school to allow a child to pass or get away with anything because someone is related someone in the education system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2005

Challenging academics. Good parent involvement. Building is old and gloomy. Dedicated staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 41%
White 37%
Black 15%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 164%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 212%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%55%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. CHRISTINA MCPHERSON
Fax number
  • (305) 293-1667

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1407 Kennedy Drive
Key West, FL 33040
Phone: (305) 293-1630

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grace Lutheran
Key West, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT