Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


City of Life Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2015
- a student
It is a Medicore school. Everyone who have said to have such and outstanding time is a part of the church.

City of Life Christian Academy 2

Posted July 31, 2015
- a student
I have attended City of Life (Heartland) since kindergarten - 12th grade. I can say with much experience that this school is terrible. The teachers are fake, the staff is as well. PLEASE do not waste your child's time throwing their education out the door by attending this school. This school is very mediocre. Example: If you do not attended their church/school than you are not important to anyone there. I never imagined a Christian School to be so fake. It is so sad. They need to close down that school. The teachers/staff have no manners on and off the campus. The school allows church members to work for them as teachers so that they don't have to waste any of the Church's money. All you need is an A.A degree. (THAT IS NOT ENOUGH) Looking back from all these years since I graduated City of Life Christian Academy, it was such a poor experience and they do not prep you for college. I pray parents read this before enrolling their child. Your child is too precious and important to be enrolled in this terrible school. Please meditate, pray about it. - City of Life graduate 2013


City of Life Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 31, 2015
- a student
They are so rude. They talk, dress and act very unprofessional. Such a disappointment and humiliation

City of Life Christian Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 31, 2015
- a student
Not enough school work is given out. They do not prepare the students for college.

City of Life Christian Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2015
- a student
Not at all. I wish the school made a poll for every student to evaluate the school. I grantee it would score so low.


City of Life Christian Academy
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted July 31, 2015
- a student
They treat us terrible. They want us to believe there is no place safe than City of Life

City of Life Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2015
- a student
They do not care about you if you do not attended the church. You must attend the church and school to be important there.

City of Life Christian Academy 1

Posted August 23, 2014
- a community member
I have gone to this school for 6years and this school is absolutely terrible. The teachers have absolutely no idea how to teach and the curriculum is really bad. When it comes to the teacher staff their where only two good teachers. The rest didnt know what they where talking about or they just didnt know how to teach it. The principle dr.harkema thinks she has the whole school under control when in reality they have no clue what is going on. And when the school says they're going to do something you'd expect them to do it but this school does just the opposite. All in all I would not recommend this school to anyone unless you want to throw your education down the drain.


City of Life Christian Academy 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a community member
City of Life Christian Academy is an incredible school! As alumni, I can say with first-hand experience that the care the teachers give is individual and genuine. I loved having teachers pray for & with me and I appreciated being known by all the staff - even those I didn't interact with on a daily basis. Now, still being involved in the school I love seeing how much more it offers for sports, drama, and academic competitions. There is a range of scholarships available for all types of students, which helps so many families in our community. Children don't have to "miss out" on anything by attending a private school, and in fact, gain so much from the community it creates. I love how the school and church are so well connected. This connection creates opportunities that an average student may not receive. I am proud to be alumni and am grateful for all the students that COLCA is impacting now.

City of Life Christian Academy 1

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
This is a terrible school. They Baker Acted my child based on what another child said and without consulting me or having me present when the cops took her away. My child is an exemplary student and a loving child. She told her "friend" how she wanted to die when she got old which was to not suffer from cancer for a long time like her grandfather. This was misconstrued into my daughter being suicidal and the rumor passed on to the police without even consulting me or my daughter or allowing me to talk to my daughter before they took her to the mental hospital. On top of this, no one at the school or church will talk to me about what happened to my daughter that day. They are couple good teachers at that school, but overall I would not trust them with my children. I pulled my child out of this school. They also have an online account to keep track of payments and charges. They freely at will charge parents for anything they feel like. A day in advance they will charge for something that I didn't even ok. They charge for field trips even if your child doesn't go on them. They have a lot of fees and I always have to pay for something. One star is too much of a credit for this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

City of Life Christian Academy
2874 E Irlo Bronson Memorial, Kissimmee, FL  34744
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (407) 847-5184
Last modified City of Life Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top