Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Highlands Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 961 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2014

the principal is dis honest and doesn't will say one thing to you and not keep her word doesn't not have your child's best interest even if they had AB HONORS like mines
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

I have to choldren in highlands and i just have to say...very DISORGANIZED for everything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

Doesn't help the special ed. students enough. Doesn't offer enough alternatives for them and keeps going on even if they stay behind!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2009

my school is there to help the kids grow,teaching outside the box
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Highlands Elementary School Staff and teachers are very polite and the communication amog the teachers and me as a parent can not be any better. They encourage my son to not only meet but exceed goals. Great Job HES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2008

Highlands has gone through alot of great changes.With a new principal and a whole new team there has been great improvement.They all really care about the students and take pride in all of them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

My daughter currently attend to highlands elemantry Kindergarten I have no regret of her attending to that school she already knows how to read and she really love her teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

Highlands Elementary is a school where the teachers really care about students. More parent involvement would benefit the school greatly.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2005

I feel that the majority of the teachers don't spend enough time with your child to give them the quality of help our children need. It takes them way to long to notice if your child is hurting academically!!!! my child has been a student there four 2 years & now they are just begining to notice he is having difficulty in reading math & other areas when I told them personally lastyear that I saw him struggling even gave them a sphyc assesment & they still haven't gotten him the help he needs. I wish I knew of a better school to put him in I don't know to much about the schools in kissimmee. In n.Y. The education is so different from here!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

I am completely dissatisfied with this school. The upper grade teachers spend more time assigning, than teaching. After a few observations, I noticed the lack of teaching within the classroom. The students appear to be 'On their own.' Disorganization, on behalf of the administration, is also to blame. I believe teachers have to put forth more effort in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2004

We are not happy with the teacher/student education. Too many students and not enough teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

My son and stepdaughter have been attending Highlands since kindergarten and my daughter has just enrolled in the pre-k program this year. I am a working mother who is also enrolled in college, but I have had the opportunity to spend time in the classroom and also talk with quite a few teachers and staff as well. Courteous, polite, helpful and always putting the children's needs first. Parent involvement may be lacking, but not for lack of trying on the school's part.I can't say enough good things about this school. The only complaint that I have is the disorganization of student pick-up and drop-off. Construction is underway to correct the problem, however, there needs to be a better plan to incoming and outgoing traffic. The flow of traffic seems to be the problem, especially after school. One way in, one way out, and no left turns would keep the traffic flowing so much better. There are too many cars parked on the side of the street from parents who wish to avoid the traffic jam, but are only helping to contribute to the problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2003

My daughter is currently in the first grade at Highlands and my son will by entering kindergarten next year. I am confident that the school is a safe place (thanks to Officer Fred) and the teachers seem to genuinely care about all their students. There is a lacking in parent involvement, though. Volunteerism is very small and its usually the same parents all the time. They need a PTA(O) or some sort of rally for community involvement.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

136 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 74%
Black 13%
White 9%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 192%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 252%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%60%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ALISON DOE
Fax number
  • (407) 935-3629

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 West Donegan Avenue
Kissimmee, FL 34741
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 935-3620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT