Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkway Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1030 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2014

I believe some, not all, of the teachers need far more training/education. One of the teachers actually recommended her class to utilize Google translate to learn Spanish. That's just pure laziness in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2014

The three stars that I am giving this school are for some of the extraordinary teachers that my daughter had. She is an engaging girl and had a lot of fun and learned a lot from a number of teachers. We are, however, pulling out daughter out of this school because of the extreme rules and constant threat she felt like she was under. This came mainly from the deans and the principal. When I spoke to the principal about the punishment that was handed out her exact words were, "Well if you don't like it you can take her out of the school." In her opinion she and her staff could do no wrong. Also, they are on the IB schedule. This means they have eight classes; four one day and the other four the next. They are not allowed to use lockers and have to carry all of their books with them all day. This really sucks if you weigh 75lbs and have to carry a band instrument with all of your books for the day and your lunch. I hope for the kids sake the lunch room food improves. Last warning: Don't get caught wearing a hoodie or you will get at the very least in school suspension even if it is cold outside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2014

I have a hard time believing this school is getting a rating of 4 stars. The teaching staff and their classroom curriculum are, for the most part, really good. Those that care are great at engaging the students and helping them be excited to learn. But, the overwhelming amount of pressure on the students from hours of homework and very real fear that they won't do well in the many, many tests they have to take is too much. My daughter is a great student but her grades took a big hit from all of it. We also had constant threats of suspension from the Administration for ridiculous things like wearing a hoodie (we had to cut it off her coat, so she wouldn't freeze outside between classes in the winter!) or being late for a single class. The attitude of the Principal is closed minded and she runs the school like a prison. But, if you have a genuine concern or try to contact them for any reason there is no response whatsoever. I tried calling about a doctor-excused absence every week for 2 months and couldn't get anyone to call me back. We're changing schools. This was the worst experience we've ever had at a school, and we are very involved parents with an exceptional student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

The Teachers are fine but the office staff is usually rude and quick with parents. The cannot multitask at all or just refuse to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2013

The school is ok but the "IB" program sometimes is overwhelming. They give some assessments that have no sense or reason other than to annoy the students and parents. As a teacher and a tutor you should focus in the academics and in class work and capturing the attention of the students in positive and fun way and yes inspire them to thrive in and out of school, but giving constant essays and assessments specially ones with no purpose other than making things harder is going to make the students dislike the class and school. I would review this process, this is a reason of why many teachers disagree with these standards and just follow the rules for a paycheck. Good luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

This school is awesome. Teachers are excellent, work planning is easy! Homework Hotline is a life-saver. Great Campus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

This is a great school, but it has a few problems. For example, the deans are very strict , which is a good thing in some parts. But some students are getting bigger punishments than they deserve. Dr. Long's dance program is amazing, and so is their culinary, art,band and chorus programs. The school isn't really a bad place, its just some students cause problems.


Posted October 29, 2012

Parkway Delivers. Every year Parkway Middle School gets better and better. school counts with extracurricular activities as no other, so many is hard to choose, all nicely organized and instructed. Second year and my kid already knows three different languages. my kid feels safe and happy in this school, and all teachers keep good interaction with students and keep daily communication with parents. school informs parents of all afternoon activities. Teachers are like coaches, they listen and care about each of the students. Lots of take home assignments and projects, but each of them interesting and fun. Not a school just to hang out, they mean serious business.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

I think Parkway is a great school! I am Havin so much fun there! Parkway does not have a very good reputation and thats why some people are scared of it! I think that once you get used to it you'll be fine! Parkway is a very unique school! But one thing for sure you are never bored! Cynthia
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Because the staff works together to make every kid feels special all the time. Special kids, make special schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

Haha this school is the best school ever, they just got a new principal and our making their way up to the top, even though Parkway doesn't have the best reputation it is, overall, the best and most fun school I have ever been to. The students our nice and smart and the principal and deans know exactly wha they are doing. This school has free afterschool programs and they support and respect the grounds they work and learn on. You are very lucky if you get to be in a school like this. Have fun and good luck (: -Lindsey H.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2008

Parkway is not the best school it is actuallay the worst. I do not like this school suspension is over the top. I can't belive it. I'm starting to be scared of parkway because of all of the fight and I'm afriad some of my friends are going to be hurt for no reason. The teacher, dean and principals should do something about this that is my opinon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

Rox ur sox!!! = Parkway Middle School!!! Its the best school i have ever been to and when i graduate it will be the sadest day of my life. =..(
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2008

I am very disappointed in this school system. My son graduated in 2007. Communication is poor between the key people of the school (principal and dean). Their idea of correction is removal, but we need to remove that what is causing the problems within the children. It takes the teachers, children, and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

PMS is a multi-cultural school with family appeal. I enjoy working and communicating with all of the students. PMS is currently a 'C' school, however we are working our way to the top; showing gradual gains in FCAT scores for the prior two years. The 2007-2008 school year has brought about some changes, however the faculty, staff, student, parents & community/business partners are working together to ensure a smooth transition. Our No. 1 goal is to become an 'A' school and I believe we are up for the challenge. Last but definitely not least, Parkway has 'The Best' DEAN TEAM in the state of Florida.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 17, 2007

I went to parkway in 8th grade and I loved it. All the teachers are the best!


Posted June 16, 2007

I attended parkway middle for three year sand it is a good school. If you pay attenchion in class then you won't have an issue, when i graduate i recieved one college credit and four high school credits and there are exceptional teacheres at parkway.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 29, 2007

i am a 6th grader at parkway and i love this school,some kids have diceplane problems but thats not the school thats the kids,parkway is the best school ever and their arts program is great,this school is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2007

I am a student a parkway middle school and I am graduating this year in 2007. It is the best school. I represent this school all day every day this is my home away from home. I love all my teachers. I have all a's and b's my name is dean. I am a 8th grader. I love this school. It has great disciple and excellent teacher. Number 1 school for me and I have been there since 6th grade and the principal miss.Rivers and assistant principle ms.Cavinee are excellent. Evertime I have had a problem parkway and it teachers and staff have been there for me and its is a really safe school. Best school in the world!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2007

Who better than a student herself...I currently attend this school and I feel it has just holding me back....Discipline is rarely enforced and teachers have no boundaries.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

317 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

320 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

348 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

348 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

214 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

339 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

339 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
27%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

330 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

274 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
71%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 73%
Black 12%
White 8%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 45%60%61%
Master's degree 52%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. EVELITH OLMEDA-GARCIA
Fax number
  • (407) 348-2797

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

857 Florida Parkway
Kissimmee, FL 34743
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 344-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




North Lake Academy
Kissimmee, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT