Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pleasant Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 964 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

No jusgo a todos los maestros.pero hay unos que paresen no tener hijos son unos malcriados y tratan los estudiantes como mier%@
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

Been at the school for about 2 weeks now, very disorganized when it comes to car riders pick up, they have 2 lanes that merge into one people waiting for and hour are cut off by those that are just driving up using the pre-k line. The issue falls upon deaf ears in the office and the principal nor the vice principal have the decency to call parents back or make some sort of change to this issue. Mostly all the staff in the office has horrible attitudes as well, The office needs to act more like their teachers than they wouldn't have such a problem. I wish there was a way to just rate this part of the school and give it a one star but it would not be fair to do that for the whole school, they get 3 stars until they step up and fix the issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

This will be my son's first year at Pleasant hill, in reading the below 2 reviews I feel the parents got the school mixed up as this school is not a private school, nor do they have a chapel, I assure you they have a cafeteria, and cook meals at the school. They also have a very nice GYM at pleasant hill, the principal Gary Bressler seems very nice (Carmen is not the principal there) and all the staff and teachers seem very friendly and willing to help. They have a locking gate system around the school that closes after drop off at 8:50 and does not open again till pick up, unless of course you call in and they buzz the gate. Seems like a pretty legit school to me, and safe as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

If you are looking for a private school don't look this way!!! Some of the teachers are really good but the good ones will no longer work here, Very unprofessional way to talk to parents from the staff, they don't have a proper gym or basketball court or volleyball court they use the parking lot for PE!!!!!!!! they eat JUNK food everyday they pick a different fast food, putting kids health in risk with such poor nutrition, they are very expensive and the security is poor as well! I will not enroll my kids here will find another private school with organization, professionalism, and a true christian school where they can really learn the love for Jesus and others. Such disappointment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

Horrible, horrible and horrible, the principal Carmen is a rude person with no feelings what so ever, a child had a injury in her eye and she was sitting in a chair didn't have the decency to stand up and check on the child, i do agree with the first review the PE is in a parking lot very scary someone drives in a child could get hurt, the lunch room is the chapel THEY DONT HAVE A LUNCH ROOM, you have to pay even to breath the school air and so much money in school supplies and YOU HAVE TO LOGIN EVERYDAY AND PRINTOUT YOUR KIDS ASSIGNMENTS, they change the PE days every month, and theres always something new!!!! I CANT WAIT for this year to be OVER
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

All three of my children attend this school and we love it! My first started in kindergarten and is now a middle schooler in all honors classes. My middle and youngest children are both in enrichment programs, receiving an amazing education. This school is full of excellent teachers and administration! Staff is very approachable and quick to repond to any problems that may arise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

We did an out of zone transfer for our son, the admistration is excellent and promotes parental involement. Ms. Thompson shoud be rewarded for her excellent teaching skills. this is the only public school my son really enjoyed nad excelled in. Thank-you to all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

My child has attended to PHE for 3 yrs. We are out of zone students because we like this school better. This a good school. Administration is friendly and good. I am the mother of a gifted child and the school does not have any programs in place to deal with gifted kids. That is the same for all other Osceola county schools. Some of the teachers go outside their curriculum to find stuff for gifted kids (like Mrs. Jones). The car rider line is organized but they could use some more safety measures. Hope this helps! ;)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love this school for 1 very important reason...Ms. Debbie Zuk! She is the most amazing ESE specail needs teacher around, she has made miracles with my daughter and I thank her whole heartedly for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I attended this school the 1st 5 years it was open and now I drive my son so he can attend this school and he is zoned for a school that's 2 blocks away from our home. This school is up kept very well looks like it did when I was there 18 years ago. It is a grade A school too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

My child is happy so far with his teachers. And I have signed up to become a volunteer. So I can see how the school is first hand and to do my part in helping out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

PHE is an excellent school. I am extremely happy with the entire staff and the way this school allows the parents to be involved... My kids are doing excellent....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

School's discipline actions are very poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2004

PHE is a friendly,organized, successful school. The school theme :Stop and think, which teaches responsibiblty for ones own actions flows thru each grade and beyond the classroom walls.Dedicated staff, clean and pretty school grounds, saftey measures make pick up and drop off easy and orderly make this the best elemantary I have had a child at (I have been with 5 schools)Covered PE area perfect for Florida, treed grounds even after the hurricanes, Principal Campbell runs a tight ship!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2004

Transferring to this school in the fall. Looks good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

We have had such a great experience with this school. The principles and teachers are dedicated to making it a positive environment for kids to learn. We are so happy there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2003

I think this school is one of the best out there. Im glad my children go here.


Posted April 28, 2003

This is a great school!!! I would recommend this school to any parent, and child.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 54%
White 26%
Black 12%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%60%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1253 Pleasant Hill Road
Kissimmee, FL 34741
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 935-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Otis Memorial Academy
Kissimmee, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT