Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Renaissance Charter School At Poinciana

Charter | K-8 | 906 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2014

Agree with the parent who commented below about this school being a joke. Most of the faculty that I have encountered are very rude and unprofessional. My son is an average student and works hard, but has struggled this year. My son is in Middle School and he is really struggling in Math this year. The Middle School Math Teacher really hasn't found his niche yet I don't think. I can't say for certain, but I met up with him (the teacher) and I though I smelled alcohol on the teacher's breath. I was afraid to bring this up and make a false claim and then fear that the faculty would treat my son differently. Next year - New School! Hopefully Better Experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

My family and I relocated to florida a few years back. My children was attending public school here in florida when one of the teachers recommended my children be enrolled in a charter school in their words it was a better school system that would challenge my children for they were advanced for their grade level. Long story short I jumped at the opportunity to enroll both my children to RCS. Biggest mistake ever!! Not only do my children get bullied by other students but some staff members as well. From having honor roll students I now have children who struggle acedemically due to the bullying and not wanting to participate in class so they won't get made fun of. Where I came from the school system had strict rules and had a anti-bullying policy that was enforced. RCA just ignores the problem. Their is no example for these children to follow. Staff members openly comments about other staff members and parents out in the open and at one point I overheard a staff member comment on a student after she rudely yelled at her to go to class. I did not know staff members were given the authority to speak to and speak of children in this manner. What a disgrace of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

Renaissance Charter School- Poinciana is a money making business. My son made honor roll throughout the entire year, but believe me, It wasn't because he was a genius, the school was not challenging at all and when I compared their 2nd grade curriculum to RCE, it was a joke. Not to add that the school made a D" on the 2012 FCAT and got rid of 14 teachers who were obviously not qualified. As for my son, he is back to RCE an A" rated school and is struggling in math and reading because he did not master any of the things he was suppose to learn in 2nd grade at this charter school. Yes, my son is also bilingual, but it is not about learning Spanish. What use is to know another language when you are struggling with core subjects. Foreign language is not going to help you pass the state FCAT and definitely Renaissance Charter School either. More than 30% of the kids were taken out by their parents and reenrolled in the public school system. So sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

So far I am very happy with the school. The main reason I enrolled my child here was spanish. I could've enroll her to Reedy Creek an A school but for us it is very important that she learns Spanish. We are in Florida and we are surrounded by spanish people. We really want our children to have the same chances in life with the kids that learn spanish home. It is always Rosseta Stones for how wants to learn mandarin. Unfortunately Florida require s spanish. Thumb up for RCS at Poinciana.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

I love the charter school system and I was excited to have my child attend this school..but it doesn't have any school bus transportation and if you don't live close to the school it's a drive to get there (25mins for me) which I would do if my other kids didn't get out of school the same time as Renassiance..hopefully the school could fix that problem or even better have openings for elem grade levels so my children can attend school together
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

I cannot agree more that we need to focus on ENGLISH! Our children struggle to read/write English let alone adding another language. If we are going to add another language there should be a choice! Comparing European schools to American schools is comparing apples & oranges. European system is set up completely different than ours. I am so sick of having the Spanish agenda shoved down my throat. I speak fluent French because that was my choice in school. If we are to compete with foreign markets then let's teach our kids a language that would actually assist them in competing in those markets. Spanish more certainly is not a language that would assist us in this endeavor. How about Mandarin or Japanese. Those countries are currently kicking our tails in just about every area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

I am a parent of a 6th grade student and I am HIGHLY dissatisfied with this school. They promote themselves as being above the public school standards and truly focused on the student's achievement, but that is not ANYTHING like our experience with this school. Most of the teachers are subpar, disorganized, and unprofessional. One of the teachers uses foul language on a daily basis, even toward the students. There is no library, or even textbooks. They opened the school telling everyone that they would receive a laptop or ipad, but it never happened (lies to boost enrollment numbers) so they were left without resources. Administration is less than professional. I cannot speak for other grade levels, but for the middle school level, if your experience turns out like mine, you would do your child a great disservice to enroll them in this school. My child had been an ideal student through elementary school & even received the president's award at her 5th grade graduation. She has never had behavioral issues. It is a beautiful school, and I wish I had more nice things to say about it, but I would not recommend this school to ANYONE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

To that I say why don't you move to Europe? Why? Why should our American English speaking schools have to prioritize teaching our children a different language? Has it ever occured to you that maybe some parents would prefer for their children to excel in english and not have to learn a 2nd language? Instead of putting our schools down, why don't you teach them yourself if you want it taught so badly? I think our schools have done a good job beefing up their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

You are right. We are from South America, so we speak spanish to our children home. Unfortunately we were hoping them also to learn how to read and spell in Spanish. Schools should make it a priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 61%
Black 17%
White 17%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/AN/A
Female 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 97%60%61%
Master's degree 3%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. JODI EVANS
Fax number
  • (407) 518-9047

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5125 Robert McLane Boulevard
Kissimmee, FL 34758
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 569-0639

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Pleasant Hill Academy
Kissimmee, FL



Peace Lutheran School
Kissimmee, FL


Peace Lutheran School
Kissimmee, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT