Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cypress Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 725 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

Really Good The Teachers Are Nice And Its Fun But Dont Try To Make The Teachers Angry Though :P


Posted May 17, 2010

Teachers and staff at Cypress Elementary are the best. They have a special love and caring attitude towards all students They are very professional at everything they do with he children and the parents. Cypress is a very safe place to send your child and the teachers go out of their way to teach your children and these teachers dig deep into their pockets to make sure children have everything needed to give them the best education. The teachers at Cypress are strong, but caring and lovable to all children no matter what nationality they are from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

The Principal and the staff are amazing. The principal goes above and beyond with these kids. I see the love and care she has for each and every one of them. She is always looking for ways to improve the school, the teachings and make it a fun place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

I have been amazed by the teachers and staff at this school. The principal and assistant principal, however, work against the teachers and do not act in the best interest of students. They act very unprofessional when they think no one is looking. Please replace them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

love the school staff are great with the children and also with us parents .we as parents have to work as a team
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2007

My daughter has been in that school since 2005, kindergarten and the experience has been excellent , she came to the school speaking only spanish and she was help with this. The teachers has been excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

My child with special needs was studying last year in this school. The Principal Mrs. Tracy and Mrs. Shannon (ESE) were so special, and Medical office too. They were very professional, exceptional and with a great heart when working with my exceptional son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

My son goes to this school. We recently moved to Florida and my son did not speak any English, his teacher and I worked together and now a year later he speaks and understand everything and now his new teacher is as good as the previous one. I think this is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

This school has been an excellent school for my daughter. Her first year was kindergarden last year & I also have a newphew who will start in 5th grade this year. The teachers are great & everyone is willing to get your child where their learning skills should be at. Wonderfull school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

My son has gone to Cypress Elementary since grade K. They have the most wonderful arts ,drama.coqui dance and chorus program I have ever seen. My older son went to elementary schools in New York and they do not offer what this school offers especially for the children that have needs. Mrs. Carillo and her crew are amazing teachers and I hope everyone will have the pleasant experience for their kids as I did mine by going to Cypress Elementary School!:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

very good school, good teachers, etc.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2006

Cypress has a very hard working staff that really cares about its students. They have undergone a great deal of turnover and really need to get a staff that will stick around long enough to develop a team attitude.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 12, 2006

The principal is new and still working on skills. The classical music being pumped through the hallways is an amazing find however. There has been an extremely high rate of employee turnover, especially teachers, and this must be controlled. The jury is still out but Cypress seems to be headed in the right direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2004

My daughter was enrolled in this school for 2 years. She came with language difficulties and ADHD, the school 'push' all the 2 and 3 grade students with limited English in one group with 'I dont care' attitude teachers. They only gave the students math, and English,no homeworks, no other classes, I try to talk to the principal, Mr.Davis, but he dont gave a hoot.I ask for assistance with her ADHD problem and nobody help, the teachers did not want to fill out the paper work! My daughter lost 2 years in that school. If possible try to enroll your child in another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2004

My children have been attending this school for three years and my experiernce has been mixed to say the least. I've dealt with teachers that seem to love their jobs and teachers that seem more interested in what they'll be doing later that evening. There seems to be no guidelines for what each cluster is learning either. I have two children in the same grade levels and the difference in the amount of work and effort that the teachers show and teach is night and day. I think that the schools need better guidelines and the teachers need their cirriculum to be more detailed. My overall experience with this school leaves me feeling that the ProjectChild system has some weeds to be dealt with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have found that the teachers and staff at this school are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Since Cypress has started Project CHILD the school grade has gone up and the atmosphere at the school has improved greatly. Project CHILD has done great things for Cypress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2003

Cypress Elementary is a good school and the Teachers and staff appear to do their best. My view as to why the students are not doing their best is mostly because of the parents who don't discipline their children nor encourage them to be all they can be. I dit not see a lot of communication between parents and teachers, and most of the kids are not goal oriented nor have a zeal or desire to do their best, and this kind of behavior begins at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2003

My children attended this school in 2001. The learning experience was horrible. My kindergardener had four different teachers in one year. The school was not keep very clean. The principal was not a good leader.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 85%
Black 6%
White 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%60%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. RANDY SHUTTERA
Fax number
  • (407) 344-5006

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2251 Lakeside Drive
Kissimmee, FL 34743
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 344-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

North Lake Academy
Kissimmee, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT