Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Poinciana Academy Of Fine Arts

Public | PK-5 | 770 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2013

This is my daughter's second year at Poinciana Academy of Fine Arts. The difference in the students is immediately noticeable. The students are more well rounded human beings. Their appreciation of the arts make them a more critical and creative learner. My daughter comes home creating plays, songs, and art all afternoon. We are very lucky to be able to live in a convenient play to attend this very special school. Staff members and administration has an amazing heart for kids. I'm not sure why this school has a 4 rating on here. The school down the road had horrible test scores much lower than ours and has a 7.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

This is my first year with Poinciana and my experience has been wonderful. My daughter is in 3rd grade with Mrs. Spence and she is the BEST teacher around.She cares about all the students as if they were her own and is willing to go above and beyond to assist the students. My daughter loves going to school everyday and has never done as well as this year. Thank you Poinciana and extra thank you Mrs. Spence. The world needs more teachers like you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

I have had students at this school for almost 5 years. What a difference in the school since the beginning. The Principal Mr. Noyez has really gotten the teachers to care about the studnets. I love the school and the teachers and all of the changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2011

My daughter attends this school and I have to say It has come a long way! This school improved so much and its wonderful. Mrs. Spence 3rd grade is an incredible teacher. We love her very much. She cares so much for the students and she tries every possible way for them to excel. Mrs Spence is absolutely amazing.. I giver her an A+ and to the rest of the teachers " great job"!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

poinciana elementary is an awesome school. i have two children who attend kg and third grade, the have recently added integrated arts and are doing a fantastic job. mr. noyes is a great principle, He is creative in providing all the tools essential for kids to excel. The front office is cheerful and helpful, guidance counselors are wonderful at promoting a healthy and happy school enviroment. i really love this school. Mrs. Rosario great teacher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My kids attend this school since pre-k and they are curently in second grade. I have to say that so fay the teachers my kids have had so fay have been great. I have no complaints about any of them. They are currently in an accelerated second grade class and thay have learned alot. Mrs. Lovett motivates the kids and does not allow them to slow down. I really like this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

This school is awnful they dont care about the students at all. Parents be ware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

Recently I have alot of problems with this school. I feel as if they are in to big of a hurry to go home for the day. Rushing around and not having time for questions not knowing what is going on in the school, lack of communication with each other and parents. I have called there several times and get transfered from voicemail to voicemail and nobody ever returns my calls. And if you are on campus for some reason the attitudes are unhelpful and makes you feel unwanted on campus and they are not very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2007

Too much of a teacher turn over rate here. NO communication with teaching staff. Lack of true involvement and failure to get involved in anything additional than what is required, forget challending the gifted! one must decide, do you teach because you love it or teach because it gives a stable job and benefits. And learn to dress appropriate! Set examples. Involvement of Parents since the school has opened is not big. I wonder why. Working, working, i know. However, both the teachers and us parents are guilty because when there are only a small group of volunteers with a huge amount of students, that shows something is wrong. Huge lack of communication. Truth needs to be told - sorry - Need change in teachers and administration, and new policies - maybe it can make its way up the ladder then!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

I have my two kids in this school last year.My son was a student under the program ESE, and on this date I feel guilty to move to south Miami.The school in Poinciana, specially this one has been great with my kids.Here my son learns how reach all his goals of learning under his disabilities, but after I move to Miami all this was lost.Believe me the education in Kissimmee is great compare to Dade County.My daughter was in Poinciana Elementary since was open to 4th grade, over here she learns and respect others.The leadership of the principal is always there and he encourages the discipline.I found this good because in Miami is not encourage at all and is a little scare.To add at my review this school is very organized, have good activities and its clean.If was not for the economy situation my kids still attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

Well, my daughter is in Kindergarten. Before she started Poinciana Elementary, she knew 50% more work than what she knows now. I have to admit that the staff at Poinciana are wery friendly. Nevertheless, I am not happy with the classroom performance. I am currently seeking transfer for my daughter. The school has the potential to have a better grade, but it's up to the teachers. They need to recognize the students talents and challenge those talents. My daughter loves to read, but she told ne that she can't read during playtime because the teacher said 'no books during playtime.' Comeon, is that how we are going to encourage kids? Angelina
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

OK - since the school started in 2003,it has come a LONG way! I think it has improved a GREAT deal by implementing new programs, family oriented and educational. The communication with the parents can be a little better with the teachers but there is an open door policy - with the exception of 'uninterrupted mandatory state reading' hours. Principal is wonderful and had great support staff to assist with his goals. He has taken a school where turnover rate is high and in a community where there could be more parent involvment, and done the best that he can at that time. I am looking forward to a great year at this school and helping out where possible. Everyone needs to help out! It takes a team to raise children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2006

My daughter is currently coming to poincana. I wouldn't chose any other school in poincana. They have great teachers, great saff and my favorite mr.kenedy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

I currently have a 3rd grader and a 5th grader in Poinciana Elementary and I have to say I wouldn't choose another elementary school in this area. Throughout the 3 years in the school it has gradually improved to the great school it is today. There is always room for improvement but the school is definitely in the right track. The teachers are very caring and understand the demographic situation in Poinciana. I only hope my son will get the same in the middle school! Great job to the teachers and administration! Parents please be more involved with your students education - it will pay off!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2006

My child just arrived from upstate.I am very happy with the education she is receiving. The school has very professional teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

As far as the principal, you can not get better than Dr. Kennedy! They have great plans and programs for children that need the extra help. As a whole the school has been making great strides in becoming top notch. The caliber of teachers leaves a little to be desired, but unfortunately that is a state wide problem. In this area Poinciana Elementary is by far the best choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2004

We Found this to be a very nice school, a large population of hispanic students. Activities are excellent and the teachers and principal are wonderful. Becoming overcrowded with new families moving into the area at an alarmingly fast rate. Moving to another area quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2004

The teachers are good to work with and the principal does a good job overseeing a super overcrowded situation. Let's hope they build 2+ more schools in the area to cope with the growing pains!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2003

I believe the teachers are more adequete and helpful with the children,the school is clean and my kids are happier with the smaller class room size then last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

As a school trying to adjust to a fast-growing area they are coping just fine. With new kids being enrolled on a daily basis I am amazed how well they have done to accomodate as much as possible. As parent's we need to provide our support to the school and not sit back and watch.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 63%
Black 23%
White 10%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 35%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%60%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45
School end time
  • 3:30
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. SHERI TURCHI
Fax number
  • (407) 343-4519

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4201 Rhododendron Avenue
Kissimmee, FL 34758
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 343-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Koa Elementary School
Kissimmee, FL





New Jerusalem Academy
Kissimmee, FL


Bellalago Academy
Kissimmee, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT