Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,538 students|Osceola
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westside K-8 School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Milkanin is amazing! Thank you for teaching my daughter. She absolutely loved being in your class!

Westside K-8 School 5

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
I transferred my student from an A+ Charter School to Westside K-8. My daughter had a far better experience at Westside. Her teacher was amazing & actually taught her students rather than put on a U-tube video on teach like the other school did. Don't only pay attention to the rating systems when choosing a school. The A+ school was so focused on keeping their A+ status, they forgot to teach the students. Most of her lessons were sent home as homework where the parents were asked to teach. Westside actually teaches the curriculum. My daughter did far better at Westside. She can't wait to go back!


Westside K-8 School 4

Posted May 16, 2016
- a community member
Most teachers I have made contact with about my son are very quick to respond. Every experience with them has been a positive one.

Westside K-8 School 1

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
My sons started mid year and I had to fight to meet the teachers before they started school. I never heard from the teachers at all. No papers came home, no emails or calls from them. Impossible to reach when I had questions. The school does not take kindly to parent involvement. The front office lady is terribly rude and not welcoming at all. So happy to be moving them to a different school.

Westside K-8 School 2

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Our grandson has been at Westside since 2010 there has been nothing but problems. Bullying stealing his lunch just being obnoxious. The kids are horrible and administration does nothing. God forbid you complain about being bullied your child is punished as well as the bully, fair I think not. There are 2 deans 2 assistant principals and 1 principal but not one will make an effort to help or try to resolve the problems.


Westside K-8 School 5

Posted May 17, 2015
- a parent
My son is currently an 8th grader at Westside. Even though he started late in the school year, he feels he'd been there for many years. He loves his school and his teachers. Whenever he is out due to medical reasons, I email his teachers and get the material he missed. Also, there is a variety of activities that take place after school for parents to get involved. Kids are a reflection of their home, if you teach your child values, he/she will not have any problem at school.

Westside K-8 School 5

Posted May 17, 2015
- a parent
My child has been at Westside for 4 years. There have been a lot of staff changes but many middle school teachers have remained the same. My child enjoys school and likes his classes/teachers. He especially likes the sports teams, band, and tsa. The school outs on dances and other fun activities for the kids. They had a really nice carnival with real rides last year and my child tells me there will be another one at the end of this year. We like Westside... Hoping Celebrarion high school will be just as nice.

Westside K-8 School 1

Posted January 27, 2015
- a parent
I have two children whom attend this school a first grader and a kindergartner. This school is absolutely ridiculous. They make you feel as if you are unwanted and unwelcome to participate in your child's education. I have had nothing but problems with this school from day one. I receive calls everyday stating one or more buses are late or broke down. The teachers are not in the classroom half the times and instead of finding proper substitute teachers for the kid, the classes of the absent teachers are split in half and one half goes to another teachers room and the other half goes to another teachers room. The are inadequately staffed and funded. A school run such as this one needs to be shut down and the kids relocated to a facility that has the time and resources to teach our care for our children. For a school that has 4 head deans you would think it would be properly staffed and funded. The school looks nice from the outside but looks can be deceiving.


Westside K-8 School 2

Posted December 26, 2014
- a parent
The teacher feedback needs improvement and many of the teachers don't use modern teaching methods. If you ask them for information, there is no adequate response in most cases (6th grade). The teachers are not held accountable to a high standard of teaching or to improving the students ability.

Westside K-8 School 1

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Aweful School and aweful Office Assistants No Customer Service at all ! The "Addistant Principals" are two people that are not good with people..never return calls

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westside K-8 School
2551 Westside Boulevard, Kissimmee, FL  34747
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (407) 390-1748
Last modified Westside K-8 School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top