Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Osceola Adventist Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 77 students

Our diverse community is supportive of strong education with Christian roots.
 
 

 

Living in Kissimmee

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $107,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

As part of one of the most prominent and worldly renowned private education system, the Osceola Seventh Day Adventist School or the OACS, is a promising school for children in the ages of prekindergarten to eighth grade. It models spiritual and family values while providing excellent academic support for children to reach their highest potential. As a private school it has the great advantage of having a smaller teacher to student ratio, allowing students to experience deeper and more personal relationships. In this smaller setting more experiential and hands-on opportunities can be offered to children to help them consolidate the knowledge learned and apply it. At the OACS great emphasis is placed on health, teaching children about the importance of a healthy diet, daily exercise, and abstinence to drugs, alcohol and other harmful substances. Encompassing all areas of child development, spiritual, emotional, academic, and physical, I believe the OACS has the most complete program in its area that will foster children s growth shaping them to become independent and successful individuals of the society.


Posted April 22, 2014

This school has contributed greatly to the academic growth of their students, their interaction with the community and the church. It is a joy to see the progress and the investment made to provide to the best facility and personnel for the OACS constituency


Posted April 22, 2014

OACS has a warm Christian atmosphere and is an excellent private school in which to send your children. The teachers are dedicated to academic excellence and to the spiritual well-being of each and every one of their students. My daughter actively desires to publicly pray daily and looks to Jesus for her strength. I am thankful to this school for the impact it has made on her. The principal, Dr. Cookenmaster, has expertise in student intervention and focuses on meeting the needs of every student. You will be happy you enrolled your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

As the grandparent of a prek child at OACS, I am happy with the school's administration, teachers and staff. My granddaughter is excited to go to school each day and see her friends....both children and adults. She is an eager and fast learner so she absorbs everything around her. Thankfully, all that surrounds her at OACS is a positive, Christ-centered atmosphere. I have seen her academics growing higher and her spirit growing deeper and richer in prayer and Bible lessons. My own children went through public schools but I am grateful that my granddaughter is in an Adventist school being educated and nurtured by a spirit-filled administrator and teachers.


Posted February 8, 2013

As the principal of the school I am very excited to be a part of a vibrant, growing community. The staff are dedicated to being GREAT, providing high quality, standards-based, Christian education. If you live in the Kissimmee/St. Cloud/Celebration area of Orlando, this is the place YOU want your child to be.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2013

As the new secretary/treasurer I am so pleased to serve this wonderful school. Three of my children attend this school, and my family and I are excited to watch the school as it grows into a thriving community of excellence.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2012

We are new to the area. Our children are happy with the school and the new friends they have made. This is significant considering they are clearly in the racial minority. The teachers are well versed in the subject areas they teach and are very friendly. We are pleased with the new principal. He appears to be helping the school moving forward in education practices. The church community is very supportive of Christian education. We are pleased we have chosen this school for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

The school is intimate, but growing. The teachers, aids, office personnel are friendly, caring, and the school is moving our students in the right direction. I am grateful for the quality educational experience my children are being exposed to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

The school may not be big, but the family environment is strong. The teachers have more time to really get to know each students' needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 94% 29%
Black 6% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Michael Cookenmaster
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day Adventist
Associations
  • FLOCS/ACTS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Constructivist approach
  • Direct instruction
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Kickball
Girls sports
  • Kickball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
77
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
77
Students typically come from these schools
Public School
schools using A Beka programs
private schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Step Up for Students & McKay Scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
public high school
Seventh-day Adventist high school
military academies
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2395 Fortune Road
Kissimmee, FL 34744
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 348-2226

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




North Lake Academy
Kissimmee, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT