Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Blake School Of Lake City

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Lake City

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $90,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $646.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2013

just FYI, the school is no longer in business; Shining Star Academy now occupies the location
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

My child was going to attend this school but decided not to considering several times they have told us one thing and changed it to something else..I've called up there to ask a simple question and just get told so and so is teaching will call you later....I call 4 more times.....nothing. So everything is done by email...I have to say the emails I have received are very rude and kind of ridiculous as well. How can I expect these people to watch my child for 7 hours a day if they don't know what they are talking about and are so snappy? They may be educated, but I do not trust them to watch my child. There are plenty of other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2011

My daughter started preschool here this year and loves it. She looks forward to going to school everyday. She loves her teachers and classmates. She is only 3 and has already learned to count and sing her 'abc's. I can't say enough good things about the Blake school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

I have read the reviews and the negative reviews for this school are not true. The same teachers are teaching lower levels that have been since the school has been in. The school is ran by parents and teachers involvment. I look at facts as well, the test scores tell all to me and production of the students and parents. The staff at the Blake School exceed my families expectations of a private school. Especially regarding the environment and results that come from it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

We now have 2 children that attend this school. It is a wonderful school. It has the high scores that we like to see with the students tests. They are a highly accredited school that has helped both of my children find their true selfs and prosper. As far as I am concerned there is no better school in FL. for my children to complete their education. It is one big happy family that grows together just as we do at home. If anyone has a negative thing to say about this school or the staff they are not involved and are just drawing their own picture for others. For your families sake if you are looking for a school for your child/children draw your own conclusions. Look at the facts.. test scores, accrediting, & question parents and students of their happiness. A tour is great to see the interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

Be very cautious about this school. They talk a great talk, but they do not walk the walk. The administration (who consists only of the owner/Directress, Linnie Lunde Jordan), seems to be more concerned with appearances and money than with a student's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2006

Very small school with individualized attention. Weak on sciences and art/music. Excellent with other liberal arts. High teacher turn over in younger grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

The Quality of The Blake School is the best. It is like sending my child to a home away from home. The entire staff keeps parents informed always of my childs school life. I can not say enough wonderful about The Blake School. My child is not falling through any cracks at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 0%
Black 3% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 29%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7443 West US Highway 90
Lake City, FL 32055
Phone: (386) 752-8874

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT