Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Redeemer Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 284 students

We are best known for faith, service, and academics.

 
 

Living in Kissimmee

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $60,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted August 29, 2011

Holy Redeemer Catholic School instills a daily living and ever-growing knowledge of the Gospel message by creating a Catholic environment that empowers our students to reach their maximum potential spiritually, morally, and academically.

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2014

My daughter is in this school since K, at first I was a little disappointed since I had her in a top high class pre-k school. I thought wow, this is a BIG change. There was no DISCIPLINE, how ever I decided to stay when the administration changed. I started seeing some improvements as far as the discipline goes, and the parents not being in the school at all the times, that was excellent, then, the aftercare program, great change, now this is manage by the school, no more craziness. I do not see bulling been and issue that is not manage by the teachers or administrators, in the contrary, it is very well managed, they have the buddies program where the oldest kids take care and tutor the youngest and they do things together, Oldest kids are always opening doors for others. Kids are very respectful, great you when you walk by, open the door and let you in before them. It is a family environment. I went to a Catholic school and the turn around on teachers happens when you have some teachers that are not use to the catholic "Rules" very rigid. My daughter and I are very happy with the school and will stay till 8th grade,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2014

I am really surprised to have read some of these reviews, as my daughter could not be happier at HRCS. We moved to the area after school had started last year, and I was worried about the transition, but the very first day my daughter came home happy as could be and that happiness never dissipated! Unlike the student(s) from the comment below, my daughter scored very high on the state test and so did most of her classmates. She did wonderfully all year academically, spiritually and emotionally. She loves Fr. Tim and attending mass on Fridays and is learning a lot on her Spanish class, which is very exciting to her! I love this school, the students, the teachers and the administration. If you are looking for a school that will never have minor issues at one point or another, you will never be satisfied! Is not what happens, but how we respond to situations that will determine the outcome, and I think that the principal is a strong, intelligent woman who has been able to take the bull by its horns and turn the school around for the better... 100%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2014

The school had loss touch with its students and parent. This administration is no better. I was surprise to see my child state test score below average. Then to learn that this was normal throughout her classmate. So I question other parents in different grades and they all look the some way as below average. I some cases way way below. The principal and assistant principal leadership is just not there. As you read the post below. The teachers turn over is just crazy. How do you think a student is going to feel seeing a new teachers still being replace by newer teacher that are being replace by even newer teacher to the point that teacher aide are the student fulltime teacher. This is all the Leader (The Priest, Principal , and Asst. Principal.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

I agree with the comments below and I am currently removing my child from this school. Not only because of the bullying from peers, but adult bullying too. The parents bully eachother. Many of the positive reviews on here were written by parents involved with PTO (about 10 parents that want to control the school) Everyone here is related in some way - lots of nepotism. Teachers/Aids giving preferential treatment to their own kids. It's not an environment conducive to learning or positivity. If you have the money to send your child to a private school - you have choices! Avoid this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

This school did nothing to fix the bullying issues that my daughter had. At one point, I found my daughter crying at the pick up location with chalk all over her from being punched by erasers, and immediately wanted to know what had occurred. So I parked my car and went inside to see what the school was going to do to fix this issue and they had told me that both my daughter and the other much bigger girl would get punished for her getting beat with the erasers?? I didn't see a single powder of chalk on the other student so I was shocked that my daughter would get in trouble as well, even though she did not hit back. Other times my daughter would come home with her school items vandalized, and when I brought it up to the schools attention, they punished EVERYONE in her class instead of finding out who did it. It wasn't only the students either, but the teachers as well. I understand that most of the students are much more ahead since she came from the public school system, however there was no reason for them to treat her as if she were some sort of stupid child. To think I wasted my money so that my daughter could be abused.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

Unfortunately, this school is very weak and I blame that on a few things. First the diocese should be ensuring that there is academic consistency throughout catholic schools - HRCS is very behind in math and science and that is a fact. The new principal is a blessing but after years of teacher turnover and weak leadership it will take a long time before she can build the school to where it needs to be. The most unfortunate flaw of this school is the lack of community that families feel. This is due to a bullying mentality that a select group of "involved" parents promote. There are 5 or 6 families (all related) that insist on making everyone else feel unwelcome. They have been allowed to run the school in the past and they are unfriendly and cliquey with each other. Our child got through relatively unscathed but we will not recommend this school to friends. If you are willing to invest your money into your child's education, consider other area catholic schools. Holy Redeemer does not meet standards at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

Holy Redeemer Catholic School is a community that truly become part of your family. The teachers care about the students academic and personal development. Parents are becoming more involved and this is improving the sense of community. Holy Redeemer has prepared my children very well for their advancement to High School and higher achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

This school has not changed for the better but for the worst! It is truly disappointing! I don't have much things to say about it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

Our daughter is about to finish her 8th year at Holy Redeemer & we have been extremely pleased with the school & its teachers. and feel the quality of education here combined with the diversity and easy lifestyle & commute can't be beat. our son is been here for the past 2 years and he is very happy, The biggest asset of the Holy Redeemer school success is its parents. The parents of the students are heavily involved in school operations and activities. The students are aware their parents are in close contacts with the teachers. My daughter wants to go to school everyday to meet her friends and to learn. This is a hidden gem of a school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2011

The faculty at Holy Redeemer Catholic School is wonderful. They take time with each student and really care about how the child progresses, both academically & in life. They spend a lot of time encouraging the children to strive for better grades and better moral character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

I am very pleased with Holy Redeemer. My children love their teachers, their classes and the friendships they have made over the years. I love the amazing, warm and loving environment! I am especially happy that a language (spanish) is taught to all children starting at the Kindergarten level! The advanced curriculum is an added bonus! I am so glad that I chose to send my children to Holy Redeemer Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

We have a new principal and pastor. I look forward to the improvements that will be brought to the school because of our new principal. It's been a roller coaster ride the past couple of years with our old principal and vice principal. Things can only get better. We will not dwell on the past. Rather we will look to the future and hope for better things for the students, teachers and staff. We have wonderful teachers who are dedicated. Parent involvement could improve. We will also have new PTO officers which is a good thing. Last school year's PTO board was lazy, untrustworthy and are hypocrites. New things mean new changes! Watch out because Holy Redeemer is a school where everyone would like to be a part of!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

The school is very helpful to the community.


Posted April 21, 2010

Holy Redeemer is a very tight-knit community that teaches their children, not only academics, but to care for it's people. They are always fu d raising to make things better for the children.


Posted March 25, 2010

I believe Holy Redeemer Catholic School is a wonderful school with a strong Catholic focus. This school not only provides a strong academic curriculum but students also have the opportunity to grow closer to Jesus and live out their Catholic faith. The teachers and staff work hard to make sure the students are learning in a positive environment. My kids really enjoy going to school each morning and always have smiles on their faces when I pick them up from school so I know it is a great place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

My daughter attends Holy Redeemer.It is excellent at every level. All staff and parents go the extra mile to achieve the best from the students/children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

I have two children at Holy Redeemer. My oldest child started in Pre-K 4 and will be graduating from 8th grade this year. I have watched both of my children develop a caring and giving attitude with the staff and students at Holy Redeemer. This school feels like family. There has been a vast improvement in the leadership since the current Principal arrived four years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

My daughter has been a Holy Redeemer student since Kindergarten. I have watched her grow from a shy and timid child to a leader with strong conviction. Holy Redeemer creates a warm and family like atmosphere that enhances a child's self esteem while educating and nurturing them. I have found the staff and administration always open to listen and help when needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

The principal goes above and beyond and truly cares about the students. Parents should go to some of the School Board or PTO Meetings to see just how much she and the Assistant Principal do for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

This is a wonderful school. Fantastic staff and excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 29%
White 34% 42%
Black 4% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Larry Thompson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (407) 870-2214

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Orlando
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop Moore High School
Sante Fe High School
Osceola High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 West Columbia Avenue
Kissimmee, FL 34741
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 870-9055

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT